August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Taquito Tower

by Magdev - Jam Entry

TAQUITO TOWER: THE BURRITO GALAXY BEAN SAGA 30X6 is a FIRST-PERSON NEO-BURRITOCORE PROCEDURAL ROGUELIKELIKELIKE RHYTHMIC TAQUITOCRAWLER.

GAUC, A YOUNG HERO FROM THE PLANET SAL-5A HAS CRASH LANDED ON A STRANGE, TOWER-SHAPED PLANET. WEILDING ONLY A BURRITO AND A STRONG BACK HAND, YOU MUST SURVIVE THE INFINITE TOWER AS LONG AS YOU CAN. PLEASE CONSULT THE INSTRUCTION BOOKLET INCLUDED IN YOUR KIDS MEAL, OR THE OFFICIAL PAGE FOR GAME INSTRUCTIONS.

PRINT OUT A HIGH SCORE OF 50+ HIGHER FLOORS AND TAKE IT TO YOUR NEAREST TACOBELL(TM) FOR A FREE BEAN BURRITO (offer valid in no states).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#11Fun(Jam)3.93
#14Humor(Jam)4.07
#25Audio(Jam)3.87
#25Overall(Jam)3.90
#32Theme(Jam)3.80
#33Innovation(Jam)3.81
#52Mood(Jam)3.70
#94Graphics(Jam)4.05

Comments

BadgerPriest says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:42am

I hope to see more neo-burritocore games in the future. One thing that seemed to make the game really difficult was the fact that you couldn't really attack enemies without them attacking you too.

Fervir says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:43am

This game is the best.

BadgerPriest says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:55am

I hope to see more neo-burritocore games in the future. One thing that seemed to make the game really difficult was the fact that you couldn't really attack enemies without them attacking you too.

Zeno says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:05am

Euphoric, simply euphoric.

Soundless_dev says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:13am

Baha this is so pro. You don't even know yo.

Sink says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:55am

Perfect game. 10/10. You win.

psychomonster says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:37am

Very cool... but My brain is to slow today to realize what I have to do to win this game ;)

Ariake81 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:50am

cool as F&*K, loved it.

bonsairobo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:51am

This is in my top 3. I love taquitos so much.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:57am

I kept easing my Beefy Crunch Burrito into the port but it ended up just getting beans everywhere.

Foxtacy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:29pm

Really fun! i kinda like the movement mechanics! :)

andreyin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:30pm

Now THIS is podracing, good job guys

MisterDerek2 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:53pm

Simply amazing 5/5

Orni says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:29pm

this is amazing - lovely art style, music and concept
great game

I really like crazy games if they are executed as good as this one - well done :)

killmonday says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:46pm

Best FP-Burrito-S game I have ever played!!!

Vavassor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:47pm

Delightfully weird and had me smiling with the weird enemies. Dang churro cornered me in the end. Hope this game inspires many more neo-burritocore games!

Jellycakes says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:33am

That was pretty nice, I liked how the music synced up with every action, gave it that rhythm heaven kind of feel. Got a lot of retro vibes from the art, music and controls too which was really nice. Really good job on this.

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:33am

Great music and character art.

boneloaf says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:36am

Excellent PaRappa the Rapper art style.

goodpaul6 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:39am

Great Game, I love the art style, this is awesome work for the amount of time given!

peanutpower says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:09am

I got to floor 17 before getting pwned by some two headed...?!?!? if this game has some element of persistence that would be awesome but maybe not very roguelike i played without reading that text at the bottom which was a dumb idead in retrospect. maybe i should have been forced to read some instructions. Great work!

GaTechGrad says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:56am

Great Mexican theme with the burritos and such. Syncing the music with the actions was a nice touch.

FunByJohn says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:13am

This is the best thing that i have ever

wow

angrygeometry says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:44pm

this is wild, i love it

nddrylliog says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:48pm

I.. I have no words. Thank you.

udo says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:49pm

I had an insane burrito time. Thanks! :)

Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:08pm

Taquito Tower is the most best tower of taquitos I've ever taquito'd. Which state is the no state I don't know my abbreviationss :c

tigerj says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:05am

This game is great. excellent fun stuff.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:44am

neato! liked the art style a lot.. would love to play a full version of this..

GarethIW says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:05am

Hahaha, great fun! I enjoyed the part with the burrito.

ddionisio says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:31am

I love this game, really fun! I love the rhythm and animation!

Nezzhil says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:04am

Superb game! Amazing gameplay (but at the begining the controls seems a bit weird) and the best music of the Ludum (at leat, of all the games I played).

The falling mechanic is really fun and the sound effects combine with the music perfectly, reminds me a rhythm game.

Capro says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:31pm

This is insanely good. Awesome!

blackotus says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:48pm

This is awesome!
I love the looks, the burritos, the theme, the burritos, the monster design, the burritos!

Burritastic!

BNeutral says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:53am

I love the level transitions.

wine says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:53am

Madness, ten out of ten! )

Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:07pm

Fun and cute! Love this graphic! Idea with levels is great!

pereubu says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:23am

my brain went completely taco D8

paulmcgg says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:43pm

AMAZING. This might be favourite so far. The art is so good, movement feels great and the music is killer.

Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:17pm

Another significant entry in the ever-growing pile of evidence that one should never go anywhere with only one burrito.

Your art is the best.

agumaster says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 2:00pm

one of my Favourite LD27 games, so new and awesome

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]