August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Triad

by BlackBulletIV - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Triad is mix of top-down shooting, puzzle, and strategy. You control three unique soldiers, playing them each one by one for 10 seconds. Each soldier overlaps in time with the previously played soldiers. Use their abilities in combination to eliminate all hostile defence turrets.

I recommend browsing through the tutorial if you haven't played before.

The game requires support for FBOs. If you're using the .love file, you'll need Love2D 0.8, which you can get at: http://love2d.org

Controls
Move: WASD/Arrow keys
Shoot/Select Solider: LMB
Use Ability: RMB
Restart: R
Toggle Music: M
Quit: Escape

---

If you leave a comment with your rating I'll do my best to play and rate your game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#45Fun3.80
#47Overall3.87
#48Theme3.94
#63Innovation3.87
#97Mood3.53
#135Audio3.35
#401Graphics3.15
#622Humor2.13

Comments

Plu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:35am

Really nice! The overlapping time turns this into a pretty cool puzzle game. Takes a little getting used to, but great fun after.

josefnpat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:32am

Great job! Very innovative, with three essential characters. A puzzle game at its finest!

Mclogenog says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:49am

This is some clever design. Some balancing might help though, since the shield guy's role was way more valuable (at least the way I played) than the the others' roles. It's also kind of frustrating to mess up one part of a plan and have to restart; if I could infinitely retry each guy, you'd still have the puzzle game without as much demand for skill.

This could be really interesting if you kept at it, post jam.

BlackBulletIV says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:00am

Thanks guys!

@Mclogenog The way I play the gunner and shield are about as useful as each other, but yeah, the demo is often more of a sideshow.

As for the single-character replays, yeah, I wanted to add that, but thought of it too late and ran out of time. I'll probably do some post-compo work, so that'll be high on the list.

LionelJitro says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:00am

Lots of fun.

Great concept and well executed.

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:26am

This game is great at making you think. Also the theme is being used in a rather generic (ie. as a timer) fashion.

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:34am

Also you might want to turn down the shield's health.

nicotuason says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:04am

Cool way to add puzzle elements to a tactical game! I enjoyed playing. Was a bit hard to distinguish your soldiers from the enemy turrets at first, but I got used to it.

kikito says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:07am

The .love file seems to be missing.

kikito says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:09am

The correct link for the .love file is http://nova-fusion.com/games/triad/triad.love

BlackBulletIV says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:15am

kikito: Wow, thanks for catching that.

vrld says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:15am

Really well executed game, but not mentioning the very similar "Ten Second War" (http://tensecondwar.wordpress.com/, also a LÖVE game) leaves a bitter aftertaste.
It's still very impressive what you managed to pull off in 48 hours. Kudos!

BlackBulletIV says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:21am

vrld: Sorry. I mentioned it on the Love2D forums, but I didn't feel it really applied here (as from what I can gauge, Ten Second War isn't very well known outside the Love2D community).

Anyway, thanks for the positive feedback.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:15pm

Good gameplay, good idea, good game.

rfgpfeiffer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:19pm

This game is awesome! You had the same idea as I had, but your execution is just perfect!

One annoying thing was that when my first two dudes died then I could still play the third, but one time the first two survived and the third dude died and all turrets were destroyed but I had to restart anyway.

But apart from that A++ would play again!

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:02pm

This is really cool!

BlackBulletIV says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:57pm

Woah, I never realised you could shoot with your shield up. I'd consider that a near game-breaking bug, so I've fixed it.

Anyway, thank you all for the positive feedback. :)

goyal says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:38am

Nicely done! Fun to play and its challenging too.

leafo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:23am

Wow this is one of the best games I've played so far. I really enjoyed it

recursor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:12pm

This game is really fun. Well done on the grainy visuals, the gameplay, and even the music loop goes well with everything. Very well put together!

oxysoft says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:09am

Frustrating as hell but very well thought

devi ever says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:42am

A really cool take on a puzzle game. Have been seeing similar ideas to this recently but definitely one of the better. Would love to see this fleshed out.

klambrike says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:16am

Very good game!

Empyrealhell says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:23am

Well put together. Feels much more like a game than most entries; cohesive graphics and level design with a strong adherence to your core concept really make it stand out. My only real complaint is that it's a bit punishing when you mess up. Having to suicide the other two because you mess up early on, or having to redo the same actions for two because you messed up on the third is a bit trying.

HunLyxxod says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:23am

It would have been nice to be able to play for the 10 seconds even if we die. If you mess, you need to restart the level, you can't save your characters with an other one and continue the mission. That's frustrating.

Except that, that's was fun to play. Good work.

BlackBulletIV says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:28am

Thanks for the feedback guys. I wish I'd recognised earlier that having to completely restart for any mistake was a really big issue; it's the one negative that keeps being brought up. If I make a post-compo version (which I most likely will), that'll definitely be fixed.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:11pm

The game hangs any time any of my players get shot. From what I can play the control is great, the mood is captivating and it looks really fun all round! I am running the .love version, I have love 0.8 installed. There are no debug or error messages in the output console. I could help find the cause if pointed in a direction :)

BlackBulletIV says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:13pm

keyboardmonkey:

Is your computer particularly low-performance? The game creates a number of physics-driven particles to simulate a mini-explosion every time a player, enemy, missile, or weak wall dies/explodes. If that were the cause, then the game would hang even more when an enemy or missile explodes.

Also, what operating system are you running it on?

Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:12am

Great audio and idea. I'm terrible at the game but I see what you are going for. Should possibly start off a lot easier so you can get use to it? The turrets were super punishing. Great effort.

Norgg says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:14am

Really nice use of the theme, tight level design, interesting concept and well polished.

cobrajs says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:32am

Excellent game! I really liked the concept, and the controls have a great feel to them. Overall very well done.

alts says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:52am

This is a really cool game. Nice work. Everyone else has mentioned the desire for single character replays already, but I think that's really the only thing missing from this game. I did have one weird issue where the Demo failed to kill a turret at the first player, yet when I played through the shield guy's turn as the second player, the shotgun spray was just different enough to kill the turret. Worked out in my favor, but I could imagine it going the other way.

BlackBulletIV says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:08am

alts:

I've programmed it so that the game remembers when turrets are destroyed and will make sure they die at that time in the replays. It's same with "ghost" players; they can't be killed until the game goes past the time when they were killed (if it exists).

TL;DR: The replay system always works in your favour.

gre says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:45am

Very good game mecanisms, audio and graphics.
The difficulty is bit high for my taste.

Thermite says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:30pm

A thinking person's top down shooter! My kind of game :)

markengley says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:31pm

Wow amazing work! Really clever idea and very tight execution. Well done :)

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:55pm

Really cool concept. Very original. Great Job!

Tom 7 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:32am

Neat idea. It was tricky to figure out at first, but once I got going it was more puzzle than performance. I did think it was mostly about the shield and shotgun though...

Purplescape says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:48am

Wow, this is a very interesting strategic game. After a bit of learning the mechanics, it had me puzzling over it for a while

BlackBulletIV says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:55am

@Tom 7: That's interesting. I thought it was mainly about the shield and the gunner. I guess it all depends on how you play.

cbear_wallis says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:33am

really nice game! I love the idea and the themeing! the mechanics are spot on too

01rafael says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 12:09pm

COOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOLLLLL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Latcarf says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 10:45pm

This game looks very interesting but with only a touchpad I don't think I can rate it fairly. The music is quite good, how did you make it?

foumart says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 7:50pm

Impressive! Add some enemy behaviour and this can become alot more reallistic. Also thought about finishing the action after killed in some kind of "ghost mode".

BlackBulletIV says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 9:43pm

Latcarf: I made the music with a few synthesisers in Logic. Turned out alright for a 3 AM job. :P

foumart: Adding enemy movement to a game with overlapping time such as this introduces more complications that it might seem. It's something I'll try to do in the future though.

shard123 says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 11:02am

Really fun, everything is really polished and well balanced, nice work!

Oxygamer says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 11:15pm

System unsustainable

BlackBulletIV says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 12:01am

Oxygamer: I'm unsure what you mean by that.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]