August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Every Ten Seconds A Kitten Drowns

by matthias_zarzecki - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Oh noes! All the kittens are drowning!

You have 120 seconds to save as many kittens as possible in this unique cat-based boating-simulator!

Features:
- Procedurally Generated Kittens
- Seamines
- Upgradable Spaceboat!
- Torpedoes!
- Highscores, to keep you coming back :P
- Thumping Beat
- Cats drowning
- Hits towards your conscience

Controls:
- WSAD/Arrows - Movement
- M - Mute sound
- B - Open Shop (when in range)
- Space - Fire Torpedo (if upgraded)

Also available for your convenience: Win, Mac & Linux-Builds (I hope they work), a timelapse-video, and the soundtrack (for all your soundtrack-related needs)

Enjoy!

-Matthias
@IcarusTyler

//Note
Weird. For some reasons the explosions don't show up in the webbuild. I'll figure that one out after sleeping

//update
I went back in and fixed 2 critical game-stopper bugs.

//Addendum
Thanks for the feedback! In retrospect having the money-count be visible in the shop is kind-of obvious :P

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#101Humor3.39
#188Overall3.48
#240Fun3.34
#304Graphics3.33
#319Theme3.41
#323Mood3.05
#323Audio2.95
#478Innovation3.06

Comments

Josh Riley says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:18am

The cat names were a nice touch, haha. I caught myself saying "NOOO HANK!" out loud to myself. Anyway, this was a lot of fun!

Side note: I'm guessing you're aware of it, but I did get my boat stuck on the center thing at one point and had to exit out.

nathanhoffer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:19am

I really liked the upgrade system. Well done!

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:20am

I really like the music, and the ship (plus that little trail). the interface feels a bit weird, it's hard to tell mines from kittens, and the text can clash with the background.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:23am

Very unique/hilarious and the names of the cats were awesome. Unfortunately, at one point every time I hit a cat I would no longer be able to move until another cat appeared, even after the game restarted.

Filth says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:24am

Looks nice and feels pretty good. At first the kittens weren't spawning and I assumed I was supposed to save the little icons and couldn't figure out why I couldn't. It was fun when kittens were spawning at a good rate but sometimes they would just stop showing up.

lulzfish_4 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:25am

When I asked for a random name, it gave me "Amethyst Archeron", and these are two of my favorite words.

I lost pretty badly, I let 11 kittens drown, and when I clicked, "I can save more" it just said that I lost instantly with no cats saved nor drowned.

Ravetcofx says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:06am

Cant wait to try!

lustdante says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:06am

+5 humor for the title. Thank you for your coolness and the awesome game!

scriptorum says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:12am

Goddamn! Why, Orangey? Why?? Well I killed a lot of kittens.

I had trouble at first with the mines. The hit box was larger than I expected. After that it was smooth sailing. Nice touches with the boat naming, cat naming and upgrade system.

This game does for boats and cats what Choplifter did for helicopters and POWs.

Calahagus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:15am

What an awesome little game! I had loads of fun saving my cats friends, and the names are hilarious!

But the feels when I saw that first kitty sink. :( You've scarred me for life man.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:16am

Simply loved it. Great visual, good music. The controls are smooth and respond perfectly. That's really impressive, great work !

Steve says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:28am

Good controls, smooth music. I like it. Poor drowned kittens though :(

Rabbits... says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:33am

Your games always make me smile, good work and go cats!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:52am

Kinda morbid theme. Poor kittehs! lol. I was really impressed wiith the 3d graphics. Not bad for a solo job. I found that the game was kind of chill/relaxing, not so much challenging. But the music kind of fit that mood.

mirzasan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:53am

ship move smoothly nice simple n addictive gameplay

Yaguar says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:53am

Lots of nice little additions and polish (Name your boat and it appears on the back, cat names).

noom says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:54am

Good bit of fun. LET ME SAVE THEM!

NorthernCrux says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:09am

Lots of detail and many features. Good graphics.

JAH2488 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:18am

No the poor kitties. I couldn't save them all.

Parappa says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:24am

Great use of the theme, and nice work on the upgrades shop!

Empyrealhell says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:27am

Overall it was a fun little time waster. The graphics were smooth, the cat theme was amusing and you were spot on with the music. The only thing missing on that regard would have been some poor drowning kitten sounds. The collision detection felt a bit off at times, and every time a kitten spawned inside a mine I got a little sad. Also it would have been nice to be able to see how much money I had on the shop page.

Jishenaz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:50am

The controls were good and the difficulty was just right. Awesome game.

Metal Axe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:50am

Really great game. Although after I had a played a couple games, I would start freezing in place for several seconds whenever I saved a cat.

carlsommer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:52am

Good upgrade system. Very cool music! I didn't rate audio higher, though because there is no audio besides the music.

SteveSalmond says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:06am

Nice! I lol'ed at the cat names (Buttcat, ^^), and the time management gameplay style works really well. Good work :D

namrog84 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:09am

I can save more!

Nice gameplay!

At first I thought I was an airplane and had to fly around, then I realized I was on water and in a boat!

Dooleus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:17am

The graphics and interface are pretty decent. The controls are a little unsatisfying... I would like there to be a bigger sense of speed and weight in the boat, instead of just stopping when you let go of the movement keys. I had an issue with not collecting a cat even though the side of my boat was touching his raft thing, so it might be better if there was a slightly larger area for the collision detection. There were also some issues with getting stuck inside of the rescue station.

The music is not good, nor does it put me in a kitten saving mood, and the lack of sound effects really detracts from the atmosphere.

borden says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:23am

Tons of features. Wow, really impressive for 48 hours.

Not a whole lot of fun though, and the music isnt that fitting.

brmassa says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:24am

Nice dark theme about cats getting drowned. Hard at the beginning but doable.

Infernal says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:30am

I need a faster boat

Andrewves says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:31am

Great concept, the music gave the game a very 007 feel. Although at some point a couple of the kittens spawned inside of the spikes.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:35am

Very good! A solid game about kittens! I like it..... poor kittens........

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:54am

I was loving this game as soon as I saw the name. And the actual play does not disappoint. Beautiful job!

Blue Steel says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:38am

boat moves A little slow. and playing of little animals drowning etc is a rough pull. for animal lovers :(

Toshiro says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:58am

Your game is very cool !

Just, the track is maybe a bit short, and sometimes, my boat stuck during 10 seconds I don't know why. Anyway, congrats ! :D

donan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:02am

It was fun ^^. Controls are really smooth :)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:06am

Best cat/boat game I've played this morning.

netgrind says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:25am

That was a fun game. I really loved the cat names. The mines could use a bright blinky red light as it was hard to tell what the text is floating over.

Sebastian says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:30am

Brilliant!

Pierrec says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:06am

Fun to play! I especiallt loved the boat and cat names.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:11am

Fun little rescue game. The random name generation was a nice touch. The collission boxes felt a bit off sometimes. Nothing too bad though. :)

cwkx says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:13am

Great little game, especially enjoyed the relaxed music!

REIN1 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:46am

Pity cats~Very good game~thank you~

as3boyan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:54am

Graphics is amazing! One bug that I got - two kittens are in same position. Kitten inside mine, how can I save it?)

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:57am

Is this a compo entry? As that looks like a unity standard asset skybox.

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:08am

The game hang up after I lost for the 2nd time.
Otherwise it's really fun! The music could be more happy, though :)

g_o says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:15am

In game instructions could have been nice :D

GaTechGrad says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:21am

Pretty fun game. The controls seemed to be just right. I'm glad all of the bonuses carry over between levels. However, the torpedoes stopped working after awhile. It would also be nice to see how much money you have on the shop screen (although it does only highlight the items you can buy).

Toestee says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:28am

aww, those poor kittens :(

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:29am

The graphics for me were spoilt by the use of a standard assets skybox. Also your lighting is all in the gray-scale. If you had made the sun bluer to match the sky it would have looked better. Apart from that great game!

Paraknight says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:36am

Two bugs I found that might just be unique to me:
- If you try to change the boat's name, the keyboard stops working (including ingame WASD).
- The game crashed when I tried to buy the radar first thing.
Nothing that wouldn't be expected after only two days work though. Really fun idea that was very well implemented!

jay griffin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:54am

Nicely put together, quality little rescue game. Was a little confused as to which objectives were which to begin with, but it all made sense soon enough. Good stuff.

Grafter says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:57am

Liked the idea and background music!

Szedouu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:15am

ahhah very fun game. I want to save more KAAAATZZZZZ!

Choupom says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:26am

Awesome game, but sorry for all the kittens i could not save :(

panurge says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:51am

Really polished and enjoyable. Great work! I would have liked to be able to see how much money I had when I was in the shop but aside from that very minor quibble I loved this.

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:52am

If you are using default assets then you should be in the jam and not the compo.
Skyboxes are not exempt assets. Only fonts and some musical assets are.

bnhw says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:53am

Addictive gameplay. Humorous cat names. What's not to like? That I couldn't save more cats. :(

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:03am

I like the part whith cats.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:34am

I like it, quite nice idea!! Really addictive.

lcarpentier says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:14pm

It was a lot of fun, I could totally play that on Kong.

infernet89 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:17pm

Ooh, save kittens! That was something i didn't expect with 10seconds theme. And upgrade system build in under 48h? Well done!

Lars Faust says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:30pm

Hahaha, amazing!

And such a clean, pleasing 3D style. Extra points for that.

gritfish says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:37pm

Nice work!
The shop button was a bit hard to find - I kept clicking on the money display for a while. Derp.

The radar I think caused some serious pauses, but otherwise this is a great execution on the idea.

I could really see myself playing a version of this with a persistent shop over and over.

pythong says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:38pm

drowning kittens make me sad :'<
would have been awesome if you had a radar or sth so I knew where the next drowning kitteh was

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:07pm

Kinda hard to find the kitties without a radar, but fun nonetheless. I like it.

martijn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:43pm

Very fun game. The return of boxy the boxcat is a nice touch. Also who names their cat "buttcat" ?

eolhing says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:45pm

This game is cool ! I lacks some sound effects but it is really cool =)

Xotraz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:48pm

It's a good game, but i didnt enjoy playing.
That's why i rated 2 in fun.

The song is also really boring.

Mekuri says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:57pm

Very nice game!! I especially liked the upgrade shop.

Acrimiens says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:22pm

Good Game, nice work!

Balooga03 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:52pm

Very nice and polished.

truiton says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:54pm

Haha the cat names made me laugh :D
The game is fun and work like a charm. :)

laserbeam says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:58pm

Feels weird that a second is about as long as 3 actual seconds IRL. Maybe I'm lagging or something...

Zccc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:58pm

Very nice, the names were pretty funny. One of the kittens was inside a bomb tough :(

urth says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:22pm

An overall good game.

Todnut says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:23pm

Awesome!

Clavus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:42pm

All those kittens I couldn't save will haunt me forever :(

Well done!

Ray_Mickelino says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:44pm

I couldn't save them. Those poor kitties. Awesome game. Great Aesthetics.

JaJ says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:57pm

Why do you get money for dead kittens?

Larzan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:25pm

Nice game, a bit repetitive. Also the web version crashed my browser (Win7-64bit).
Nice music...

alwaysinbeta says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:25pm

The controls feel great and love the interpretation of the theme. Good fun!

kayupla says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:02pm

I like very much the theme eploitation. Good work!

Schwiggy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:06pm

This is by far the best cat-based boating simulator I've played. Also it looks like the highscores on Kong are capped at 50, is there a way to get more than 50%?

Infin8 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:08pm

Fun stuff. A cat seemed to have spawned in a mine though, so that was a pain.

sjk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:28pm

Nice Game, there seems to be a bug where the boat gets stuck with a radar.

Jeremias says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:37pm

I like games with upgrade systems. Was fun to play towards them. I am a bit confused that you lose the money after some time, but keep the inventory. Additional, why not opening the shop by pushing a button instead of changing from the keyboard to the mouse? Or did I missed it? Nice use of the theme anyway.

Mesene says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:45pm

Nice! just like boxy :D

jijaweb says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:49pm

Cool concept. Good job!

joekinglake says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:55pm

Lovely game. Very fun, great use of the theme, simple and effective graphics and music that fits the bill. Awesome job!

Ghostik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:57pm

Really nice work! And funny cat names :D

Blooperly says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:07pm

Awesome game! Could use some meowing sound effects.

crashbanito says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:11pm

Everything about this game is amazing. The writing for the various buttons alone makes me want to play more. "Let me save them!" The randomly generated kitty names are also great.

My only criticism is that I do feel that it's a little too easy to hit those mines.

Dir3kt says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:16pm

Haha nice one :)

Zerkruemler says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:21pm

Quite funny and with a motivating upgrade-system

Jhelle says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:27pm

Nice game mate. Enjoyed the music. Sadly one of the kittens wanted to hug a mine so I blew up :(

tigerj says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:42pm

I love the I can save more button. thanks for adding the kong api too. I will be back for the leader board.

nice game good work

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:45pm

13 kittens! I feel good :)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:51pm

Poor kitties! That's a good extra motivaton for rescue.

I thought the game played otherwise well, but I got stuck on the rescue station when I exited the shopping window, and sometimes kitties and mines spawn on the same location. Mine collision area is crazy large too.

HighQuality says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:53pm

After dying the first time I kept the radar I had upgraded and couldn't move at all unless there was a cat on the map.

Disregarding that bug and the fact that the mines hitboxes was way too large this game is extremely well polished and feels really complete for the fact that it was made during 48 hours by a single guy, easily a 4/5.
Well done!

doonay21 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:06pm

A lot of work has been done to make this game as I can see! Great work!

GFM says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:14pm

Nice game! :)

KeithE. says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:15pm

Fun idea. The shop adds a lot of replay and the music is great. Which the collision with the bombs was a little tighter. It is really hard to thread the needle once more bombs start showing up. Great job!

Taiters says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:26pm

Cool game! I kept thinking I was doing well then saw how many cats I failed to save haha.

At one point the keyboard input seemed to stop working, I couldn't work out why, but after a cat appeared it worked again. Well done overall!

gikdew says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:30pm

nice little game!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:34pm

Haha! Nice idea :D
Really fun game ^^

oxysoft says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:48pm

Very nice, I like the idea

Pitzik4 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:09pm

I saved every single cat I saw, and yet I still got a score of only 45%. :( The game was fun. :)

Meep says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:12pm

Fun little upgrade game. :) The audio was really nice. It would've been good to show how much money you had while shopping, and sometimes it froze for a few seconds upon rescuing a cat (seemed like it was to wait for the next one to spawn. I had the radar, if that had to do with it). Great work, though. :)

Static 64 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:14pm

Fun and well designed. Lots of polish for 48 hours.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:14pm

Hey man, thanks for playing my game, but I won't play yours. I'm kinda allergic to anything with dead kittens in it, sorry!!!
No hard feelings, but... no!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:20pm

I can save more!!!!!!!! Great game

Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:36pm

NOOOO... I tried to save them....
great take on the theme! I like how the driver of the boat is a cat.

SamC says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:54pm

Nice game, the ship controls feel nice

Idovoodoo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:55pm

Sooooo cool! Well done :)

Gremlin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:00pm

Good use of randomly generated names. For the boats and the cats!

It's a bit dark, at least on my screen.

I had a cat generated right on top of a landmine. Poor Nermal didn't make it.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:03pm

Great fun, love how it has upgradables and everything too

TheThirdOne says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:26pm

I love the premise of this game.

Derbdale says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:29pm

Really cool idea, very fun to play! Shame the shop menu doesn't say how much money you have though.

Bjeaurn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:49pm

I had a blast! Loved the work and art that went into this. Very good and fun game!

Nights57 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:52pm

So many kittens drowned on my watch : (. Funky music too, fun fun game.

Linusson says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:54pm

A fun and relaxing game. :)

It would be nice if the shop showed how much money you have. :)

Volute says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:02pm

But what are they doing in the water in the first place ?
Fun idea :)

Aurel300 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:15pm

This game made me a bit sad :( ... Poor kittens!

CuberToy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:27pm

You sir, understand Internet. Cats. That is all ! Very nice game, well executed, a really fun time playing.

andwhatnot says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:36pm

Oh those poor little kitten!
This is a cute and fun game. Good stuff.

Mythalore says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:37pm

Fun game, actually quite similar to a game I made for my college course earlier this year!

Sestren says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:37pm

"Curse my metal body, I wasn't fast enough!" Fun game that makes you feel for those poor kittens. I love that you can just barely save a kitten as it's starting to drown; made me feel like a hero. :)

CarbonCoder says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:03pm

Very nice! haha

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:27pm

The game itself was not the most original, but it was the little touches that made it good! The random name generator, the cat names, I really liked the design of the text on top of the cats, the layout of the text was very nice. You are very conscious of the little touches in your design, and it shows.

There were a few bugs, and one cat spawned exactly on top of a mine so I couldn't save him, but otherwise I enjoyed this entry!

N427 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:27pm

Really fun and I loved the name system!

Joxno says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:56pm

I was kinda sad when I reached the end and I only saved 3 kittens, I had gone after all of the money instead... I'm such a bad person. Anyhow, awesome game!

Alexander says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:02am

Great game, loved the music

kacperski1 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:07am

Pretty cool game ;)

Ossi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:14am

Poor kittens! I couldn't save them all! Cool take on the theme and the upgrade shop is neat. Great random names too, my ship was called Orange Universal, so gooood! Some things to improve on: I wish there was more feedback when collecting money or kittens, like a visual or prominent sound effect, and perhaps make it so you have to return to the shop to upgrade rather than being able to go to shop whenever. That may give the game a bit more risk/reward. Great job though!

DWallin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:25am

A solid game with a good dose of humor. I ran into a bug where cats would apparently show up and drown all without showing up on my screen or radar.

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:47am

Solid game. Nice take on the theme.

PapaWhiskey says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:49am

Personally I think this could've been a bit more colorful, but other than that -- great work!

dmastergames says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:51am

Good Game :) Really fun and addicting. Very fun and funny and the graphic were quit good :)

KevinWorkman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:56am

This was great. I was so sad when one of the kittens drowned right in front of me!

Fireblend says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:06am

Pretty funny, gotta love the randomly generated kitten names :P

anmorales says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:08am

Nice work!!

Jayjay says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:21am

That felt like a really complete game, great job!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:25am

The upgrade system is a nice touch! Gave some good depth to what would have otherwise been a fairly dry experience.

Was confused at first though. I thought the little cat head icons actually WERE the kittens, not money.

Lianne Booton says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:41am

Cool game, reminded me of some sort of minigame that would be in Saints Row or GTA :)

Komradus says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:48am

I didn't come here to be sad dammit, those poor kittens! But serious great work, the kitten names were a nice touch.

Tork says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:02am

at some point I had nothing to take for 10 seconds, at the same time I had 2 spawns inside bombs, really nice game and those 2 things are small things but they can be fixed fast :D

Angrycrow says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:09am

Cool game. I didn't ever figure out how to upgrade though.

Travis Irby says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:02am

Haha catchy title! Really smooth controls, fun game nice :)

zkenshin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:04am

Solid entry, had fun. :)

larb says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:24am

Poor kitties... Do they at least go to kitty heaven?

I wish there wasn't a 120 second timer. I would like to keep going and keep upgrades. The fun stops too early! Cool entry.

Generalgore says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:36am

Liked the game a lot. very funny and great use of the theme. :) I never got a better score than 50% and the game broke after every game, but other than that a great game.

roaet says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:40am

I like it. I really liked the names of the cats.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:06am

Kittens is a good everywhere! But sometimes it seems that there is enough kittens already :-)

Diventurer says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:29am

Nice game, although it was hard to get a better score than 40%. By the way, there is a bug where kittens spawn on a bomb. Simba could not be saved as he drowned under a bomb. ;_;

syradinegames says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:30am

Great game. Easy to pick up and good story (without any dialog: save kittens drowning, who wouldn't)

Unept says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:46am

I'm not very good at saving kittens. Pretty fun game that I suck at. I had trouble seeing the details, like it was nighttime or something. Maybe it would benefit to light it up a bit more?

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:02am

Nice audio and boat art. I liked how the name of the boat appeared on the back, nice touch. Saved about 10 kittens the lost the game. Derpy was a great cat name :)

Nerlin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:10am

Oh no, that little nice kitten. =(
Awesome game, great job!

ENDESGA says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:30am

hahaha, very funny :)

great game :D

-ENDESGA

sittaman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:35am

Great gameplay! Well done!

Anachron says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:46am

This game has a strong positive message.

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:26am

Kitties!

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:38am

Funny game. I like you boatr design. :-)

qrunchmonkey says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:59am

Amazing production value and fits the theme well. As a game though, it leaves a little to be desired. The upgrades system seems to be at odds with the time limit - every second I'm spending in the shop is a second I'm not spending saving kittens.

Also, there's no way (that I could find anyway) to extend the time limit, which again seems at odds with the upgrade system.

Though it could be that I'm not very good at the game - I kept getting 35-40% =(

Valerien says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:59am

Nice sense of humor ;)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:59am

I enjoyed this game a great deal :) Liked the cat names, and the upgrade system too. A map would be necessary though because I lost a lot of kittens by not knowing where are they :(

Orni says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:18am

loved the idea
the cat names were hilarious

music is top notch as well

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:26am

Very pretty :)

ratking says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:26am

Hey, cool entry - nice music too! I like the shop system.

Too bad I had two bugs: Once a kitten was directly spawned inside a seamine, and after I bought something (speed +10%), I suddenly couldn't rescue any more kittens, I just drove through them. :-(

Brejlounek says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:37am

Cool game! :) Really well-named cats and ships and nice boat trails. Music is a little repetitive, kittens sometime spawn inside bombs and there is the bug with I can save more. I saved only around 40% :(

bitserum says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:02am

This was fun. I didn't mind repeating and saving more kitties. Good job.

spitfire87 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:44am

Nice controls and graphics for a compo! Pretty simple but very polished, good job.

Sithdown says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:19pm

I like the concept, the upgrades and the random-kitten-name-generator, really fun!

P.S: Sometimes mines appear over kittens :(

Soundless_dev says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:21pm

Thank you for giving me a chance to rescue these poor kitties:3

Venturelli says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:24pm

This is awesome :D

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:13pm

I need more time, 90seconds are not enough, all those kitten, drowning, I have to do something.

RennFarnell says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:29pm

quite a chilled game for something with so many cats dying =[
cool little game though! Just wish wasnt 120 seconds only :P

also, i died straight away!

http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/wp-content/uploads/2013/08/iamboss.jpg

01101101 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:45pm

Nice job, fun game!
The random cat names are great and naming your boat is always a good thing ^^

thesunnyk says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:46pm

Capture game, but fairly effective. The time limit makes it addictive, but there's no challenge ramp, and there's nothing to "spend" your money on. The mines don't move and there's really not much to contend with other than time management.

Jason says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:47pm

You know when I started this game jam, I was thinking I should do something with cats, the internet loves cats! Looks like you nailed it :p Fun game, I would add maybe allowing shopping between play throughs as well, maybe some bigger upgrades. And some detection to make sure the cats down spawn on top of mines.

TeamFlare says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:16pm

Very nice job :)
Never could let a kitty drown. Awww.

atgaubatz says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:50pm

Nice! Lot's of fun. Would be nice to see how much money you currently have in the shop (unless I'm just blind and missed it).

Feysoura says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:06pm

Nice, but really needs sfx!

zanzindorf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:57pm

Nice work. It made me sad though :'C You get 5 mood stars of sadness.

SasoriDama says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:12pm

The controls are very fluid and the upgrades add a lot to the game. I felt awful when I didn't get there in time!

Aske says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:25pm

This game is really good, It's fits really well into the theme. good job! ;)

rincewind_cz says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:30pm

There was no explosions too on linux and also after I blew i was unable to start again (the message "0 kittens saved, 0 drowned" showed immediately), so restart was needed. But it was fun anyway ;)

NachoDA says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:32pm

Really awesome music! Weirdly addictive. Very nice work :)

Shmarah says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:37pm

Kitties! I loved it. I had to choose between saving an Oreo or a Sylvester at one point... ;-; I'm so sorry Oreo!

esayitch says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:05pm

Heya! I liked the game a lot, was pretty fun and impressive for 48 hours. Music got a bit repetitive and didn't fit the mood a lot I think (too grim for this kind of game, I felt).

Theme applied well and a well executed concept, good luck!

Asar Dhandala says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:15pm

Well done!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:21pm

Oh no, not Luna! My cat is called Luna! Cool idea

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:35pm

They have names, very cute!

dudsen says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:47pm

Aaaaaaw, poor thingys. Why did they have to try out those rafts :D

TobiasW says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:34pm

Patch and Socks love mines: They both spawned exactly on one. Right after each other. Uuurgh.

I wish the restart would work properly. I'd probably play this game until the end of my days.

So, uh, in case you didn't already know: Your game is superb and a lot of fun. I think might have a winner here!

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:43pm

i can't save them all ;_;

ChronusZ says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:00pm

This is actually very fun to play :) A bit annoying when a cat spawns inside of a mine, though.

ratqueen says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:12pm

The idea is pretty cool. Also, to implement the shop system works fine (who has time to go shopping, when there are kittens drowning?!??!!1).
But a bit more feedback and reward would be nice. More action, water particle effects. Kittens jumping for help and meowing heart-breakingly would be persuasive.
And it took a lot of restarts to realize, that I have to bring the kittens back to the station (didn't recognized the text there m)). Maybe make the amount of kittens in the boat more prominent. And seeing all the rescued kittens on the platform would be really awesome as well.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:17pm

I like this one, its terrible when you cant reach a kitty that is in sight before it drowns!

robb says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:31pm

The poor kitties, nice game!

kbm0 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:32pm

Interesting controls and pretty good music. Overall quite nice. Good job.

Diptoman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:37pm

Haha, this game is very addictive! I loved the kitten names, they were so cute!

Well done!

fgielow says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:50pm

Funny game. Like the way you use the 10 secs theme. Think you can try to improve the acceleration feeling a bit, but very well made for a 48 entry.

kebabskal says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:26pm

Who can say no to kittens? :) Didn't understand that you had to return to the rescue station to actually save tehm kittiiies.

Dioiminik says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:41pm

Nice game :)

flod says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:50pm

good ideas - were there 1000 kittens?

Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:05pm

Nice entry! Funny theme and pleasant to play (really fluid).

I felt so guilty when I realized I couldn't save grumpy cat.

BeardoGames says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:17pm

Wow, that's a ton of game for such a short period of time spent making it! Great sense of humor and like some others have mentioned, a nice upgrade system! Only a tiny problem of kitties spawning on mines, but that's easily fixed I'm sure!

john_conder9 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:33pm

I can't think of a single area to not give you 5 stars. The game is fun, addictive, has kittens, and kills me when I'm playing it poorly, giving me a drive to improve at the game. Well done!

Almax27 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:44pm

I was sold at "Procedurally Generated Kittens" :D

immanuela says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:28pm

This is so unique and it's so easy to continue playing for a long time! Good stuff!

Pickens Inc. says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:29pm

Love it!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:08pm

Loved the cat names and the upgrade system. Perhaps a radar of sorts would be useful to have in game (to know when/where cats-in-distress appear).

Vile Smile says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:28am

Nice game. The music got annoying after a while, but the controls were tight. The graphics are also good.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:54am

I really love the upgrades/shop feature, and the fact that the cats are named. It's much more personal.

DavidErosa says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:00am

Haha, nice one. A bit repetitive after a while, but fun anyway :)

arezita says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:09am

Very nice! Very fun game!

Jan Marcano says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:52am

Holy shit, you've got so many comments, how do you keep track? D:

Anyways, really nice game. It was solid, didn't find any problem with it and it has some replay value. The music was good but it could have used some sfx.

Good job! Had fun

yetatore says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:09am

What to said that no ones have said before...
THE COCO IS THE KEY OF SUCCESS!! YOU COCO YOU COCO ARRRGGAGGGGG!!!

Congratz if you really play 200 games else Congratz too. XD

Stryphe says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:25am

Great Job! Really nice graphics and controls.

Epiphane says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:52am

Fun little game... nice upgrading elements and tight controls. A couple little grievances, like when a cat appeared right inside a mine and I died trying to get to it :( I think it'd be a little friendlier if you had more than one hit point possibly?

Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:35am

I liked the physics used to move the ship. Couldn`t get to the end of it (I`m not a reliable kitten savior) but nice try, I liked it.

BumpkinRich says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:59am

I saved kittens! Apologies for those I couldn't :(

Nice idea and cool upgrade system. Boat didn't feel very 'boaty' though.

tlasol says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:18am

Don't know, is it a bug or just a feature, but my cats were generated in mines :c

Cat names are amazing!

PixlWalkr says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:01am

Enjoyed it, really nice gameplay and upgrade shop.

Aslai says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:07am

A cat spawned inside a mine. What a sad, sad day :(

Ysty says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:18am

One of the best game I've played so far in this LD!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:33am

Great job on this! Very polished and well realised. I liked the upgrading the boat aspect of it. Nice graphics too.

Aceria says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:10pm

Kittens! Always kudos for kittens. The concept is simple but works well. Upgrading the spaceboat is neat and it would be even neater if the upgrades stayed for another play. The music did not really fit the game well. Your games are always a joy to play. :)

MatrixBai says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:10pm

Well done, cute kitten.

Jesse Freeman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:27pm

Interesting concept and easy to pick up. I wish there was a way to see where to save the kittens, maybe a GTA style map were they show up on the radar. Great job!

Mironix says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:06pm

Kittens! enough said :) save them!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:21pm

Nice game. Visually, it could be a bit brighter though. :) Having a shop with upgrades is great, makes the game much more motivating.

dismedia says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:10pm

nice, good upgrade system. I like it.

Ken Ichi says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:46pm

great game =] love the upgrade system

Codexus says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:01pm

Fun little game, the cube-cat is back :D

Yann says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:04pm

Hehe interesting, works well, but two things:
1/ using kittens is very a very low move on your part ... I mean... seriously... kittens :D
2/ I couldn't find any ways to get better.. Always stuck to 40-42%, I checked various strategy in buying power ups but nothing
3/ sometimes cat spawn on mines.... you should have filtered such case in your randomness =)

But overall the game is working and well... kittens!

Yann says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:04pm

(yeah it turned out to be three things...)

lcass says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:06pm

jesus its a bit of a harsh name

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:41pm

How could you! :( HOWWWWWWWWW. Poor catsies. Silly game. XD

blackotus says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:05pm

Hahaha, that was pretty cool, sadly i couldn't save half of the kittens :C

ZYXer says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:23am

I let Hobbes drown. Now I feel bad... :(

Really fun and well-made game! Actually it's kind of too bad that there is a time limit. I would have loved to play it for a while longer and buy more upgrades.

Croze says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:58am

That was awesome!!! You literally nailed every category dead on!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:50am

It's astounding how much more invested I am in getting to a goal when the goal has a name and is a kitten.

Also that music is great.

The Evil Cult says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:11am

I am not very good at saving kittens :( Nice entry! Only issue I found is that one kitten spawned on a mine.

Zathalos says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:46am

Quick and fun gameplay. The upgrade shop was a nice touch. I think the graphics need to be a bit brighter and more vibrant but overall, it was a good game. Good job.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:08am

interesting.. suddenly i remember the game cobratriangle =)

jprogman says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:04am

The spawning could use some work. I often get kitties spawn inside the mines. I'm not sure if this has happened to me, but I hope I don't get kitties or mines to spawn right at my ship.

Very solid game though.

Capro says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:44am

Poor kittens! :(
Fun and fast little game. I like it. :)

gre says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:55am

Nice concept and nice game!

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:12pm

Neat.

Obscuremoon says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:15pm

This is fun, awesome game :)

vladimirdlc says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:39pm

Love the calm music, it was fun, cool touch the upgrade system.

orangepascal says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:55pm

Keys didn't seem to do anything on Mac :(

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:21pm

Very good game, of course it could be better with sounds effects but I found to upgrade system was very well done, so it's a solid entry !

berkano says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:02pm

Very original and funny - best game I've played so far :-) Nice work!

Per says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:19pm

Ha ha :)
Fun take on the theme. A little cruel though. Who put all those kittens there and pays for them? So many questions...

acro says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:50pm

hilarious eye-catching text on the main screen there :) And simply inspired use of kittens :) I didn't actually use the upgrade system - will probably try again, though. Would've been good to have some SFX for when kittens appear/drown, as I somehow didn't see them all and didn't know when one had drowned off camera that i'd never even seen. but all in all, good fun.

MegaMasterX says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:59pm

Took me a few times to get the hang of the rules. A great deal of features and snazzeh graphics are a nice technical bow for this game. Nice!

Atmospherium says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:17am

Definitely got an eye-catching title. I really like that you integrated upgrades into this, I just wish that the timer didn't stop before I had a chance to level everything up.

iiechapman says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:09am

This was a fun and silly little game, gotta save those kittens!

Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:43am

Hate kittens. Game is approchable, but quickly lost interest.

Darklotus says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:57am

Damn it 12 Kittens couldnt be save, feel bad for not doing better. Names were a nice touch.

timmahh says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:27pm

Kitty kitty kitty! The cat names really characterised them a bit more! Really cool game, I would have liked it more if when you saved a kitten you got more time and vice versa! Great work!

Arrow-x says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:02pm

one of the best games I played in the #LD48 so far ...well done

kristof says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:42pm

Cool game with lots of features! The music was a bit monotone after a while.

Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:04pm

Obviously cool beacause of the kittens :) Nice work !

DesignerNap says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:19am

very smooth feeling game. Nice work!

pereubu says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:50am

I like the plot :3

Literal Games says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:15pm

Pretty damn good game, though as others have said a money count would be great. I wasn't very good at saving kittens though.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:07pm

The second time i pressed the i can save more button it didnt restart the game. I saw a short flash and than the button again. For the rest a very nice game.

SnoringFrog says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:21pm

Very interesting idea. I had a weird bug with my boat always turning the first direction I pressed in the game for a while, but it randomly disappeared and started working as expected after a few seconds, then never happened again.

Apart from that, game was really fun, and I loved the audio.

Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:50am

Nicely done game. You should add some cat meow audio to help guide the users to the location of downing cats. I wish I could have saved all the cats :<

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:13am

interesting but it got kind of repetitive -- nice effort

Super Hamster says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:12am

Really cool game but the controls are very weird.

PAC says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:45am

Good work :]

hypp says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:48am

Very nice! Really like the gameplay and the music

DanteZack93 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:30pm

Great game :)

XaiZil says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:09pm

This was really great, fun, pretty. Loved that you could mute, upgrades and got attached to all the named kitties!

Neil says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:42pm

Nice entry! A lot of fun, the names are a nice touch!

PaulSB says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:55pm

Hehe, very fun entry. Loved the cat names, a much appreciated bit of character. Cute cats, pleasant music. Another good job :)

Kotstulle says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 11:27am

holy damn there are many kittens drowning these days :D addictive game! nothing more to say :D well done sir

Sascha says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 1:15pm

Impressive entry, with unlockables, graphics, UI and solid feel to the gameplay!

Zerot says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:54pm

Awesome game.

Sep 2, 2013 @ 10:41pm

Excellent game, loved the idea and it has been well created, even without the shop it's fun but adding the money makes it even more interesting, well done :D

nicotr014 says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 1:28am

Nice game. Good movement. I saved one kitten

klianc09 says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:33pm

The web player has a bug, every time I pick up a kitten the "Kittens drowned" counter goes one up. But when I save them the "Kittens saved" counter goes also up. So I can never have more than 50% saving rate although I saved all the kittens :(
Otherwise, nice kitten-saving simulator :D

GVmakesGames says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:36pm

This divided my votes between threes and fives. but more where fives. I liked it, and I'm keeping this in my hd. Nice idea :D

Sep 3, 2013 @ 5:13pm

Someone buy Icarus a copy of NGUI already. Dat default Unity GUI... /shudder

Sep 3, 2013 @ 8:55pm

LoL :D

I actually finally bought it a few days ago. Now I only need to invest time and get fluent

superfoonly says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 4:28am

Well done!

ghRibacki says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 2:44am

Very cool game! Upgrading system is always a pleasure to use and I liked the visuals a lot! Too bad some of my kittens had to drawn. =(

plop says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 11:06am

Loved the mood and audio. Fun concept :P

LTyrosine says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 7:33pm

Are too many cats hurt on the production? =D
Nice game, well done.

GrooveMan says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 8:39pm

This was really solid and enjoyable! Making the rescue targets kittens (named kittens!) is surprisingly effective.

MrBlade says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 4:04am

Nice work, very nice music okay graphics. Sad concept though. 8/10.

withoutpillow says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 10:54am

oh my, that music!

paulmcgg says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 12:57am

Just before the deadline,,, aaaaaaaaaaaaah.
(I like the cat names :3)

Nov 8, 2013 @ 8:10pm

I saw the title, then i was like, NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]