Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

Ludum Dare 27

August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Chronodrive - epaik - Jam Entry

You're a space pirate who's recently acquired a brand
spanking new Chronodrive!

Although this particular model only has a fuel capacity
of 10 seconds, it's more than powerful enough for you
to escape the space system you 'borrowed' it from.

Good luck!


Best played in Google Chrome
Made by kyle and eugene.

Disclaimer: This game is really hard. If you get
frustrated easily or don't like challenging games, this
may not be for you. If you do enjoy a challenge however...

New video retrospective:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-RdWoT1Btgc

View epaik's journal. | View all entries by epaik

Ratings

Coolness100%
#25Innovation(Jam)3.83
#100Overall(Jam)3.54
#103Fun(Jam)3.42
#156Audio(Jam)3.24
#157Mood(Jam)3.27
#317Theme(Jam)3.02
#322Humor(Jam)2.29
#382Graphics(Jam)2.92

Comments

SSJMetroid says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:53am

I am not good enough to play this game, I'm worse than casual scum.

pvwradtke says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:11am

Mand, and I was thinking I came up with a pretty good idea for a shumup. How wrong i was, this is definitely one of the most interesting shmups I've played in a long time. Quite difficult at first, but once you get the hang of it, man, it's really fun!

bushmango says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:04am

Wow I really liked that, neato! And I beat casual on my last life left...

Neo-Blue says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:08am

This is a really cool take on the theme. The controls were a bit awkward for me at first, but when you start getting used to them you can do some interesting stuff.

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:09am

This is fun, pretty interesting mechanics.

awesomesauce says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:12am

Awesome! By far the coolest game mechanics I've seen this LD.

eskivor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:47am

is there a loop for the music ?

Liz England says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:52am

"Disclaimer: This game is really hard." Yes, yes it is. I love the mechanics though - hard to find interesting new ideas in a shoot 'em up these days!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:55am

Wow, impressive stuff! I don't think I've played a shmup where you don't have a gun before. I like how the abilities complement each other: grabbing a bullet with Z and then using S to teleport forward and slam it into the boss was satisfying. Nice NES chiptune too (or at least it sounds like an NES). This is probably the best in terms of gameplay that I've played so far. BTW the music cut out for me when I got to the boss and it didn't come back when I started over from the beginning, but it's no big deal.

epaik says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:56am

thanks for the comments!
@eskivor: yes, the music is a loop we threw together in the last minutes.

BloodJohn says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:57am

pretty interesting mechanic.
nice music, graphics & control style.
thx 4 intro - we really need it 4 understand.

Anachron says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:57am

Oh yeah! Quit hitting yourselves. Why do you keep hitting yourselves? Great hook.

nicotuason says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:11am

My first thought was "this is going to be too complicated", but It turned out really fun! Each ability creates unique gameplay. The fun is in figuring out which ability to use for the current situation.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:25pm

Nice this is awesome! I love the idea. Took a little while to figure out the controls but I thought it was really fun!

Unept says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:13am

Pretty cool idea. I would have played it more but it kept lagging on my; could have been my browser or something. Well done!

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:34am

First shmup I've seen for LD and I loved it! Good job!

LegacyCrono says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:38am

I guess this is what happens when you mix Zero Wing, Braid and Dark Souls. This is AWESOME! I loved it, well done!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:54am

Spent a bunch of time playing this, I thought it was great! The 10 seconds theme really made the gameplay interesting on this, and I had a lot of fun :)

01010111 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:52pm

Really cool idea, well executed. I'd like to see something like this polished up really tight - great job!

kbm0 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:53pm

Very cool idea, brilliant in fact! But the game was very frustrating for me and I died way too often :( Great job, though!

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:54pm

Interesting gameplay mechanic. :)

VoidChronos says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:30pm

Nice experience, but too hard for me

Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:49am

Very original mechanics! Very cool!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:58am

Whew, finally beat it on casual. The game mechanics and level of challenge is just classic!

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:46am

Lots of interesting mechanics put together. Very solid gameplay, good stuff!

bitserum says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:22pm

I like the mechanics very much. Game is hard even at casual stage. Still fun to play with time.

gre says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:22pm

Nice job for this good game.
One feedback: I found the control a bit hard to use at the first time, I think you should consider introducing the different game mecanisms one by one when playing the game.

epaik says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:42pm

@gre:
Thanks! We actually did originally plan on introducing the game mechanics one by one. We had three bosses planned, and each one would introduce a new mechanic. Unfortunately, we had to cut down our scope in order to finish in time.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:40pm

good job

Impmaster says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:16am

I found that it was a leeetle bit too hard to learn the controls AND dodge at the same time.

Solifuge says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:05am

Incredibly crisp graphics and sounds, game mechanics I have never seen anything like, and incredibly challenging gameplay. Sell this thing on Steam. I'd pay a not insignificant amount of money to play this.

Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:20am

Solid puzzler! Love the smoothness of the menu. Music fits quite well too!

Sep 2, 2013 @ 2:03pm

Excellent mechanics for a shooter. It is indeed very hard, but the ideas inside are so great that I couldn't stop playing. Incredible! And I loved the retro style, too!

Misfit says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 2:18pm

Wow! This is very polished. Great audio!

RARoadkill says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:06pm

Lots of fun, loved the gameplay

hbocao says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 2:38am

Great entry! Nice take on the theme and I loved the music. Too bad I suck at shumups, because I was having plenty of fun.

Sep 5, 2013 @ 7:00pm

Nice entry, love the different ways you can control things and the audio. I featured it in my LD27 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DZbxb_2pbIE

Antidote says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 9:06pm

Recorded a video with my first impressions :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0JbQsnjNPF4

motty says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 2:53am

Brilliant. Just brilliant. A shmup without a gun. Superb. Really really good. Going to stop gushing now and go play it again.

Urfoex says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 8:33am

Nice one.

MrBlade says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 10:06pm

Nice work. Cool concept, solid take on the theme. Nice sounds. 8/10.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]