August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Maze of Torment

by shard123 - Jam Entry

Maze of Torment is a game about escaping Hell no matter what the devil throws at you. The bar at the top is your life and it ticks down slowly, reach the gates before that happens. Every ten seconds the devil covers his maze of tricks in darkness and after that darkness comes ten seconds of light. You can call back the light at your will but at the cost of life.

||Controls
Use the arrow keys to move
Space bar to call back the light

Tips:
-Learn from your mistakes and approach the level differently
-You can trick the enemies and trap them if you're quick
-Use your light calls wisely.
-Collect hourglasses to get more life.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#176Mood(Jam)3.23
#319Innovation(Jam)2.92
#319Theme(Jam)3.00
#356Humor(Jam)2.16
#380Audio(Jam)2.54
#405Fun(Jam)2.63
#405Overall(Jam)2.85
#550Graphics(Jam)2.27

Comments

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:42am

I enjoyed the game idea quite a bit. Good job.

RobotParking says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:17pm

I LOOK FORWARD TO THE SEQUEL, MAZE OF AMBIVALENCE.

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:11pm

Love the name of your game, was it a Morbid Angel reference perhaps?

Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:31pm

Wait, there were light calls? =) Enjoyed this game, something of a trial-and-error experience, but nicely atmospheric graphics add to the experience. With some more work I think you could have something here!

Croze says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:22am

That was actually pretty creepy, those bats scared the hell out of me. Very well done, though the sound was annoying lol.

BlackBulletIV says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:34pm

Didn't last too long, it's pretty difficult. But an interesting concept, and you did a good job in making the place relatively scary.

ZYXer says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:40pm

I like the idea of alternating between light and darkness, adding a memory aspect to a labyrinth game.

TobiasW says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:05pm

Interesting take on the maze genre!

Arrow-x says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:47pm

I like this game I don't know why

Diptoman says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:10pm

Those bats scared me the first time! I like the idea of turning of the lights in between. It adds to the experience of survival. Those big red demons were so hard to get by!

Overall, its a good start for a game. It needs more mechanics and features for it to be a complete one. :)

Spaceoff says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:28pm

Difficulty was rather all over the place. Good job nonetheless

reheated says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:02pm

This was legitimately scary, good work!

XaiZil says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:46pm

Controls feel a bit clunky but I really like the concept and a good use of the theme.

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:07pm

I like the sacrifice/reward feature..

pighead10 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:40pm

Gets frustrating after a while. Nice use of the theme.

BMacIntosh says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 3:29am

Great idea with the sacrificing health for light. Sounds were scary as...hell, the first few times. I'm not sure the time pickups actually worked, fortunately I didn't seem to need them.

Mironix says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 7:17pm

fun idea, altho the sounds killed my ears. graphics are not important here - it's hell god dammit!

Empyrealhell says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 7:39am

You did a great job building the atmosphere despite the graphics. The difficulty could definitely stand some tuning, but other than that not bad.

Livsk says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 4:49pm

Good idea, but the graphics might be better. Good luck.

Sep 9, 2013 @ 4:27am

This is a lot better than I expected! The sudden onset of darkness is genuinely terrifying, and the giant devils worked really well for the game.
Despite the bare-bone graphics, everything just felt right and it was very easy to like this game. Great work!!

galman says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 5:37pm

Nice game, it has a good potential, it's a bit too hard and sometimes buggy, better graphics will also make it cooler.. I really like the concept of the light (quite reminding of my game :) )

Erhune says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 5:37pm

This has a good ambiance, even though the collisions with the walls are a bit annoying sometimes :)

Sep 14, 2013 @ 1:53pm

The graphics could use more polish (at least a death animation would be appropriate). However, I like the audio. This isn't the first game I've seen in this LD with the "maze with a limited period of light" scenario, but it's still a good idea, and the gameplay is good: right amount of challenge, right length.

The big demons got an "oh shit!" reaction from me, which I'm sure was your intention.

Also, the Devil's dialogue was pretty funny.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]