August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Way of the Gun

by vrld - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Your brother needs to restore his honour. The only way is the way of the gun. Be his second and face the seconds* of ten foes. Talk to, bribe or manipulate them to ensure your brother will live another day.

The cross platform version needs love 0.8 to run. Get it at http://www.love2d.org

* seconds as in agents of the participants in a duel.

Apart from the bantering, pressing [space] and clicking the mouse is interchangeable.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness92%
#47Mood3.77
#57Humor3.69
#65Graphics4.01
#103Overall3.65
#105Innovation3.74
#127Audio3.38
#231Fun3.35
#520Theme3.22

Comments

leafo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:05am

This game is really great. I love the atmosphere. The dialog is great. My only complaint is that I got pretty far in but then got shot and the game forces you to start over. :(

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:23am

Ditto. I'm also a bit hazy on how the theme fits in.

josefnpat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:56am

As usual, your game is fantastic! I love the concept, and the game is filled with lots of fun tidbits!

Sometimes the names and they type of person they are overlaps with the "Stop Music" text.

http://i.imgur.com/Agrd1Ug.png

I reintroduce this fellow to his mother (who also happens to be a cheap whore), damage his gun, and he still manages to kill me! *Tsk*

vrld says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:47am

@losinggeneration: well, you have to banter with 10 seconds. it's a bit of stretch, but i didn't want to make a game about time ;)

@josefnpat: the game breaking bug is fixed now (i was told this is ok). the overlapping "stop music" button thing is annoying (that's what you get when adding this feature literally on the last minute, i guess), but it's possible to win the game without it, so no fix there.

lcarpentier says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:37am

I tried to play your game because it looks really good but my OS (Windows 7, 64bits) won't open it. "File version not compatible with the Windows version you are running" :(

xfxian says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:38am

Hey, I'm trying to start the windows version but get a "This app can't run on your PC" Error (Windows 8.1)

It seems that the executable is not a real exe but an archive?

Ciaran54 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:53pm

I tried to play your game because it looks really good but my OS (Windows 7, 64bits) won't open it. "File version not compatible with the Windows version you are running" :'(

BerdiNerdi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:54pm

I get the same error as "xfxian", on Windows 8 and getting a "This app can't run on your PC".

Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:08pm

Fantastic graphics and dialog! Nice to see some quality löve games out there! :)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:10pm

Fantastic graphics and dialog! Nice to see some quality löve games out there! :)


Also for the people who can't run it
Try downloading love2d here: https://love2d.org/
and then download the cross platform love file.

vrld says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:10pm

@ lcarpentier, @xfxian, @Ciaran54, @BerdiNerdi: Repacked the game for windows and tested with Windows 7 64 bit. Not sure what went wrong before.

Laguna says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:12pm

This one is definiely fun to play!

Lizzip says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:13pm

Very good game, concept, graphics and audio.

cafeine says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:18pm

Great atmosphere, good dialog, lots of interesting tidbits to find.

m1_10sz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:28pm

Very well designed! I liked the story too.

PackSciences says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:21pm

Innovative but not very fun.

Omar_q8 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:25pm

nice graphics and atmosphere, feels polished. i'm not sure where the theme fits in (10sec to shoot)? but i really like the interactions and the depth, maybe some of that depth can be applied on the game mechanics.

Amazing work though

Zelun says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:28pm

The game is not awesome, but it have a FEELING. I guess it is the atmosphere? The intro is so freaking awesome.

rfgpfeiffer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:28pm

user@host$ love --version

LOVE 0.8.0 (Rubber Piggy)

user@host$ love way-of-the-gun.love

terminate called after throwing an instance of 'love::Exception'

what(): Could not read file conf.lua.

segmentation fault (core dumped)

Zelun says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:28pm

The game is not awesome, but it have a FEELING. I guess it is the atmosphere? The intro is so freaking awesome.

vrld says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:43pm

@Omar_q8: I interpreted 'second' not as unit of time, but as the agent of participants in a duel. you face ten of them, hence: ten seconds ;)

@rfgpfeiffer: That... is very odd. I've never seen this error before. What OS (and Kernel version) are you running? Did you compile love yourself or did you use a binary release?

TobiasW says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:27pm

Wow, that's cool - and totally not what I expected. (Which is a good thing!) I'm not sure how to gauge which options are right (and often they are so fickle, like "manipulate" - you don't have the slighest idea what's gonna happen), but that didn't deter my fun. I only wish I didn't have to start over each time - it kind of makes sense, I guess, but despite wanting to see what happens later, I got tired of starting again.

The music, sounds and graphics together complement the gameplay really well and create an interesting mood. And I love the atmosphere while the duel happens.

Regarding the theme though, what do you mean by "banter with 10 seconds"? Is there a limit?

I really like your entry - you did an amazing job there. Rooting for you to be in a top list!

PS: More like a "Master of the way of the money" :D

TobiasW says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:34pm

And you just got your last star in the "Humor" category. The Xavier Xalbrain dialogue is priceless!

Oh god, and then Yeoman happened. And the credits.

kunzbe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:04pm

The talking part was really fun to play. There are quite some characters there ;) The one with the 'puffy face' etc :) fun

Puzzlem00n says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:07am

I admit, I didn't play it all the way through, but I liked most of what I saw. It was a bit PG-13, huh? The shootouts were cool, even though it would be nicer if the shoot button was the space bar or something. And the talking scenes were well implemented, I might have to check the source some time. Awesome intros and graphics as well. So, yeah, good.

Puzzlem00n says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:09am

Oh, and nice theme interpretation.

BlackBulletIV says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:08am

Wow, I'm impressed. All around a well-polished game, with a great concept and graphics. The slightly dark/desperate atmosphere is very nice too.

alts says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:51am

The duel at sunrise scene is just beautiful. Not at all what I was expecting from the name and title screen. I found the game a bit easy in that I could try pretty much every option, but I guess I'd rather have that than die and have to start over (beat it on second try after losing to second duelist).

Kragnir says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:07am

I liked the game overall. The duels took too much time, combined with having to restart when you make a mistake it turned into a real problem.

GreyShock says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:05pm

Good game! I miss some punishment (during conversations) or more complexity in the decision taking, but the mood and humor were great.

DesignerNap says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:42pm

Love the intro, good atmosphere and art style.

LPGhatguy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:20pm

Hah! This is the best interpretation of the theme that I've seen. The dialog was fun and deal with the 10 seconds was clever.

bassarisse says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:57am

Wow, didn't expect that, very good! I just think that it takes too much time to try again when you lose.

gritfish says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:11pm

I think this is the first game so far that didn't take "seconds" to mean time. Very clever take on the theme.

Vaalen says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:35pm

It's one of my favourite game ! Very cunning concept and good use of the theme. And there's a lot of tension during duels.

I noticed when the name of the offender is too long, it's hidden by the text "stop music" in up-right.

I tell it again but it's really a great game, with a lot of humor.

hbocao says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:02am

The art is awesome and you nailed the theme, man. It was very fun to play. I would love some way to save the progress. Maybe on a "easy" game mode where the current is the "hardcore"? Anyway, great entry!

Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:03am

The writing is so funny I am playing it over again just to hire all the prostitutes XD.
Great work!

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:51am

Nice game. At first I had no idea what I was doing and basically spent all my money on everything. But it had this tense feeling to it so I was compelled to try again. Manipulating people and bribing them was fun to do. Great entry :)

rpmoura says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:05pm

One of the best entries I played for sure!

Gloamglozer says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:45pm

Very well done, love how you incorporated the theme and some of the dialogue was brilliant.

Teejay5 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:48am

10 SECONDSs wow i get it. Clever!

Zephyr89 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:41am

Does no one check their before going out to a duel?

poohshoes says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:04pm

Both windows and cross platform versions crash after the vrld screen :(

Aceria says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 9:05am

The concept was unfortunately lost on me. It seems interesting enough though!

Pierrec says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 11:07am

Woah! This is typically the kind of games I like! the duel scenes were a bit repetitive (and thus a bit boring) in the end but I love the managering before that. it reminded me a previous LD entry from deconstructeam : Ages of Irving.

Diptoman says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 1:13pm

Wow, great concept! Found the duels repetitive, though. And yeah, clever implementation of the theme, even though it's not too adamant . The dueling bit could've really used some more mechanics. Other than those, a great entry!

drkrunk says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:21pm

Crashed after the splash screen:
OS: Window 7 64 Bit

Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: way-of-the-gun.exe
Application Version: 0.8.0.0
Application Timestamp: 4f78fd8d
Fault Module Name: atioglxx.dll
Fault Module Version: 6.14.10.9655
Fault Module Timestamp: 4b86fe74
Exception Code: c0000094
Exception Offset: 0065625f
OS Version: 6.1.7600.2.0.0.256.1
Locale ID: 1033
Additional Information 1: 0a9e
Additional Information 2: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789
Additional Information 3: 0a9e
Additional Information 4: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789

Capro says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:11pm

Great original game. I like it a lot!

Hayawi says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:36am

great game, but I don't get how theme ties into it

Bouyer says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 3:42am

Extremely well done and intelligent.

RawBits says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 6:33pm

Oh, cool game and seems to be a unique idea. I don't really get how speaking or bribing counts though.

motty says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 1:06am

Spectacular.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]