August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Vampire The Buffet Slayer!

by danhett - Jam Entry

Vladimir was so pleased to be invited to Brian and Barbara's wedding, but what if his insatiable thirst for human blood cast a shadow over the happy occasion?

There's only one solution - fill himself up from the buffet to keep those unholy hunger pangs at bay.

CAN YOU HELP YOURSELF TO TEN SECONDS...IN TEN SECONDS?

How to play: use the arrow keys to guide Vlad to a second helping, bring it back to his table and hammer the space bar to eat! You only have ten seconds per serving, so hurry!

Art and concept: Dan Whitehead and Dillion Whitehead.
Code: Dan Hett (@danhett)

Created at the Manchester Game Jam (@MCRGameJam)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#16Humor(Jam)4.06
#22Fun(Jam)3.81
#27Theme(Jam)3.86
#67Overall(Jam)3.72
#80Audio(Jam)3.57
#86Mood(Jam)3.55
#149Innovation(Jam)3.31
#177Graphics(Jam)3.69

Comments

Bjeaurn says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 9:28pm

Hahahaha I finished in 69 seconds. Great fun, good job!

Seismo says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 10:28pm

Whew thats hard. i couldn't find the retry button. it's a fun idea though. it has charme :) i like it.

gigitrix says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:44am

Very stylishly done (and I love the name)

MunkeeBacon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:19pm

This game is awesome! I love the whole idea, Although I'd really like a retry button:P

But overall great job!:D

danhett says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:41pm

Hi all, thanks for the kind words! Really happy with it.

We updated it so it's a bit less crashy, and we added a reset button too.

Enjoy! :)

mutuware says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:46pm

Best game name so far!

DanWhitehead says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:12am

Thanks for playing - I'm really pleased people are enjoying our fine spread of pun-based vampire social anxiety.

This was me and my son's first game jam - huge thanks to Dan for doing the hard coding work - and it's been a blast.

Thermite says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:27pm

Awesome stuff, and great music! Got to agree with mutuware, this game has the best name :)

Jellycakes says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:18am

Really nicely done. The music was really funny when matched with the concept. Maybe add so you have to carry people to the table and eat them instead. Also was a bit hard with the same kids stealing MAH FOOD. Nice job anyway.

Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:31pm

Perfect entry!
So much fun, great level of difficulty, and fabulous pixelart!
5/5 without a questions)

manuq says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:48pm

Very fun! The retry screen could be faster, maybe just pressing space? Great job!

blackotus says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 2:54pm

I love the premise! It's very funny and charming :)
Very nice work on the sound design, too!

Good job! Very nice entry!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 8:03pm

that was great -- good job

Sep 5, 2013 @ 9:25pm

Nice work!

Dioiminik says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 11:58am

Wow this game is really awesome and fun to play! :D

Infin8 says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 12:27pm

91 seconds! Great and fun.

smrt_co says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 12:47pm

Haha, nice one! :D

motty says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 2:03pm

Great stuff. Brilliant title. Fun to play. Really hard though.

murilo says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 2:30pm

Nice concept! I thought it was kind of hard or maybe it was my PC running the game slowly but the time wasn't slowed down to match it. The art and sound was pretty cool! Nice job!

Sep 7, 2013 @ 2:56pm

Really fun to play, which is the most important part :D Nice graphics and sound too. Fun idea ;)

porglezomp says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 3:05pm

Haha! Great title!

Almax27 says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 3:57pm

Haha, couldn't stop laughing at Buffet Slayer.

Such a cool game. Had some style! Gratz to you both. :)

hissssssssss says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 4:20pm

It ran a little slowly on my computer, but it was a well-executed game, and funny too.

SusanTheCat says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 5:45pm

This game is adorable!

DanWhitehead says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 6:44pm

57 seconds is my current record - has anyone beaten that yet?

Sep 7, 2013 @ 7:58pm

liked the graphics

yagiz says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 8:34pm

I also had some random lag sometimes. Did you do the sounds?

Antidote says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 8:55pm

Cute game :) pretty tough but it was fun

psychomonster says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 11:52pm

hahaha cool!1! loled a lot ;) This one made me smile ^^

danhett says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 11:53pm

Yagiz - sounds were all courtesy of freesound.org

Sestren says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 6:33pm

Great title and the sound and music were both well-done. Nicely done.

Misfit says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 4:39am

Nice game. Maybe little bit too easy but fun!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]