August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Off Balance

by pragmascript - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hey :)

-> Place the objects on the green platform.
-> No object may touch the ground.
-> Use your left mouse button to drag objects.
-> Hold <b>SHIFT</b> whilst dragging to lift objects from or (lower them to) the ground.
-> Use your mouse wheel to zoom
-> Use your left mouse button on the ground to rotate the camera

Have fun :D

ps.
the post compo edition contains additional levels and
you can use the right mouse button to rotate the camera
(so you can rotate the camera while dragging)
use the other version for rating

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#148Innovation3.63
#409Overall3.20
#471Graphics3.03
#609Fun2.86
#686Theme3.03
#932Humor1.50
#957Mood2.14
#973Audio1.27

Comments

Omar_q8 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:32am

Controls are a little frustrating, nice idea though

Octopuns says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:19am

Really nice concept. Controls are frustrating but I'm not sure how you could overcome that.

Nice job.

nathanhoffer says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:24am

I concur. Nice concept. Frustrating controls.

Marcellus says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:22pm

Very nice idea, controls are a bit hard to master but it's part of the game I suppose.

dom2d says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:28pm

Camera controls a bit rough, pretty smooth otherwise!

Tipyx says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:29pm

Very nice concept ;)

Vasileiadis says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:26pm

Nice concept I like the physics in it!! Controls were not bad. Problem was when You tried to lift and move forward / backwards cause the axes overlap ;)

Off the top of my head, you could try the following:

Say your green platform is at (0, 0, 0). The camera should be fixed at (10, 10, 10) - any number could do just make sure it's the same on all 3 axes - and looking towards your platform.

Now all 3 axes are in a way so that none of them overlap, and motions can be interpreted one way only ;)

Vertical would determine Up/Down, one diagonal would be Front/Back and the other diagonal would be Left/Right.

You work the math out (basic vector calculus / analytical geometry) and you've solved your controls problem ;)

dcolgan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:02pm

Excellent interpretation of the theme. Your game kept me occupied until the end! Nicely done for 48 hours. You should make more levels and put this on Kongregate.

Jellycakes says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:54am

Was a nice play, really frustrating when the 2 floating boxes gave way by the fictional physics that bound them. A fun mechanic anyway good job.

porglezomp says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:02pm

Nice, simple game. Would have liked if you had disabled compression on the lightmap, but it might've been worth it for download times.

ZYXer says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:20pm

Awesome concept. Really tricky but also really captivating. It would be nice if one could move the camera while holding an object. But apart from that I find it a really great game.

pragmascript says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:13pm

thanks for all comments and suggestions :)

@Vasileiadis I tried using a fixed camera, that caused other problems (e.g. objects being hidden behind other objects, so you can't select them anymore)

@ZYXer: I will change camera look to right mouse button in the post-compo version so you can rotate the camera while holding an object.

LegacyCrono says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:35pm

The controls are a bit concern here, which makes the experience pretty frustrating. Despise that it's a nice concept, well done.

skywing says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:41pm

When that ball gets rolling, it can be pretty intense. Fun game. It almost gets like 3d tetris later on.

Zap says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:09am

For me, the controls were fine, rather what I found frustrating was the light weight of the objects, causing them to be very sensitive to input.
I really like the concept of this game

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:18am

Cool concept! But controls are terrible, so can't enjoy the game =(

Danvil says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:13pm

Very nice game! I like the puzzeling and some levels are really tricke.

hbocao says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 2:49am

Awesome take on the theme. I think it's the more original I've seen so far. The controls are kinda hard, but I don't think that there is something better to do. But it was very fun to play. Congrats!

Mesene says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 4:37pm

I think controls where very acurate :] Goodjob! I spend a lot of time playing it, was nice.

cwkx says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 11:52am

I love the simple polished graphics and progression :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]