August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Pistols at Dawn

by aherbez - Jam Entry

How to play:
1) Click to start game
2) Click to start round
3) in each round, wait until the "FIRE!" signal is given, then swipe with the mouse to fire. The direction and length of the swipe will set the angle and force of the bullet.

More info:
I wanted to avoid doing anything time-based, as that seemed a bit obvious. Instead, I took "seconds" to mean the people that sometimes accompany combatants to a duel. In my game, the player takes on the role of a person summoned to duel (pistols at dawn, of course). This particular duel allows each party to bring up to five seconds along, leading to... 10 seconds on the field.

The seconds themselves don't directly participate in the duel, but they can catch bullets, making it harder for the combatants to hit each other.

Gameplay consists of rounds where both the player and AI opponent fire a single shot. To fire a shot, the player must swipe with the mouse (web) or finger (tablet), which sets both the angle and force with which the bullet is fired. Firing before the signal is given is poor form, and will not count. Any seconds that are hit are killed. This continues until either the player or the opponent is hit.

I wrote the game in HaXe, which means that it can go to multiple platforms easily. I find it a lot more satisfying to play on my ipad, as the swipe-to-shoot mechanic is much better on a touch screen, but I've also created a SWF version for ease of sharing.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#196Innovation(Jam)3.20
#379Graphics(Jam)2.93
#1806Coolness17%

Comments

awppy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:23pm

Controls for shooting felt a little finicky - oftentimes if I moved my mouse out of the canvas after clicking it just wouldn't shoot, but I eventually got the hang of it. Round 1 headshots are very satisfying! Nice entry, and clever take/wordplay on the theme

aherbez says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:09pm

thanks, awppy!

Mase says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:24pm

I notice I can re-shoot if I've missed and the bullet is still on-screen.
Nice comically ridiculous physics in this.

bukt says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:53pm

Seconds, but not time (or angle) :) Great idea and nice graphic. But it's a very difficult to do `mouseup` action in the stage borders. Maybe it will be better to call the same handler for the `stage.mouseUp` event and `stage.mouseLeave`?

OkayHughes says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:35am

I love the interpretation, but yes, shooting is a bit odd. Finicky and a little inconsistent. Overall a very nice entry. Very clever.

zillix says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:02am

I love the take on the theme and the olde timey presentation. great job!

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:13pm

weird controls, but I like the Terry Gilliam style.

noddy2006 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 1:29am

Hilarious! Mouse controls are a bit weird, but totally fits the style of humour.

danhett says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 11:25am

Haha, this is hilariously awesome :D

Sep 15, 2013 @ 3:42pm

I liked the controls it added something fresh to the pistol duel. good jam

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]