August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Doomed for Eternity

by Knighty - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You must fight through a series of battle, while your approaching death looms above your head.
Each battle has a different strategy to win. You must have both brains and quick fingers to claim victory.

Although the time limit might seem impossible at first, don't give up and you will surely win. You have an eternity to reach the solution.


There is no randomness. So the goal is to figure out the enemies pattern, develop a strategy around that, and then execute it before before the timer kills you. You'll likely need to retry the battle several times to figure it out.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#242Graphics3.47
#602Audio2.46
#620Theme3.11
#643Overall2.98
#690Humor2.02
#748Mood2.48
#756Innovation2.71
#879Fun2.52
#1196Coolness47%

Comments

MegaMasterX says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:43am

I really like the menu boop and click sounds. The graphics and animations are nice, and the movement is smooth. That blob loves to 1-hit KO me sometimes...

iyzsong says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:56am

Just too HARD >.<

misson20000 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:33am

I have no idea how to play this

mirzasan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:00am

I love the graphic but I don't see the 10 second theme
nice and smooth movement but lack of music

Martze says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:08am

The game looks really slick! Nice work.

Adam says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:00am

Maybe convey somewhere on the game page that you have 10 seconds to win it.

Spelchan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:05am

Interesting concept but way, way, way too difficult.

MrBlade says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:37am

Good job! Very nice take on a classic style. I am glad you added at least some sound, haha. Keep it up.

REIN1 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:02am

It's hard~

GFM says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:12am

This reminded me of Half Minute Hero.
Great game. :)

Btw, I was only able to complete the first 3 levels. xD

orangepascal says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:44am

very nice graphics, bit on the hard side tho :)

doonay21 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:26am

Wow so hard.. Maybe not an innovation, but i like the idea and mixing it with time limit. Nice work!

neekobus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:41am

Good : Smooth animation and UI.
Bad : difficult and repetitive.

Darklotus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:48am

I thought this was pretty inventive use of theme, Only managed 3 to beat 3 of the levels though, quite tricky.

Derbdale says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:47am

Once you realize what you need to do, the game gets much simpler but it's still pretty difficult, I like it :)

maxking1234 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:22am

Nice graphics! But quite hard :)

Dwel says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:17pm

I like the graphics and the existing sounds, though some music would have helped. I found the gameplay rather hard since the time limit doesn't really allow you to think much, so it's just a trial and error approach, over and over again.

Acrimiens says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:33pm

I love rpg style!

L says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:41pm

This game is actually pretty clever! Even though this so-called "Normal" speed manages to make it as irritating as possible.

I like how battle 5 becomes really easy once you figure out the "trick". If only the rest of them had quite that level of design smoothness.

I found a design problem in #3: in order to win, you must select 'Guard' in the menu, then get hit by Desperation _before_ your character get the chance to use Guard. This seems at odds with the idea that Guard is a spell that only activates when it becomes your turn.

tiooonnn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:31pm

DIG IT.

tiooonnn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:32pm

wish there were more attack animations. if this becomes a full RPG, i'd def play it!

Mnemusyne says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:51pm

Very hard but well polished for a 48h game.

Delca says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:01pm

This one is hard ; I got past the two first battle, but I cannot beat the final attack of the guard. But navigating through menu is not something I am used to do quickly, so I played this one die-and-retry style :-)

FanFan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:51pm

It's HARD! I can only beat the first enemy. Sprites remind me of old RPG, which is good.

flarb says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:16pm

Love the graphics! But needs a clock!

Erkberg says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:15pm

Love the graphics, but the timelimit is brutal.

Fireblend says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:33pm

Charming visuals, nice concept, and brutally hard. Gosh do I suck at this one :P great job!

anmorales says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:36pm

Nice graphics, but hard, great work!

psychomonster says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:49pm

I failed at the first battle :D Nice art style but... way to hard for me ;)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:44am

I failed so bad, but it reminded me of Pokemon, accept with a person :P I included it in my compilation video of LD27 games, if you wanna check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rhxp6zWGaGM

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:42pm

Hahah so hard!! I couldn't get past level two with the element shifting X_X. I like the rpg mechanics and the timer over you definitely makes it tense! Good stuff.

rzfmzn says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:36pm

Liked the SFX :P

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:44pm

RPG done in 2 days is good work.

blackotus says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:32pm

I like the premise.
The characters look really good!

It's very hard, though.

Keep up the good work!

foumart says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 10:10pm

The game could be perfect but without the time limit. I'm interested in trying this with a schreduled commands like: Punch | Punch | Punch | Heal | Punch | .. eventually Victory :) just can't make the harder battles with all the selections in 10 sec.

emveyh says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 7:03pm

That was hard man :) Great game, I think this would work well on a mobile device

lekochen says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 3:01pm

This is super hard. Awesome.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]