August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Seconds Warning

by pvwradtke - 48 Hour Compo Entry

While on your regular patrol, aliens appear! All your weapons are ineffective, and you can rely only on your skills to escape the enemy fire. Luckily, their weapons only last 10 seconds and you can give the aliens a taste of their own medicine if you're fast enough.

Controls:

- Start the game: press space ot any button on your gamepad.
- Moving your ship: use the analog stick of your first control pad. If you don't have one, use the cursor keys or WASD.
- Quitting game: press ESC to quit the current game, or press it at the main menu to leave the game. As if you'd ever want to that, right?
- Skipping splash and credits: press any key or game pad button.

- Windows instructions: unzip the file (don't run from within the zip) and run the 10secondswarning.exe file.

- Linux/Mac OS X: download the source and build with make. Requires SFML2.X.

Enjoy!

2013/08/26 - Bugfix: the debug mode was associated to the D key, which was also used on the WASD controller. Sorry about that, and thanks for those who pointed this out to me! :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#41Fun3.81
#158Audio3.28
#170Overall3.52
#255Humor2.83
#458Innovation3.10
#489Mood2.81
#827Graphics2.44
#1070Theme2.42

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:42am

Really great gameplay. Got my heart pumping trying to dodge all the missiles! The giant eyeballs creeped my wife out. :P

Ciaran54 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:20am

Really fun! But my screen wasn't redrawing properly, like at the end of the old windowsXP solitaire, where everything just smudges everywhere...

ethankennerly says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:23am

When a missile accidentally hit an eyeball, I realized I could destroy the eyes! Brilliant! If you continue to develop this, have you considered (or is there already) a later enemy and bullet that behave a little different than the eyeball and the missile?

GrimGary says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:51am

Haha! Creepy missile-shooting disembodied eyeballs vs Space/Jet Fighter! Loved it! Had an issue where the ship, eyes and missiles would turn purple at random. Otherwise, just a very fun, fast furious game =)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:16am

Oh my eye balls!

otresnjak says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:26am

Fun!

Boodog says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:32am

Reaaaaally fun game

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:31pm

Pretty cool game, gets very intense after a while.

It has a drawing bug on my computer, I tried to get a screenshot but it didn't render correctly. I use Win8 64 bits.

Foxtacy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:05pm

Really cool survival game pv! :)

You used PUNK-O-MATIC to generate the song! THIS WAS A GREAT IDEA!

Controls are improved!, and well, let's just say everything works nicely!

You nailed it sir!

Lianne Booton says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:57am

Really cool game! Had to look further down to see if anyone mentioned the music... I honestly thought it was some old AFI for a moment ;)

epaik says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:18am

Nice job!

Unfortunately I had a graphics glitch where the background wouldnt get cleared. Still, it was fun.

pvwradtke says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:23am

Thanks for the comments, looking forward to make some post-compo improvements over the next weekends. Thanks everyone for the suggestions! As for the comments:

@Ciaran54: this is a bug with SFML 2.0 and some video cards on Windows. I'll try to update the library to see if it improves.

@ethankennerly: that's a cool idea, will definitely consider it if I improve further the game mechanic :).

@GrimGary: My bad, I fixed this and updated the files. I used D for visual debug mode, and forgot that it was already associated to the WASD controller.

@Diogo Muller: was that the pink circles (debug mode, fixed today) or the smudges (dirt animation)? It the later, I'll recompile the library or get a newer version for my g++ to see if it improves.

@Lianne Booton: LOL, it was fun to do this music with Punk-O-Matic, and it's pretty easy as well. Try it out for some fun, and the band animation is funny :).

JellyMan64 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:10am

I loved this game, it had nice music whilst you doge all the projectiles that the enemas are shooting at you. Just about everything I liked good job

ghostonline says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:50am

Wow, intense! I definitely like the thrill of luring the missiles into the aliens and dodging the incoming ones. Props for the gamepad support, makes the game even more enjoyable :)

Endurion says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:55am

Very nice! Good idea and flawless implementation.

That could be made into a full game, with different enemies and bullets :)


Crashed on exit.

AdamHarte says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:01am

Nice! Would be better if it had better keyboard controls and maybe some inertia.

yetatore says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:07am

You are my idol men! Not just you make a really bizarre and fun game... Not only you make a game in C++ in a Jam. YOU DID THE MUSIC IN PUNK-O-MATIC?!?? Awesome men, awesome.
You are worthy of my Programmer Fun Art of your game:
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/08/27/10-seconds-warning-2/

Nezzhil says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:38am

It's really funny dodge the missiles at the same time that you need them to kill the enemies!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:37am

I really loved the fact that we had to kill the eyes with the people following us, as well as that amazing, awesome, perfect music. Brilliant. I included this game in my video compilation of LD27 games, if you wanna check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jQmE1DEkQd4

Vile Smile says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:26pm

I had the redraw problem, too. But it was a lot of fun dodging the missiles and the joystick support was superb. Nice work!

Atmospherium says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:02pm

This was awesome. I enjoy the whole feel of it (the music added a lot), and the whole concept of using the enemies' missiles against them.

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:06pm

@pvwradtke Both, actually. The smudges where a lot more constant. I'll try downloading again to see if I can get a screenshot.

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:16pm

Pink circles bug was solved, the redraw bug persists. Here's a screenshot:

http://i172.photobucket.com/albums/w2/tiuneo/drawing-error.png

TeamBob says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:09pm

Good work!! love this game!

Dracae says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:58pm

Really awesome game! :D
The theme was kinda present...

Anyways, awesome game! :D

Kragnir says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:15am

Interesting idea, gets repetitive quickly.

pvwradtke says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:44am

@Diogo: that happened only with the player's ship, not with the eyes or missiles? Weird, not only wasn't that supposed to happen, it'd make sense (like a buffer clean problem) if everything was leaving smudges on the screen, not only the player. Which video card, driver version and OS are you using? 32 or 64bits?

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:50am

The missiles also leaves smudges on the screen, that screenshot was hastly taken at the start of the game, and I had to do a workaround for it to work, ALT+PrintScreen results in a blank screen. The eyes, strangely, leave only a one/two pixel wide trail.

I use Windows 8 64 bits, my video card is a Radeon 5770, using the most recent drivers for it. If it helps, I'm using a dual monitor setup.

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:43pm

Btw, played this on my notebook, also ATI and using a controller, worked flawlessly.

The controller REALLY does a big difference, the ship's movement with it is very smooth.

Stryphe says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:29am

Really fun game, great job!

Linusson says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:24pm

Really great game, even though I had to play with keyboard. Also, good up tempo music that fit nicely into the game. :D

I got 16700 with the keyboard, I'm satisfied with that. :)

I would love if you could add a mouse control mode, where it drives towards the mouse pointer (like the hockey player in Wayne Gretzky hockey on the Amiga). It would be much easier than using the keyboard, I think. :)

Well done! :)

Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:34pm

Is that punk-o-matic? Real cool!

Very fun game, I enjoy the irony of killing eyeballs with their own projectiles. But then my cockiness gets me, as I run into a projectile from another eyeball, that I wasn't tracking.

I love minimalist games, when done right like this one, they allow you to get seriously in the role!

Very nice job, and keyboard worked best for me, but if I'd played it on my C64 in the old days, I would kick its ass using a joystick. Thanks for making this!

Antidote says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 1:24am

The controllers are working quite well ^^ I enjoyed killing the monsters using their own weapons.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]