August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Test Subject No. 14756

by stephan_h - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a very short game about a test subject (you) having to solve 10 second tests.
If you know Portal, the style could be familiar to you. Although this little game lacks the portals and of course the quality level.
This was developed with Unity3D and the web player version works good. (The Windows version works too but misses startlogo and exit menu/button.)
The source link contains the whole Unity project. (Unity 4.2, free Edition)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#205Graphics3.55
#225Humor2.95
#298Mood3.08
#332Overall3.29
#362Audio2.89
#440Theme3.29
#476Fun3.00
#1067Innovation2.15
#1281Coolness45%

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:12am

Solid puzzler!

Didn't like the lengthy intro though. It was itnerfering with the "game"-part :P

Harrowing says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:03am

Love it, very fun! :) I'd love to see the whole unity project... part of the reason I ADORE Ludum Dare is because I play all these lovely games and then I can lift their skirt and see how they work.

stephan_h says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:12am

Thank you very much for your comments.
Updated the source link with the complete Unity project.

hughsk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:48pm

Just a heads up: the fonts aren't working on my Mac. Worked it out none the less :)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:42pm

Wow, really nice history and gameplay. Good job!

Ghostik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:02pm

Nice concept. My game is similar to yours. I have little "test chambers" too! Good work!

juaxix says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:01pm

No problem, I'm an eternal ...thing :D
I enjoyed it a lot!!, thanks.
(portal like)

Mase says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:02pm

The robots looked great.

kayupla says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:22pm

portal power^^.nice work .

Mythalore says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:55pm

An interesting take on the theme, a little to portal-like for me and I found the intro was a bit long. Good art style, though.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:57pm

Ehh copying other games is not such a great idea... but at least it's playable... mostly.... The cursor isn't locked, and there's no way to change to the mouse sensitivity... and that bugs me a lot -_- But you do have a good graphic style.

rylgh says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:05pm

Nice, very polished. I found I could jump up walls though (which was actually pretty fun, cheating on the tests)

stephan_h says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:34am

Thank you all very much for your comments. This feedback is really helpful.
As to the resemblance to Portal I just want to add: That was no intention in the beginning. My goals were: Learning physics and first person in Unity. And to get something working at the end: Keep it small. So just a bunch of levels with time limits. Then I needed some kind of story, but how to tell in this environment... So the announcer was born. And from there it kind of dragged in that direction.
I don't like copying either and see this resemblance as the greatest flaw in my own creation. Will push for more originality next time when I am more confident.
Anyways. Thank you all very much. This was a great weakend.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:41pm

I'll be surprised not to see this in the top 100. I found the story very intriguing and lost my self in a convincing world for awhile. unfortunately I got stuck on the 'falling' level, one more second on the clock or one less platform would make a big difference here. great work stephan!

jglrxavpok says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:19am

Very good game! I really like the Portal-like humor. Great work! "There will be cake."

Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:59pm

Cool! Very similar for portal, and it is wonderful! Thanks!

SnoringFrog says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 1:55am

Very nice. But I have a question, does breaking into their little room count as bothering the workers? http://s23.postimg.org/kpld02k3v/test_Subject14756_Screen.png XD (walljumping)

I also didn't initially realize wall jumping/climbing wasn't the proper way to beat the last level. Regardless, great little game. I liked the Portal vibe to it.

Sep 6, 2013 @ 3:02pm

Just... wow. This is excellently polished, with great visuals and audio. Can't believe this was made in 48 hours. The dark comedy is very much to my taste, and the writing is perfect. Also, this is the first first-person game I've played so far in this LD.

My only problem is that the mouse controls are very sensitive, making it easy to swivel too far and end up confused as to which way you're going. Also, there isn't a whole lot to the gameplay. The tests are often challenging because of the time limit (it took me a dozen tries to beat the "downward spirality" one), but nothing that really requires thinking or tactics.

That's a minor nitpick among many good bits, though. This is both one of the most professional-looking and funniest entries I've played. Kudos!

Sep 8, 2013 @ 10:25pm

Cool game, reminded me a lot of Portal, but with fewer portals. But with the humor and puzzles, etc.

the jumping as a bit tough to control, but I eventually got the hang of it.

Nicely done, sir.

stephan_h says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 7:46am

@SnoringFrog: That does of course count as bothering the workers. As punishment, you will be disintegrated the next time you see any robots. Take care. :)
@Christina Nordlander: Yes, it's a bit light on the gameplay side. Thank you very much for your feedback.
@all: Wonderful constructive feedback that you are giving me here. Positive and negative things. Thank you very much.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]