August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

BLAM BLAM PLANET

by ratking - Jam Entry

[edit]
Added a new post-compo version which fixes some minor annoyances and adds a multiplayer mode.
[/edit]


This game is about being on a planet and shooting its inhabitants. Unfortunately, your weapon system is defective, and thus it switches your current weapon mode every 10 seconds. Also, there are devices placed all over this little asteroid which have to be activated - by standing near them for 10 seconds (BECAUSE THEY SPAWN HEALTH AND AMMO PACKS - VERY IMPORTANT).

Oh, and every 10 seconds there might spawn some aliens. Just so you're warned.

Made by Friedrich Hanisch aka ratking (Code) and Jana Reinhardt aka ratqueen/RottenHedgehog (Graphics and Sound) in 3 days.

Music by Matthew "SynthR" Le Blanc, name of song is "Launch Detected".

Used font is "Silkscreen".

Controls:
WASD and Arrow Keys = Move
Space = Jump
Left Mouse Button = Shoot
ESC/F1 = Quit To Main Menu

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#50Fun(Jam)3.62
#58Overall(Jam)3.75
#92Graphics(Jam)4.07
#96Mood(Jam)3.49
#125Innovation(Jam)3.39
#159Audio(Jam)3.23
#176Humor(Jam)2.86
#270Theme(Jam)3.13

Comments

LegacyCrono says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:10am

Amazingly fun! The weapon and enemy variety is great. The art was fantastic as well. It gets hard pretty fast though, once enemies start popping everywhere. Great job!

Anachron says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:34am

Fast-paced brightly-colored action with destructible terrain is good.

netguy204 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:37am

Very entertaining and very impressive technical work in the time constraints! And, the assets and sound and feel is quite cohesive! Way to make the team thing happen so effectively.

papercaves says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:44am

This is lovely, great atmosphere and fun concept, gives me Unreal/Timesplitters vibes! Also LOVE the SFx :)

Fireblend says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:00am

Pretty fun! It was pretty difficult to use many of the guns, but there were a couple I had fun with. Great job!

nihilocrat says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:30am

holycrap, this is so awesome. Weird (and pretty) graphics. Weird sound effects. Cool use of the theme. Cool weapon design. I really can't find anything wrong!

PIXEL^3 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:36am

Pretty fun. Great replay value, great diversity of guns, it was a little hard at first but by the third or fourth play I had it down.

Final Score: 118828, Fought for 1:38

-AlucardX60

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:17am

Nice work!

Love the 3d-shapes and the orbital movement. The In-World progress-bar is great :)

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:23am

The timer is a broken - it said that I played for 0:02, but I played definitely longer.. The game is a lot of fun :D I especially like the weapons, the textures of the planet and the background music.

mrspeaker says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:43am

Woah, that is awesome! I feel like I'd like some more feedback when I was "near" and item so I could better tell how far away I could move while blasting things. SFX rocks too - matched perfectly!

ratking says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:55am

@Rick Hoppmann, good find ... good thing small typo bugfixes are still allowed. This will be the last one. ;)

@all: Thanks for the kind words! I hope I can test your games soon, too!

Steve says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:39am

Way awesome graphic style. Sounds are bizarre and gives it an otherworldly feel (along with the graphics). Movement might feel a little spongy? But it's not bad. I think I might've liked a wider angle of view.

All in all, unsual and very cool! 4/5

Vic says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:27am

Very interesting visual style and weapon design. Somehow with the convex planet/concave ceiling I thought that maybe it would be cool if you could grapple to the ceiling/enemies spawn there? I dunno, popped into my mind :).

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:50pm

Really nice entry. Such a slick visual style!

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:10pm

Whoa that was trippy. Nice fastpaced psychedelic fps action here! :) The sounds were a nice touch.

zkenshin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:34pm

Fun game, great visual style.

Capro says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:45pm

Awesome.

MinionStudios says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:54pm

SO rad! and so weird and warped and perfect! Great one!

Typedeaf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:58pm

Really nice game! I liked it a lot! ^^

Dir3kt says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:18pm

Sweet. I really liked the feel of this game. Good job!

Sithdown says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:26pm

Hahaha I like the sounds, the alien characters and all those different weapons! Very good :D

gre says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:36pm

Very good graphics and well polished game, good job!
Don't know if it's normal but it seems that sometimes I can't shoot anymore.

ratking says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:48pm

@gre: That's not a bug, you just run out of ammo! I realized now that this situation really is missing some feedback, it should have a sound or so. Ah well, I'll add that in a post-compo version.

Bekokstover says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:08pm

Some very nice stylish graphics and funny sound effects. Is that you guys making the sounds? :D Hard to understand what's going on sometimes because the beacons stop reacting, and why the weapons are changing. The weapons themselves are great though! It's a fun world to walk around in, and I love that it's round.

Almax27 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:29pm

Very nice style, but very hard to target without a crosshair :p

Amber says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:08am

Lots of fun! Love the sound effects and the weirdness of hitting myself with the black holer.

nicotuason says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:59am

Surprisingly fun! The aliens have great animations and the controls felt really smooth compared to most unity games.

bombjack says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:58am

very fun! I love the gfx and the sounds!

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:01pm

Will post video review when ready.

panurge says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:23pm

This was a lot of fun. Loved the weapons (black hole gun especially) and the variety kept things fresh and interesting. Excellent all round. Great work!

NachoDA says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:55pm

Awesome art style. Love the weapons and the enemies. Even the sound it's good. Impresive.

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:30pm

Video review: http://www.twitch.tv/n0_named_guy/c/2833461

Codexus says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:55pm

Very cool graphic style, it's all very alien so maybe a bit too confusing.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:11pm

Looked cool, nice sounds...
I tried playing and reloading a couple of times, but for some reason, the enemies never spawned. Never saw a single one of them... So sad! :(

ratking says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:31pm

@Martin_Monosys, you have to wait 10 seconds near one of the floating devices. Then enemies will start to spawn.

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:14pm

Very interesting sound effects! Nice job!

Jyrkface says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:27pm

I really love the aesthetic of this game! The lo-fi 3d look is pulled off excellently, and matches well with the music and sound effects as well!

Beavl says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:29pm

Great art style! Sound was nice, too. Congrats on a nicely polished entry!

Orni says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:22pm

I love the non-horizontal leveldesign and graphical style - amazing

very solid entry, well done :)

kibertoad says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:06pm

great variety and overall sense of madness. took me a while to figure out how to get ammo, you should probably put that into description.
black hole gun is awesomely cool!

ntide says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:45pm

I love it! Sound effects are funny. :D

Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:19am

Audio was amusing. Really liked the colorful art style of the enemies and weapon. Would like to have seen the planet and skybox match. Pretty fun to play. I really want to play a straight shooter in this visual style.

TomCooper3D says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:19am

i love the art style

KeithE. says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:26am

Cool game, loved all the weapon variety.

Split82 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:44am

Interesting art and nice overall execution.

Magdev says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:20am

I love the graphics and the planetary gravity and the guns. This is ridonkulous.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:41am

This games graphics were pretty awesome and I loved the weapons!! I featured it in my video compilation of Ludum Dare 27 games, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/J-5j5_FYNQI

Oxygamer says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:44am

Ha ha :) This game is really innovative. And the style is fresh. Only problem is unconvinient controller. My raitng is 4+ .

zillix says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:39am

so that was completely awesome. love it.

Ariake81 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:04am

great work :)

ratking says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:08am

@Oxygamer: Can you elaborate? What is inconvenient?

Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:25pm

Oh yes, so much fun!
Super bonus points for the graphics!

fgielow says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:06pm

many enemies here! I was like 'woa, did not see a damn thing till now' -- then they started appearing and pwning me, as I has shootet all my ammo on .. nothing lol

liked the fast pace, nice entry!

blackotus says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:04pm

That was one of the best entries ive seen so far, congratulations! i only felt the need of a map

Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:06pm

Wow, nice! I like the graphic style, I like the music, I like the sound effects, i like the idea of round, planets. It starts off easy, and suddenly: Enemies and Explosions everywhere. It's quite fun to play it :)

dook says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:09pm

This is just great. Feels like the most complete game yet. Everything works. I especially liked the terrain deformation stuff :)

MisterDerek2 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:16pm

Very cool; deserves some proper sfx! Would have liked to have seen the theme represented further. But still, very enjoyable!

PTSnoop says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:29pm

Well, that was... topologically interesting. And I'm amazed you guys managed to get so much done in just 72 hours! Nice one!

Pierrec says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:22pm

I can't help it : I'm not able to play any game involving shooting on things quick. I suck at it. But anyway, I loved the graphics, the swaping guns and everything. Just not my type of game

skywing says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:25pm

Very cool, the graphics are great and the game is fun. I'm in between liking the sound effects and wondering if they fit the look of the game, but its great overall.

M.O.U says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:41pm

Nice art and gameplay! Congrats!

cafeine says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:43am

Very good, love the art style and the sound effects! We need more games with black hole guns.

porglezomp says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:40pm

Beautiful game! I love the black-holer, and orbiting the planet with the recoiler.

nddrylliog says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:50pm

This comment/rating is a little experiment, after I ranted on Twitter how non-anonymous comments make honest feedback/criticsm very hard, because the writer has to fear "revenge" in the form of a bad rating in return. Of course, in an ideal LD world no one would have to fear revenge, but we don't live in an ideal world. ;-)

So, yeah, @ratking dared me to write an honest review now, and just to be extra-clear, here's the disclaimer:

THE AUTHOR HAS GIVEN ME EXPRESS PERMISSION TO BE HARSH.

My turn!

So, I'm going to try to be as accurate as possible here. First, I have to admit that I was very confused at first as to what to do. I appreciated the quick tutorial part (Pick this up to have health, this is weapons), but then - what about the devices? The text made it clear how they were activated but I didn't understand why I was supposed to do that. I mean what's the point :(

Alrigh, next - big ground enemies, easy to hit, enjoyable. Air enemies, really hard to hit, mostly a bitch. Funny thing was, the enemies couldn't hit me either :D if I just kept jumping I was okay.

There seems to be balance issues with the game. Quickly I found myself surrounded with enemies with no ammo at all even though I roamed the map I couldn't find any to pick up. So, there might be a need of some sort of "director" AI thingy like there is in Left 4 Dead 2, to make sure the experience is not too easy nor too hard.

For example, there was no upper limit on the number of enemies. I continued my strategy of jumping all the time, hoping to find some ammo eventually, but I never found any, and I died sometimes when the game started to lag :(

On the plus side! The graphics were interesting. In a good way. Nice choice of colors (obviously a skill I lack), maybe the weapon icons could have been more obvious though.

Overall, I was frustrated by the controls (walking too slow / getting stuck on nonobstacles) - but, to compensate, the jump was overly powerful so, I don't know. I felt very limited by the ammo. Again, Left 4 Dead 2 is a game that limits your ammo, but there is no shortage - you always know where to find more. So having "infinite replenishment stations" makes more sense - you're still risking something because you have to move somewhere to get more ammo, but you don't risk a complete shortage.

I wish I had more insight to this game. If it was speedier, more ammo, and a better "flow of release" of enemies (if you know what I mean), then I guess it could be very much enjoyable. Also think of a coop multiplayer mode!

ratking says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:09pm

@nddrylliog: Thanks! Funny enough, the devices you have to activate ARE the "infinite replenishment stations". ;-) But yeah, that needs more explaining. I'm already at working on a multiplayer mode, though I'm not sure if it will work.

Mironix says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:22pm

Everything i can say - splendid game :)

timtipgames says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:52pm

I really like the art style. Just too fast and too much for me to anticipate within the first tries.

recursor says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:53pm

This starts out tame but gets hard pretty fast. I really like the black hole gun. There was something very "attractive" about it. Nice work.

TijmenTio says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:30pm

Wtffff that was AWESOME! Did you voice record the sound effects?

Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:53pm

I love that shit) I put in my pants when the time has gone! I feel like a little prince)

Pickens Inc. says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:56pm

Super fun :D Love the weapons :)

zatyka says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:48pm

FPS are definitely one of the hardest types of games to make in Ludum Dare, and you did a very nice job. I played this for quite a while. The sound effects were over the top, but in a good way, and the graphics were interesting. I also loved that it wasn't a flat level.

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:20pm

There are 2 things that I didn't like in this game (and basically everything else is just awesome). Being close to the devices at the begining is easy but when you have hordes of aliens trying to kill you it becomes almost impossible to stay in the same place for 10 seconds, 10 was definitely too much and without precious ammo we're doomed. 2nd, the damned alien birds are really hard to shoot, the only solution is to run away.

paulmcgg says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:34pm

Really interested in the terrain changing stuff. I would love to just move through this gorgeous world without enemies, combat was messy! Very well made.

Jedi says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 1:27am

80,386 after 5:19 of survival :D

In my mind, you guys always set the bar for Unity games made during jams, and you did not disappoint.

I like how each weapon is so different that they actually have a bit of a learning curve. Like, I hated the recoiler until I figured out I could recoiler-jump backwards around the world in a hurry :D

The visual style is awesome! The sounds and music aren't really memorable but they do fit the game perfectly.

I like how you incorporated ten seconds into the game more than once and how that really impacted the game's core mechanics.

I think the thing this game is most lacking is a difficulty selector. I find the game addictive and fun but I can see how players with less patience wouldn't reach that point without an easier setting.

I also didn't like how easy it was for powerups to go bouncing into space; they're hard enough to get without running away from me!

My biggest complaint is that this game hurts my eyes and I can't play it for more than about ten minutes. I think it's because the FOV is SO HEAVILY skewed - but it could also have something to do with the bright colors. Whatever the cause, physical discomfort prevented me from playing your game as much as I would have liked :(

Overall, awesome, 5*'s!!

Antidote says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 2:59am

So confused D: I think it could use better instructions, pointing out what to do and what is the Ammo (Was quite confused thinking I couldn't shoot when in reality I just needed to find ammo)

SnoringFrog says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:19am

Ran out of ammo for a bit and barely managed to survive. Just as I was making a comeback, the tab crashed and I had to restart my browser.

Figures.

But regardless, I loved the game. A lot of fun, and I"m looking forward to giving it another go (not sure if the issue was purely my comp, or the game bugging out with Mac, or a Kongregate issue or what)

Sep 8, 2013 @ 7:45pm

Excellent entry! fun! and looks wonderful. Didn't care for the sounds though. Everything else lends itself very well on the screen and is self evident! yay!

Larzan says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 4:29pm

Like the small planet idea, good grafix too :)

Sascha says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 2:42pm

Great entry! Loved the graphic style, the intestinous feel to the world and the interesting weapon types.

ghRibacki says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 10:59pm

I really like the visuals of the game! Textures and overall art style is pretty amazing! I also liked a lot the different weapons, especially the black holer. =D
It's kind of hard to aim, though. Bullets have unpredictable trajectory, physics make it hard to hit enemies.

Good game! =)

Metatheos says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 1:03pm

I really liked the visual style and the deformable mini-planet to run around. I had trouble figuring out whether there was any victory condition, I tried to activate 'all' the beacons and had to kill the game because it got too slow. Still, awesome presentation, and nicely designed mechanics.

TobiasW says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 12:25am

Thanks a lot for the kind comment over at Lost in the Darkness! You really meant it when you said that you played every game from my list, haha - I thought you only meant the top games. Pleasent surprise for me! And yeah, even *I* got goosebumps from the game over screen. Glad you enjoyed the game!

Your game is super-shiny. I love the visual presentation, especially the colors and the enemy designs! The sounds and the music fit pretty well too.

I'm not sure if it's because I'm not a shooter player at all (probably the reason!), but the game was super hard for me. Maybe it was a biiiit because of the weapons too though. I mean, they are fun, but they aren't exactly easy to use, are they? Especially against flying enemies! Some of them are still pretty fun though: I like the glitcher, and the black hole gun is just downright evil.

So yeah, I didn't get far, but it still was a pleasing and fun experience!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]