August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

laGrengine

by fdevant - 48 Hour Compo Entry

laGrengine a game where the AI is physics and the simulation is inaccurate (that's actually the main Idea of the game and "completely" "intentional").
Fight against the computational universe of bad physics!

10 seconds because you explode every ten seconds
Death is good because when you explode, you create more mass, getting better chances to survive and get a better score... also your explosion can destroy near threats.
You must leave it behind because the game has a lot of inertia in the controls and some times is best to just let go and let gravity take you where you may.

Programmed in processing.org IDE so sadly you are gonna need java to run it... also It has only been tested in osx and windows.
Sound effects done in cfxr
I made the horrible font on this a couple of months ago using fontstruct... it can be found on dafont... it's name is Draconian pixels minimal and it is a first try at doing a font with the least possible pixels, so I apologise in advance for hurting your eyes.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#377Innovation3.21
#428Overall3.18
#512Graphics2.95
#522Mood2.77
#539Humor2.25
#617Fun2.85
#629Audio2.41
#646Theme3.08

Comments

djbriandamage says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:25pm

Fun game - reminds me of Osmos. Quite beautiful graphics with a very cool physics engine. Well done!

tigers says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:43pm

Cool that you made the font, bit shame that I had a hard time reading it! I love the way you framed your failings with the game as the premise of it, so much more better and satisfying than giving up! You rock man! :D

SusanTheCat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:25pm

I found the font hard to read. It took a bit, but I finally got the hang of flying around.

otresnjak says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:30pm

Wonderfully original idea, but kind of hard to control!

TehLulzinator says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:38pm

Actually managed to beat it! Pretty hard to actually hit things, but it was fun to play around for a bit. It has been said a lot, but the font wasn't very pleasant to read. Luckily it doesn't matter for the actual game ^^

Wait what... you did multiple themes? :o

blay09 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:00pm

I couldn't figure out what to do first, until I realized I have to collect those things and not dodge them. From there it was easy as all balls were already floating towards me.

Tork says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:49pm

Good idea, love the way it starts growing, would have liked to start a bit more bigger and the text to be legible.

cbear_wallis says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:52pm

it ran but the screen was blank except for sound and the framerate. I'm on win7. i really wanted to play this ;-; <3

olafurw says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:10am

Very very tricky to control and hit the smaller objects. But after a few hits it became easier. As someone said here, it reminds me of Osmos as well, but a quicker version of it.

Skully says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:14am

I'm just getting a black screen that shows the framerate :(

Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:31am

I like the art style a lot, including the totally unreadable font. It really fits the hardcore, minimalist gameplay. :)

fdevant says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:17am

Thank you all for your comments and feedback :) Very appreciated!
I'll try to make the font more readable and indeed it looks a bit too much like osmos; I had the Idea, sounded very original and after a while I started feeling like it had too much in common with things like osmos, katamari damacy and snake :P A bit of a Jamais Vu, but it was too late to change my idea then.
cbear, mushroomsound... you guys are on what operative system? is it 32 or 64? Looks like I need do do some more checking on the ports :S (I'm working on OSX and just have bootcamp for checking... I guess processing.org is just not really fit for this kind of thing)

Gremlin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:46pm

Tricky, though I eventually won. Huge positive feedback loop. Very sensitive to initial conditions.

Dioiminik says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:02pm

Good game, reminds me of Osmos

Thermite says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:33am

Nice concept, controls are a bit fidgety!

kbm0 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:51pm

Controls are a bit screwed but I like the idea. Good job!

iiechapman says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:53am

Very tough to control, but I love how the physics end up moving around in a mesmerizing way

berkano says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:43pm

Really neat concept, and love the pixely graphics. Quite challenging too. Reminded me a little bit of Eliss.

Latcarf says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 12:07am

It doesn't work on Linux 64 bits, it's looking for the file lib/gluegen-rt-natives-linux-amd64.jar whereas you only bundled lib/gluegen-rt-natives-linux-i586.jar.

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 12:55am

Brilliant concept

fdevant says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 7:40am

Again, thanks for the feedback :). I've been thinking about the controls... I must say I like them the way they are, but if most people hates them I must pay attention... maybe if it was controlled using the mouse it would make things different. Must check that out but I don't wanna lose the feeling of the forces pulling you and you having to be careful fighting them. Also, just added a linux 64 version which hopefully works.

Sep 5, 2013 @ 10:34pm

The font was hard to read, and it was a little hard to control, but great idea :D

ChrisGaudino says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 10:48pm

Well done. Really enjoyed this one.

naufr4g0 says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 10:30pm

I like the concept and minimal graphics! Everything hinges on how you play in the early stages in this game.
Bug: Final score continue to change each 10 sec after you win.

fdevant says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 7:40pm

lol, just noticed that this http://www.lexaloffle.com/bbs/?tid=1381 entry from the previous ld, was a lot like this.

GFM says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 2:31am

Nice game.

It wasn't as uncontrollable as I thought it would be... it the controls were great, actually. (with lots of inertial, but, hey, you warned about that)

Oxygamer says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 11:20pm

Earth will be destroyed

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]