August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

B.O.O.B.S Saves the Day

by ananasblau - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Welcome to the alternative reality where a secret organization of hackers,
scientists, and utopists have invented a teleporter and decided to build a
operational base on the moon, waiting for their time to change the world.

A text adventure using Dedalus (though I did shortly look into Twine) and features over ten scenes.

I created quite a lot of games over the years, but this is the first text game. And focusing on the story was a pleasant change to the usual chores.

The theme "10 seconds" is referenced within a few clicks. You'll smile :)

Also, before you say "not a game", it is, you can even screw up and lose it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#295Humor2.74
#544Mood2.74
#664Graphics2.71
#694Innovation2.78
#797Audio2.04
#800Overall2.81
#921Fun2.46
#1129Coolness49%
#1150Theme1.95

Comments

DeadlyFugu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:08am

Interesting concept :P

Kaldrick says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:02am

Well, it wasn't really a game, more like a book - because you had really no way to influence the outcome. But the writing, minus few grammatical errors, was good.

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:27am

Looks real good, I mean REAL good. Design also matters even if it's a Twine game..

RobotParking says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:06pm

Holy crap. This was very cool.

ObscenelyTrue says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:04pm

Definitively innovative style!

chrisamaphone says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:59pm

nice entry. i like the drawings and website design.

i also like the idea of a transgender protagonist having amnesia - but just a note, the term "sex change" to refer to a single/sudden life event is a bit inaccurate/confusing. not all trans people decide to make physical changes to their sex characteristics, and often those that do only take hormones, which make gradual changes over several years. those that additionally opt to have genital surgery don't typically refer to it as a "sex change", since the hormonal changes have already changed their sexual characteristics quite a bit.

devi ever says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:27am

Ha ha! Is this game about me rescuing Chelsea Manning? Holy fuck I am honored!

withoutpillow says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:44pm

really nice design!

Just Tom says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:03pm

This was a really cool and thought provoking game and I look forward to the final product. The writing and mood is excellent, plus it helped me find the boob jam which is a wonderful, wonderful thing.

Very unique submission, what criticism I can offer is mostly materialistic things like audio, which was wonderful where it was present. Little things like the musical beeps of monitors and equipment or just the teleport sound effect. More of these would only help the atmosphere. The same with graphic doodles.

I genuinely hope to see more of this, the excellent writing makes this game.

Xatulu says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:00am

Cool design and nice approach!

panurge says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:43am

Nice topical writing with a cool premise and a smart visual design. I'm not familiar with Dedalus - I'll have to look into it. Thanks for a fun read!

GrooveMan says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:51pm

I'm not familiar with Dedalus, but it seems to be a pretty interesting alternative to Twine. I liked the concept, but the way the story was told was rather scattered. Like, whoah, why am I suddenly kidnapping Chelsea Manning (and why would I remember that I need to do so?)

I do understand that it's difficult to do longform writing when it's not your first language, but never feel too proud to find a proofreader, even when it's a short time-limit like this.

Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:58pm

Are we not supposed to make the sound on our own in those 48 hours and not use http://www.freesound.org/ or stuff like that in the compo! :)

ananasblau says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:28pm

@Martin_Monosys The rules say samples are fine. Actually I had to do quite some editing, and mixed two samples for that sounds in the Hall. Also google helps: https://www.google.com/search?client=safari&rls=en&q=%22freesound%22+site%3Aludumdare.com+&oq=%22freesound%22+site%3Aludumdare.com

Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:27am

Hmmm, I looked again, the rules say : "Photos and recordings you make of people or things are acceptable content, just you must acquire them during the competition. Fonts, drum loops, drum samples, and sampled instruments are allowed IF you have the legal right to use them."
Now I think drum samples and sampled instruments are not the same as samples in general. And when you google this stuff, you'll find lots of jam entries. In the jam, all this stuff is allowed, just not in the compo....
The thing is, I would like to find out who is right here, because if you can use any samples in the compo, that would make life easier for me, too. So no hard feelings, I just want to find out how to understand these rules!!! :)

justi says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 4:25pm

Interesting scenario :)

Sep 13, 2013 @ 8:40pm

Good story, even if it felt a bit truncated, and the writing is pretty good. I really like what you've done with Twine here (even the typeface is nice), and the use of graphics and audio is really cool. The little puzzle with the lock is clever.

The bit about the Roswell saucer made me laugh. Nice way of showing that this is an alternate universe.

My main problem is that I felt like I was thrown into the "rescue Manning" plot too abruptly. It's possible that I missed clicking on some link that would have made it feel smoother, but that's still a bit of a problem. Also, I felt lost most of the time, but that's how a person who'd just been teleported to a moonbase would feel, so I won't hold that against you.

In short, a nice (if occasionally slightly pulpy) science fiction story, and a great piece of Twine work, but a bit confusing.

Sep 13, 2013 @ 8:41pm

Ack, I just read the text and realised that this *isn't* Twine. Disregard my comments about the aforesaid engine.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]