August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

You will die.

by HighQuality - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Guide your character through 16 incredibly hard levels using your mouse, do you accept the challenge?

This game is made using C# and Visual Studio 2010.

Requires:
* .NET Framework 4: http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=17851
* Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 Redistributable Package: http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=5555
* A relatively high mouse sensitivity, if yours is too low, adjust it in your OS's settings.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1845Coolness14%

Comments

Aug 25, 2013 @ 10:29pm

I really like it! Having the character being controlled by the mouse is a really cool idea.

stepvhen says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:54pm

Great use of the mouse. It offers just enough control that the player doesn't feel cheated when he dies a lot. Also, props for making the death animation/reset time so short; makes the game much more fun and easier to keep playing.

Diventurer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:31pm

Nice game! I honestly skipped 3 levels, but damn - they were hard!

GFM says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:34pm

Nice game. :)
And really hard. >_<

Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:12pm

Nice innovation with the control. The difficulty increase between level 3 and 4 is too damn high! :P

Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:01am

Very nice control! Most mouse controlled characters like this don't control nearly as well. Just that achievement alone is excellent, plus the game is really fun! Well done!!

Btw the slope/wind mechanic was really freaking hard D:

BlackBulletIV says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:32pm

Wow, couldn't get past level 4. I like the concept of mouse control though. The minimalistic graphics are nice too.

I'd say the death sound is too loud in comparison to the music. It was pretty jarring whenever it played.

skywing says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:33pm

The dead zone for the mouse controls is pretty big, but overall its a pretty neat game. Controls are better than just having it directly follow your cursor.

ezolotko says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:32pm

Good one

SasoriDama says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:09pm

The webpage isn't available!

Darkfrost says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 2:20pm

Nice game, would've been really nice to have an option ingame to adjust the mouse sensitivity though :(

Brejlounek says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 2:27pm

Very interesting mouse control, I can cheat a little bit, I have two DPI modes on mouse. Lot of time went into lvl7, gave up on lvl8, cool :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]