August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Inspector Hector

by wademcgillis - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Sorry!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#166Humor3.13
#391Graphics3.17
#432Fun3.07
#676Overall2.95
#686Theme3.03
#726Mood2.50
#969Audio1.29
#971Innovation2.36
#1773Coolness20%

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:40am

Love the Spanish Gag. At least I think it's a Spanish gag.

And look, McPixel! :P

h_double says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:50am

LOVE the art style. Unfortunately I couldn't figure out how to get past "Soft Kitty". Even though I'm not a huge VVVVVV fan I really like this.

eskivor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:08am

It would be more fun with sounds and a nice music. ;)
For sounds, for exemple you can use this :
http://www.superflashbros.net/as3sfxr/

Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:51am

Great artstyle. Confused why you used mechanics of VVVVVV, but I guess you did it in a tasteful, tongue-in-cheek way sort of way.

everblind says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:44am

haha, what police office name is that!

moonmagic says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:19am

Delightful, particularly the last clue. Inspector well-drawn in all forms.

If you're having trouble getting past SOFT KITTY try using your 10 SECONDS.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:58am

Wow! Didn't expect from title that this game is a real gem! Thank you for this!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:43am

At first, looking at that little not so well drawn title, I thought this was going to be a crappy, put together in 2 hours, sort of game. But no, its amazingly done and well polished. I love the VVVVV style to it and the amazing colors. Its great. I even included this game in my video compilation of LD27 games, if you wanna check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jQmE1DEkQd4

Ninquo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:14pm

I really liked the ending :D

JellyMan64 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:54pm

Could of been better but good job.

Snail_Man says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:34pm

Nice game! I liked the VVVVVV-esque part :D

Cryunreal says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:51pm

Da s umorkom)))

esayitch says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:55pm

Very well executed... can't give you much for innovation since it's VVVVVV + a timer, but everything else was pretty spot on... le funny too ^^

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:59pm

Great LD game! I love that I can explore the other houses without fear of missing a goal. You may want to upload a picture or two of gameplay here to make sure people see what the game actually looks like!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:04pm

So fun it hurts. McPixel!!!

LegacyCrono says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:06pm

Oh wow, what a misleading title screen. The art style was sweet! Nice job, dude. Wish it had a theme song like Turtle + Wombat :P

Static 64 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:19pm

I like the way it switches art styles, but still holds together.

Aurel300 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:31pm

I like this game, the idea ... But somehow, ... I can only find three clues in VVVVVV? Two on Up and Down, one on Must be Allergic. ... Sadly, because the game seems very nice :/

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:31am

Graphics are nice.

goyal says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:51am

haha, nice. the police guy is funny.

Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:12pm

Seems familiar.

wademcgillis says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:28pm

@Jack Thank you for your input.

tigerj says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:14am

I had a blast with this. Can't wait to see more from you in the future.

xhunterko says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 2:39am

The soft kitty room was really cheap. Not fun ending. :/ The only surprise I had was at the start room But that was it.

bitowl says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 2:39pm

omg. everything came so unexpected :D
so much fun, although the VVVVVV-style-controls feel a bit wired.

fferro234 says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 3:49am

Great art style. I really liked the detective part in the town. Although the VVVVVVVVVVV game world was fine, the town was much more interesting and wish there was more to that. I hope you finish the story!

danhett says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 6:15pm

Haaaahahaha amazing! Dude your images on this page didn't do the game justice, it looks so good! Bonus points for asking Terry not to sue you. Great work!

ChrisGaudino says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 9:01pm

Really liked the art style, especially compared to what I was expecting after seeing your screenshot.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]