August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Grig Saves Time

by feyleaf - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This game is a platformer where you play as a grig: a pixie cricket thing. Discover time in a world that has no concept of what 10 seconds is like. Battle clockwork creatures and return home.
Controls:
[Arrows] Move
[Space] Jump
[C] Attack with Magic
[Esc] Skip intro scene
[R] Restart the level

Enjoy the game!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#506Audio2.63
#512Graphics2.95
#528Mood2.76
#915Overall2.67
#944Fun2.43
#987Theme2.60
#1067Innovation2.15
#1528Coolness33%

Comments

Daisuke909 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:47am

The game is a little buggy, but I love your art style, and the music is pretty good.

djbriandamage says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:57am

Cute little platformer with a rather nice intro. Good art and a better-developed story than I expected. I really love your interpretation of the theme - haven't seen anyone increment up to 10 seconds yet! Great job!

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:57am

I liked the use of the theme and the controls are a little slippery, but other than that its a solid game. Well Done.

dalbinblue says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:00am

The first few levels were okay, but by the third or fourth with seven enemies rushing into an a four block section it became incredibly difficult to get an attack before you die. It took me a good 30 tried or so to get that level cleared.

oajfh says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:05am

Finished, polished and playable. I particularly like the intro and ending. I think this is the first game I've played where the ten seconds aren't used as countdoxn, so that's a change. Collisions felt a bit unusual at times, but that's probably just me.

Actually, when I think about it, the game setting and story are a bit weird. That's cool !

Sanguine says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:34am

Nice story, I enjoyed that a lot and it definitely added to the mood. The player movement could be improved though.

Kragnir says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:58pm

Sometimes enemies get stuck making the level impossible.

kbm0 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:50pm

Cute idea, I had fun with the game! Good job! :)

Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:56pm

Fun game and I like the history :)

Sink says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:21am

Graphics were very pleasant and charming. The story was a bit confusing but a fun game despite that!

d__adee says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:12am

The controls and the response... kinda wild! :P
Have to get the hang off it.

Otherwise pretty nice short game
:D

dook says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:30pm

This was really hard. Perhaps the controls are a bit off? The music and graphics were nice, though :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]