August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Time Lord

by zconnelly13 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#386Graphics3.18
#548Theme3.19
#602Mood2.67
#666Fun2.79
#676Overall2.95
#885Humor1.67
#996Innovation2.29

Comments

disdanes says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:00pm

Very easy to pick and play, and the powerups give you good immediate goals. Overall I enjoyed it :)

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:13am

Lovely backdrop :)

udo says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:50pm

Overall I liked the premise of Time Lord very well, nice platformer idea with the time powerups. However the Lord keeps getting stuck around the edges of the platforms which is very distracting. With a little more polishing, this could be very nice. I especially liked the dark and moody background.

BadgerPriest says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:37am

The background art is fantastic. I can't seem to get past Level 4, unfortunately.

gre says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:42pm

I found the collision detection a bit buggy, but game is fine, maybe sometime really tight in 10 sec (in World 4 you can't afford any wrong move or you miss time).

atav32 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:37am

Couldn't open www.jazzberrygames.com from China =(

Pacaco says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 11:10am

The graphics are simply beautiful, but the game itself isn't very well done. Keep at it.

mrspeaker says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 1:04pm

Nice ideas - just needed some animation on the player to add some character the whole thing.

zconnelly13 says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:15pm

Wow, I really appreciate all the feedback!

I am glad that people seemed to like the art for the game.
I'm also glad that people found the game challenging.

Since people seemed to like the background image here it is on imgur http://i.imgur.com/cFhGA14.jpg

It's too bad that the collision detection wasn't quite there. I really should have had the engine done beforehand and then created the game within the 48 hours, but I built everything including the level editor and the physics engine in the timeframe. Next time I will have that all polished and ready and I'll be more able to focus on game design.

I'm a little disappointed that I used a lot of time trying to fix up small things that didn't really matter, I should have focused more on gameplay. Also if I had the engine working beforehand I could have added more art / sound effects / music and probably had an all around better game.

mrspeaker says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 4:10pm

Hey - thanks for testing my entry - just thought I'd let you know that if you got stuck at the beginning, then you didn't actually get to even START my game (my fault for making it too hard... but you need to die a few times for the story to make sense ;). If you felt like trying again then the secret is that there is a door way half way along on the right - this is where the game starts ;) Thanks anyway!

jomomomo says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 4:17pm

Nice backdrop!

Serishmus says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 4:21pm

I like the game but world 8 was essentially impossible. I mean, I gave up after about the 15th try.

Sep 3, 2013 @ 4:25pm

Interesting game, very nice art... could do with some sound or music, though! :)

kratorspore says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 4:38pm

Nice job! Some inventive powerups.

reheated says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 4:48pm

A fun platformer with well designed levels. For me, levels 8 and 10 were really challenging.

vikingpotato says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 5:16pm

Simple and satisfying! i liked the visuals, they make the stand out.. Biggest area of work here i would say, would be the collisions, specially when the character sticks to the walls

Misfit says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 6:10pm

Nice and simple gameplay. Good Job!

Sep 3, 2013 @ 7:07pm

Very nice graphics. Simple gameplay but great, the jump is a bit frustrating though. The levels are great, good progression, nice last level.

doonay21 says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 7:14pm

Game is working on Opera Next as well.

loxo says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 7:50pm

Nice and simple game concept. I found it quite challenging, partly due to the problems with the collision detection.

johnfn says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 2:51am

Dang... it's pretty enjoyable and I really like the up/down powerup, but I can't get past level 8 for the life of me. I'm usually about a second too slow. There must be some trick I'm missing!

westonrh says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 5:41pm

Really enjoyed playing the game and the graphics are great. Barely managed to get through all the levels but I finally did it. Can't wait to see any additions to the game.

smotko says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 7:55pm

I'm probably missing something, but I can't seem to get to passed level 1. I run out of time no matter how much I jump/move forward (I even tried going backwards)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]