August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Second Roguelike

by BadgerPriest - 48 Hour Compo Entry

"Darkness has descended on Atalaria. A mighty Time Dragon has taken residence in the dungeon beneath the city and has warped the fabric of spacetime, causing the city's inhabitants to age at an accelerated rate.

You have been chosen to venture into the dungeon and face the dragon there. You will surely fail, but perhaps one of your descendants will succeed."

Who says that roguelikes all have to be slow-paced and strategic? For this entry, I've decided to mess with genre conventions with a roguelike that only gives each character 10 seconds of life. But fear not! Every time you die, you can get back where you left off with a new random character, a la Rogue Legacy. Can you fight your way to the bottom of the dungeon and defeat the dragon?

I recommend using Chrome for the smoothest possible experience, but any modern browser should work.

Just for fun, I also made a Game Jam version of this game, which adds an infinite mode (with progressively higher difficulty) and lets you continue playing after completing the story, as well as featuring randomly generated character art (created by Jimmy Hack aka Humphihzly). Ignore the Game Jam version for rating purposes, but check it out if you're interested.

Tools used: Google Chrome, Sublime Text 2, BFXR, LMMS, Pinta

Libraries used: ROT.js, Underscore, jQuery, Faker.js

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#166Mood3.35
#174Overall3.51
#184Audio3.23
#219Fun3.37
#226Theme3.52
#389Humor2.57
#439Innovation3.13
#589Graphics2.82

Comments

HeroesGrave says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:45am

One of the best games I've rated so far.

anserran says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:49am

Cool style for the dungeon representation. Kind of addictive. I got stuck in the 3rd level, though...

Brassawiking says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:51am

Love the music! It made the pace really nice and arcade-y. Extremly well executed. I saw a bug though, where your vision suddenly disappeared. Anyhow, well done and good work!

FakeHair says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:52am

Didn't know you could just hold the arrow keys to move. I think I got carpal tunnel from mashing the keys. Really cool game! Reminds me of Rogue Legacy with the descendant system. I just wish that Damage varied a little bit more, and that there were items for you to get to boost base stats.

coreym1988 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:55am

Great music! Though it got annoying hearing "Ten Second Roguelike" every new life. Overall, really fun game.

BadgerPriest says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:02am

Brassawiking: Actually, that bit wasn't a bug. You encountered the dreadful grue, which cloaks the dungeon level in darkness until you defeat it.

celeron55 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:21am

Movement is nasty with having to choose whether to tap fast or wait for the initial key repeat delay.

However, this is a cool idea, the graphics are surprisingly nice, the audio fits well and overally it feels like you really have to run for your life. It kind of feels like Quake or something.

With the movement fixed and some higher level strategy added, this could be really addicting.

tylorlilley says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:05pm

This game handles very well and is very well programmed. I think the idea sounds a lot cooler than it actually is in execution, however... the audio and the walking down the same long hallways time and time again get rather annoying after awhile. Good game in any case!

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:10pm

Really cool!! I like it a lot, nice work!

flyingbear says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:38am

I slayed a ton of aardvarks!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:39am

I enjoy a good Rogue-like. This one play with the conventions, but still captures some fun elements. Nicely done.

borden says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:43am

This is awesome!

I love the little memorial after beating the dragon.

Erkberg says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:44am

Really liked it, nice roguelike!

eskivor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:51am

very addictive

triforcespark says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:57am

Good idea, but I think you can die frequently and not suffer the consequences.

Fervir says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:19am

Really cool.
I really liked the music.

doonay21 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:28am

Good work!

LiamJPeters says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:31am

One of the most innovative games I've rated yet. The "10 Second roguelike" audio is pretty badass! Very cool idea overall!

Sithdown says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:56am

I really like this! Addictive.

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:14pm

Creative idea, fun game. I love roguelikes, so that's certainly a plus. :)

flamecow says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:33pm

Wow, this is awesome.

Tifu says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:37pm

A LOT of people died to kill that dragon... who would have thought Trees were so aggressive!? Good job! :D

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:32am

Oh wow, absolutely lovely :) I even rate it highly for graphics and it ascii :)

Reaperguy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:12pm

Very nice, reminded me of the old ASCII rougelikes...

rfgpfeiffer says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:52pm

Very obvious interpretation of the theme, but SO VERY FUN!

zeh says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:06pm

Great little idea. Interesting twist on roguelikes. Well done!

kristof says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:26am

Awesome! Its a bit sad, that you only have 10 seconds with one character, but I guess thats the theme. Very cool music!

Sinuath says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:38am

Didn't really dig the 10 second life span, but i get what you were going for and all in all it was an awesome game!

Jason says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:36pm

Nice little game. I agree with one of the previous posts, the 10 second life span is a bit limiting. Its hard to even take in the game before its over.

Metatheos says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:52pm

I think it has quite a few things going for it and I enjoyed it for the most part. I like the blend of turn-based decisions with the real-time-countdown. I don't think your choice on being strict with the definition of a roguelike in regard to the graphics was a good idea (especially after you even dropped permadeath). Having to read text in the corner of the screen to find out what's going on doesn't work too well in your game. This way it is I missed any tactical stuff you might have added and just ran around killing things until I found the exit (which would get old for me quite fast if the game didn't have the perfect length for this). What worked really well was how the last floor conveyed that it was special and the dragon was well identifiable as a boss.

dekart says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:16pm

I like this game :) Didn't try post-compo version yet, but surely will do after saving my vote.

anjack says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:21am

It feels like a complete game. Very well done!

graytest says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:38am

Fun idea and good execution!

Sep 2, 2013 @ 10:31pm

Really cool little game. I liked it loads. I featured it in my LD27 compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :), http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W1OMEshCeQ0

zconnelly13 says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:33pm

Loved it. Very addictive. We all know what it's a rip off of though, haha, so I'd like to see a little more innovation. But overall fantastic :)

Alexander says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 1:06am

This was great, one of my favorites in the LD. I love how many candy box-likes there are this time around!

grayhaze says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 12:10pm

The theme limits the enjoyability of this somewhat, as I ended up in a dungeon layout that took almost 10 seconds to reach the same point each time, with no alternative routes to make a shortcut with later turns. I like the idea though and have a soft spot for roguelikes.

manuq says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 3:01pm

Oh wow! The music and the voice really puts the player in mood. Excellent ascii dungeon!

BadgerPriest says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 9:38pm

@grayhaze: Oh, one small tip - if you're stuck on a dungeon level where the end seems too far away, go for characters with high Speed. Your Speed stat slows down time for you, enabling you to cross more of the dungeon before you die of old age (I should probably have explained this mechanic in the game).

zanval says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 9:31pm

I made it to the dragons lair! But the game became too slow in that room. holding an arrow key caused me to "skip" 20 turns and be dead.

I love the idea and when I started playing I had tons of fun!

I have two problems with this game though:
- Seconds vs Turns. Especially with the movement (hold a key or smash it 50 times), its realyl annoying that the game is in turns but the time in seconds doesnt match it at all.

- The EXP. In the dragons cave I was too low level.
In the ideal playthrough, you will play a hero until he levels and then wait for the timer to hit zero.
If you die, you waste all the exp you earned.
Very frustrating, as the button hold VS smash problem cost me several levels.

Overall a great game

Antidote says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 5:21pm

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h-mi8pj54dA - My first impression on the game ^^

motty says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 12:54am

Love this. Brilliant. Absolutely stand-out Good Stuff. Thank you.

Urfoex says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 11:08am

Nice one.
First roguelike I could beat ^^

Sep 16, 2013 @ 5:10am

I can't express how good the music was, especially the beat after you die and restart. It kept me going. Killed the dragon.

Cryovat says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 12:14am

I slayed the dragon. Got a good laugh out of the concept and the game play was fun.

As for the music and sound. Woah. That was amazing. It sounds like something out of a commercial title. Excellent work. :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]