August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Adventure, Level 2

by laaph - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is not quite a successor to my previous Ludum Dare entry, but rather a re-imagining of the second level. Despite the similarities, all assets were painstaking redone by hand, including the blue box, and this time I even got the bug of the arrow on his head to not fade away and always be pointing the correct direction! You can refresh your memory of that game at http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-26/?action=preview&uid=3320

Unfinished business: The floor does not explode in a spectacular fashion as planned, but rather disappears. The win condition was hard enough for me to achieve so it has been poorly tested. There are lots of typos through out; please forgive me. The text was done with 640x480; if you run it at different resolutions, the score will appear in funny places. Documentation notice: I say something about ten second timer on each room, but what I had meant is that for each room you get ten seconds, and the timer doesn't reset if you re-enter a room - the timer is at whatever you left it at.

A postmortem won't be done for at least a week, and that is likely when I'll start rating games - I'm not available next week (and I shouldn't have taken the time to do this - but you know what - it was worth it).

Cheers and thanks for playing! Everyone who leaves a comment gets their game rated! I am quite curious to find out if any one can get a perfect score.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#744Theme2.95
#813Graphics2.47
#848Mood2.33
#890Fun2.50
#891Overall2.70
#1035Innovation2.21
#1613Coolness30%

Comments

Urfoex says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:44pm

Run in the monster. Right behind the door :-(
Sometimes I even run away through a door being stuck with 3 walls and behind me the monster coming in :-(

odeckers says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:14pm

The monsters being able to move through the walls kills the fun a bit, but otherwise an excellent entry

Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:10am

The monsters are a bit weird, but I do like the game! I featured this game in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare 27 games, if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/biBzDWmV3kc

Kramin42 says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 8:39am

This game was fun, but a bit unpolished (not surprising for a Ludum Dare game). If you gave the monsters path finding and made the arrow point the right way (I assume it's meant to be pointing in the direction you're facing) it could be quite good. Also, it would be nice if you could see a bit of the areas above and below like you can the areas to the left and right, to help avoid running into monsters right behind doors.

crazyrems says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 1:12pm

A poor entry, with weird controls (reversed direction when going backwards). We are stuck into walls if we don't stop moving, and monsters are cheating, but the gameplay is here.
I like the fact that we fall through the floor after 10 seconds. A bit cruel.

Endurion says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 1:20pm

Nasty monsters, walk through on screen walls and screen walls too! :)

The control feel a bit too sluggish for a fast retreat.

naufr4g0 says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 2:20pm

As you said in my page, your game resembles a bit mine, but I have random single rooms, instead of a fixed map (randomly generated).
The game is interesting but I'd prefer a path finding system for monsters, cause they often suddenly kill me without I have the time to avoid them.
I like camera change when die. :)

manuq says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 3:54pm

I like the idea of a run-away game with this controls and this point of view. You should fix the bug that lets the monster and the player going through the walls.

Delca says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 7:39pm

I had a hard time adapting to the controls, and I felt like the AI cheated by cornering my into a wall each time.
That being said, the idea is not that bad, and I like the labyrinth being different each time I played it.

Atmospherium says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 12:42am

This seems like a good start to a larger game. I like that you modeled the enemies and added cinematic camera movement, little touches like that go a long way. I think that it would be beneficial to give clearer indication of player movement, but I adjusted pretty quick. Only major issue was some of the ghosts would spawn in a doorway right as I reached it.

MrBlade says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 9:15pm

The monsters always seem to get me right when I get out of the door. Would have like some sounds. Pretty nice monsters! 4/10.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]