August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

ILLUSIOUS

by Cell - 48 Hour Compo Entry

WELCOME TO 1860's PRISON.
YOU'RE A ARMED GUARD. YOUR BROTHER IS ESCAPING.

SHOOT HIM BEFORE HE ESCAPES, BY DOING NOTHING.
LEFT CLICK TO DISARM YOURSELF. YOU'LL GET SHOT FOR TREASON.

MADE IN ABOUT 2 HOURS BECAUSE GOT TOO MUCH OTHER SHIT TO WORK ON. FORGOT CAPS LOCK ON SORRY.

- Olav (@Cellusious)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#37Mood3.83
#39Graphics4.18
#214Audio3.17
#353Theme3.37
#626Innovation2.86
#873Overall2.72
#938Humor1.48
#1146Fun1.87

Comments

Aug 25, 2013 @ 10:33pm

Although the game is really simple, I have to applaud you on the artwork. Very well done.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:32am

It actually self-terminates after 10 seconds. Nice!

Zathalos says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:08am

Nice graphics and mood. I just wish it was longer. Good job.

Jan Marcano says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:02am

It was really simple, but the artwork was incredibly amazing.

Twistedsnail says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:05am

That was very dramatic, I love the way the escapees run.

galman says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:57am

Simple game(is that a game?).. Great art and mood :)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:57am

Echoing the above - the art is really beautiful. The game packs a punch too. Good stuff!

vittorioromeo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:58am

Good graphics and mood, but unfortunately I'm not a fan of the non-existing gameplay.

nandor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:00am

Awesome artwork

patrickgh3 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:02am

I love it! Simple, but it does what it does perfectly.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:06am

Beautiful. Loved the animations. It crashed my computer though after the 10 seconds, but I think it's my computers fault. Solid work for 2 hours.

Xera says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:17am

Great art and music, but it's missing gameplay. Wich is to understand if you didn't have much time.

Cell says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:52am

ART GAMES ART ART GAMES GAMES ARE ART ART.
:3

josefnpat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:33am

Nice art. I should get me one of these art things for my wall. Got some nails, so I can nail this art to my wall? Thanks.

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:19pm

I'm commenting to save this so I can find it again. Gonna finally install WINE soon.

AngelDE98 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:53pm

Great "game" you made there, but...

1. Either it's Wine or GameMaker that's scaling your game "linear", not "nearest". If possible (AFAIK in GameMaker 6 you were able to do it by double-clicking on one of the bottommost menu items on the left... or so and then navigating thru the menus), change it.

2. Other than that, it really is lacking gameplay. No matter what I've pressed, nothing happened (except that I passed the main menu). I guess it's Wine so an NA for gameplay and audio (Wine still has got problems with GameMaker audio).

3. Unfournately, Ludum Dare isn't Imaginem Dare (or whatever would be IMAGE in latin), but still, I could give you full 5 stars for the art.

Other than the gameplay and audio and controlls and other missing stuff, it's really great for just two hours. Hopefully you will complete it somewhen in the future.

I can't really vote because I didn't make an game this LD.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:27pm

I UNLOCKED ALL ALTERNATIVE ENDINGS, COME AT ME N00BS

N427 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:48pm

Pretty cool for being made in 2 hours, though I wish there was some more content or more levels or something.

jijaweb says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:02pm

Very moodish! Cool little concept. Love your art!

farmergnome says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:11pm

Lovely artwork cell.

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:56pm

Beautiful pixel art, rated very highly! :)

designatius says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:13am

Great art as usual ;) Such an amazing work!

ratking says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:06am

Awesome mood!

Jiggawatt says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:27pm

GRAPHICS (feat. game)

tchem says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:17pm

so incredible art and atmosphere... beautiful proposes...

bassarisse says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:03am

The art is just awesome. I wonder what this would become if you had the time to work more on it.

Magdev says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:02am

I love the art. Pretty rad color palette like always.

Xatulu says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:16am

Amazing artworks!

Toshiro says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:18pm

Wow. You're an incredible pixel artist, really. Like the concept, but I want to play a longer game with concepts like that. Bravo.

hbocao says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:03am

Well, first... the art is awesome and music really fits the mood. I really like "concept games" that makes me think. But I think that the "instructions" needed to be in game. I wanted to contemplate the choices I had (even if it were only two). All in all, very cool entry.

panurge says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:02pm

Nice mood, simple and thought-provoking vignette.

LegacyCrono says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 11:09pm

Very simple, not much of a game actually, but quite enjoyable. The audio works really well to add to the atmosphere. The graphics are HOT! Well done!

SnoringFrog says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 3:44pm

Beautiful work, and interesting, just not very fun (though this type of 'game' is more about effect than fun, I'd say). Definitely much better than anything I could pump out in two hours though lol.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]