August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Destroy the Rebel Scum.

by uncade - Jam Entry

Destroy the Rebel Scum is a parody of the Hoth battle from Star Wars with QWOP -like mechanics,

Destroy the rebels within 10 seconds. Or don't. You know.. whatever.

Instructions:

Restart - Enter
Front Left Leg - E D R F
Front Right Leg - Y H U J
Back Left Leg - Q A W S
Back Right Leg - I K O L
Head - T G
Fire Missile - Space

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#50Humor(Jam)3.64
#244Fun(Jam)3.04
#280Innovation(Jam)3.00
#295Audio(Jam)2.82
#325Graphics(Jam)3.13
#328Mood(Jam)2.82
#341Overall(Jam)3.00
#520Theme(Jam)2.52
#1377Coolness41%

Comments

xrm0 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:42am

The initial music volume is too loud.

Schwiggy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:45pm

This was harder than I expected but the strategy of hitting random buttons while controlling the head and firing missiles seems to work decently. I showed it to a friend and within a minute he was walking (relying mostly on the upper-leg controls). But yeah, Destroy the Rebel Scum is awesome.

blackotus says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:09pm

I love QWOP style games!
Now with FOUR legs?!

This is great! Very hard for me with the 10 seconds time limit :P

Nice job!

Zerkruemler says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:40pm

Oh, I FAIL

Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:54am

Ha, cool take on QWOP-style games! :D

Raiyumi says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 1:27am

lol, this.. is hard. :P

fgielow says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 9:39pm

Hey! I liked the idea, but damn, those kind of games are really, really, hard to get the controls! hahahaha lots of body articulations.. Original though

Sep 11, 2013 @ 11:01pm

At first I fail, but I had fun shooting rockets everywhere... Good 3d game :D

jwolf says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 2:20am

Eventually I...won? Certainly not through playing it properly :D

This is far more fun than it should be! Thank you for your entry! It was very entertaining.

Zap says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 7:00am

"WINNER!" YES! This too silly, I love it- and played for much longer than I expected. Each level made me giggle.
Being able to still shoot and walk and explode and fly off the map after the ten seconds is up is so great! And first person cam is a really nice touch. I want more, please.

myachin says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 5:14am

ahahhahahaha
humor 5/5
one of the best!

Croze says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 9:43pm

That music was awful, and was obnoxiously hard to control. Other than that once you get used to it I loved the QWOP style, and the graphics were nice. Innovative too :D

Sep 15, 2013 @ 12:44am

hard as hell I have no chance of finishing this lol. I seem to blow my own legs off most of the time! gg

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]