August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Bob Loblaw's Blob War

by Budda - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is Bob Loblaw's Blob War.

The aim of the game is to command the placement of your AI-controlled blobs in order to win the Blob War.

In order to win, you will need to destroy the enemy's two towers.

In your turn, choose your unit, click Place Unit, then choose a spot to place the unit. Be quick about it though, because you only have 10 seconds to make your move!

This was all coded in Java using LWJGL and Slick, with Sound courtesy of BFXR and Wolfram Tones.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#440Theme3.29
#451Audio2.73
#494Humor2.32
#548Overall3.06
#587Innovation2.91
#650Graphics2.74
#708Mood2.53
#907Fun2.49

Comments

noom says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:17am

Arg! so tough! Neat little game, I like the concept, I just suck at it hahaha.

raincole says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:17am

Every turn lasts only 10 seconds. I like this idea.

borden says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:19am

A little slow paced, but kudos on the music and AI. I got clobbered!

GrimGary says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:23am

I liked this game. At first I hadn't figured out what was going on and was loosing. But soon I turned the tide and won! A little more feedback on damage for each unit and this game could be interesting. You should expand on it =)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:32am

Nice little game!

Boodog says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:23am

Cool game!

Ghostik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:25am

Nice concept!

Dooleus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:28am

The art and sound effects are okay. The music doesn't do it for me, and I hate the way it restarts every time your turn starts, as it's not on beat and it sounds very jarring.

The gameplay is not super deep or engaging, and I really dislike that the 'Place Unit' button is across the screen from your side of the map, as it makes playing with a touchpad mouse extremely difficult - I could never place as many units as I wanted before running out of time.

The concept itself is kind of interesting and seems like it might have some potential for depth, but the implementation is not super engaging and kept me from wanting to improve. I think having a simpler unit creation control scheme would improve the gameplay drastically, since it relies so much on quick mouse movements. Perhaps a right click to scroll through the unit types and a left click to drop it?

xel says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:29am

Interesting game. Mortar units are totally OP!

Budda says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:36am

@Dooleus: Thanks for the comments, and I agree on them all. The reason I put the Place Unit button on the far side was to try and make the game a race against time, to make you try and rush to place your units in the 10 seconds allowed.
I've had this game idea for a while now, so a lot of the things you bought up are in relation to trying to shoehorn the theme into the gameplay.

Thanks though,

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:21am

It is a little difficult to read the unit stats in the 10 seconds. It's be nice if the stats are available for us to read during the enemy turn.
The enemy also taking 10 seconds feels a little unnecessary, since the player can't do anything during that time either.
I really like the innovation, though.

Choupom says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:47am

Nice game, and the art looks really good!

intripoon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:19am

I agree with theholychicken. Waiting 10 seconds for the pc to make his move is a bit tedious.
Also, the mortar unit seemed a bit unbalanced. I win by just placing mortars.

hbocao says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:15pm

Very cool, man. Kinda hard for me, but I think I just need more training. I just think you need a Start button. It all happens so quickly!

01101101 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:23pm

Nice idea, art is cool and all, but mouse-only controls make it really hard... I supposed it's what you wanted but I would really need keyboard shortcuts for unit selection in order to enjoy the game fully ^^

Nerlin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:16pm

Interesting idea but 10 seconds is not enough to place all units and they are too slow.
I like style and game overall.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:34am

I found this game hard for myself, but I did enjoy it. I love the looks of the little warriors :) I featured this game in my compilation video of Ludum Dare 27 games, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/okyxuWBF5Yw

radmars says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:06am

+1 for Bob Loblaw's Law Blog

foumart says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 8:36am

Nice turn based strategy. Wish the AI was more aggressive.

kratorspore says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 3:18pm

Nice concept and AI. There's a lot of cool stuff going on here. I'm not sure that this type of game lends itself to the 10 second turn treatment though.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]