August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Time Blocks

by scottwashi - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Destroy all yellow objects by colliding similar shaped objects with them. Click on blue objects (including the timer) to select them. Use the forward, and reverse buttons in the middle of the screen to move them forward or backwards in time (or left-click to move forwards, right-click to move backwards).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#304Innovation3.33
#943Overall2.63
#983Theme2.61
#1107Graphics1.87
#1111Fun2.00
#1422Coolness39%

Comments

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:38am

It's an interesting concept, and I like the way it looks, but I think it needs more feedback and tips in the beginning, as it took me a while to figure out what was going on.

olafurw says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:07am

Pretty neat concept but could use a few more introductory levels or stages to teach the mechanic and ease the player into the game.

Spotline says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:19pm

Really great concept :D Some things behave strange (when the timers go backward, the blocks still fall for example) but it's still pleasant to play !

onzephyr says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:49pm

nice concept have not played much like it. I enjoyed it.

AaronGordon says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:51pm

Really nice idea! Would love it if there was some indication of these being physics enables shapes, it took me ages of clicking and by chance them falling together to figure it out.

doonay21 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:18pm

Nice concept indeed! Still needs some more explanation how to begin with it! Good work!

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:18pm

interesting concept but like everyone could not really get it. add some more description to the text. i think you will get a more positive review

Zerot says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:19pm

It needs more explanations and the gameplay is quite shallow. The only thing that is really effective is to lock blocks in place and change the timer to just spawn stuff.

It might have been more interesting if there were moving/animated shapes that were falling that you can manipulate time on

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]