August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Anti-Grav Drive

by bnhw - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Your thrusters are totally gonzo'd and you're left free-floating in space at the mercy of gravity. Lucky for you, the ship's engineer has managed to re-route the power and reverse the polarity of the anti-grav device. Using the on-board computer's ten second path prediction, you sling-shot yourself around planetoids, just trying to find a way home.

A simple one-button game where you hold and key to vastly reduce the effects of gravity and travel in a straight line.

New for post-compo version:
- Performance fixes
- First keypress on title/results screen now shows all text

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#73Innovation3.84
#188Audio3.22
#271Fun3.29
#332Overall3.29
#417Mood2.90
#474Graphics3.02
#517Humor2.28
#1103Theme2.30

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:13am

This is a great 1-button-game. Nice music too!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:36am

I'm not quite sure how to control this... I know it's just "press any key to use the anti-grav thingie", but I'm not really sure how that thing works...
Great music though :)

bnhw says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:46am

Thanks, guys!

@zedutchgandalf when you're holding a key, your ship won't be attracted to the planets, so it'll maintain a constant heading and speed. The idea is to try to accelerate toward a planet to gain momentum and enable your anti-grav once you're pointing in the right direction. Hope this helps!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:23pm

That is crazy fun, but I'm not sure what it's got to do with the theme :p
Love the visuals and the music!

CustomPhase says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:25pm

Really liked the visual style and concept. Though having some problems understanding controls

hughsk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:27pm

Surprisingly addictive :)

bnhw says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:57pm

@Linus Lindberg Yeah, it's a bit of a flakey connection, but the path ahead predicts 10 seconds into the future (as if you were always under the effects of gravity).

Anton_D says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:39pm

Really interesting game, but laggy for me + it seems impossible to travel from a certain distance..

Gama says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:43pm

Simple, Good Looking, Fun, Nice job !

Joxno says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:46pm

Gah, 6.48AU was my best, took me a little while before I properly figured out how to control it. Quite addictive and fun!

andwhatnot says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:55pm

Elegant little game. Demonstrates that very simple games can be vary fun!

X-0r says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:15am

Two-dimensional gravity for the win! Even if it's not the point of the game, trying to get your ship to orbit around a planet is fun, too^^
I'm not sure, if there's a way to continue forever, if you had the skills, or if you do depend on luck a bit.

justi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:16pm

One of the better games we've ever seen on the Ludum Dare. Astronomical concept and attractors - what I like :)

zanzindorf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:17pm

The graphics and sound made me happy. Very creative, fun, and simple. It's kind of lacking the theme though.

Broxxar says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:18pm

How the ship controlled wasn't obvious, but I liked that. Great game.

darkshadow says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:18pm

Physics + Retro graphics, brilliant combination. Nice touch with the fake console screen. Much more fun than a traditional dodge game.

JimMakesGames says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:33pm

Holy cow that is addictive. The aesthetic is great too. Really clever idea. Wish I'd thought of it. Make this into a mobile game and sell it!

KeithE. says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:34pm

I really like how simple this is while still providing a good challenge. Good job!

Gremlin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:46pm

Nice use of a 1-button interface.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:28pm

Nice one button game! Took a moment to get used to how to controlling works, but I got quite far. Nice music!

panurge says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:29pm

Impressively smart and simple. I kept going back for one more try and found the controls to be pretty intuitive once you got the hang of them. Great idea, beautifully implemented.

Anachron says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:20pm

Super fun! Seems like a dangerous way to travel though...

zatyka says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:45pm

Fun game. It definitely kept me interested. I liked the style of game as well. I think it has a good amount of potential.

tigerj says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:49am

really basic and looks really cool I really had fun with this one.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:36am

That was fun.. although confusing. I failed to see the theme in the game but it's actually a fun and addictive little gem.

rezoner says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:06am

Not very clear at first time but after a while it turns out to be a great idea fun!

gamepopper says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:43pm

Really clever idea, couldn't go further than three planets though. Not sure how this ties to the theme though.

sittaman says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:54pm

Great one. I didn't get the theme on this, but who cares? The game is just great, I loved the one-button mechanic. Good job!

neekobus says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:17pm

Very good idea.
Simple control may be good, but I don't understand how it works.

Larzan says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:36pm

Interesting game mechanics. Nice.

Yell0w says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:47pm

Cool game with lots of potential!

flavio says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:41am

Simple and addictive really ! Even if it is not always clear how the trajectory works :)

Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:30am

Amazing and original gameplay! Addictive is the right word for it. The minimalistic art style works perfectly.
The 10 second prediction path connection is a pretty interesting take on the theme.
Great work!

iiechapman says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:36pm

Very interesting method of play, sometimes difficult to tell how it is calculating the trajectory. If I understand correctly, the "mass" of the planet changes how much it "pulls" the trajectory. It would be nice if the color of the trajectory were to change from green which is "small mass" to red which is "high mass" to indicate how much pull the next planet will have. That way you could have a sense of how much your will be altering your trajectory by pressing the button.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]