August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Tenth Second

by RandomM00 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I hope the game makes sense. I'm extremely tired.
It's a text adventure (you have been warned) aimed at being short and entertaining.

I've included stdc++6.dll in the Windows archive incase it is required. I'm not sure what dlls Go programs need.

To run the game after extracting the archive you should be able to double click on it on Windows. On Linux you need to open a terminal and cd into the folder with the game in, then run "./tenth-second".
To extract the archive on Linux you can use a GUI or run "tar xvf tenth-second-linux.tar.gz" from the directory with the archive in.

On both OSes you should get the intro in the command line and be able to play by typing commands in or by pointing your browser at "http://localhost:25565/".
The game runs a webserver on port 25565. Windows will probably tell you it blocked this feature.

The game is written in Go (golang.org) using just the standard library. You should be able to compile it be opening a terminal in "ifl/ld27", after extracting the source archive, and running "go build main.go".
The game should work on Linux, Mac OS X and Windows. You need Go 1.1 or later (as far as I've been able to find out).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#143Humor3.23
#444Mood2.86
#769Innovation2.69
#890Theme2.76
#1027Overall2.50
#1079Fun2.12
#1174Graphics1.53
#1281Coolness45%

Comments

Red Mike says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:30am

Interesting idea. Couldn't really figure it all out. Very Pratchett-y style of story, especially the death scene.

tiffi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:49am

+1 for text adventure

William Bundy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:03am

tar doesn't like your gzips.

gzip: stdin: not in gzip format
tar: Child returned status 1
tar: Error is not recoverable: exiting now

Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:53am

Yay text adventure! Nice interpretation of 'ten seconds' too :p

entrusC says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:45am

Nice idea - and interesting choice of programming language!

And to William Bundy: the file is obviously a zip file and not a gzip file ;) - try using unzip

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:51am

Nice story and nice work :)!

manabreak says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:55am

I... didn't understand a thing. :D

sirtetris says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:02pm

@William Bundy:
Despite the *.tar.gz file name it's not zipped.

$ file tenth-second-linux.tar.gz
tenth-second-linux.tar.gz: POSIX tar archive (GNU)

If it were zipped it would look like this

$ file test.tar.gz
test.tar.gz: gzip compressed data, from Unix, last modified: Mon Aug 26 13:56:19 2013

so simply run
$ tar -xvf tenth-second-linux.tar.gz
instead of
$ tar -xzvf tenth-second-linux.tar.gz


@RandomM00:
Consider renaming the file to tenth-second-linux.tar to avoid confusion.

Delca says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:12pm

I could not see how this them could be interpreted differently than "10 units of time". Thanks for showing me !
That being said, I liked text adventures and I never finished a single one of them ; guess I am not that good with them.

Latcarf says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:07pm

I can't figure out how to progress, but maybe that's because I'm tired. Interesting idea though.

Endurion says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:42am

Cool idea, but weird language choice :)

Is there a way to restart the game without restarting the server?

I dropped the grenade and went under deck.

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:48pm

I agree with tiffi +1 for text adventure!

ShiverGaming says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:52pm

Confused, ran out of time to play it IRL, but from what I played of it, it looks fun.

Sep 15, 2013 @ 7:55pm

Good job on programming, and the writing is absolutely hilarious, but I used up two of the items and still am not quite sure what I need to do to win the game.

Possible bug:


SPOILER

After firing the grenade at the enemy ship, I still got a message saying that the grenade exploded inside the cannon.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]