August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

BeautyIsTheBeast

by Valandre - Jam Entry

Move: Arrows or WASD
Fullscreen: F11

----------------------

Beauty and the beast is our entry for the Ludum Dare #27.
This is our transcription of The great classic arcade game "pacman".
Idea is to invert gameplay each 10 sec depending on the day/night cycle.
You can chose to be the hunter or the target, but after 10 sec, rules will be invert.

For Tinois and E-MAk this Ludum Dare is the very first.
Hope you'll enjoy.

----------------------

Development (Haxe): Bernard "Valandre" Stouls
Art, Modeling 3D, Sounds: Etienne "E-MAK" Makowski
Animation 3D: Stephane "Tinois" Videlo

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Graphics(Jam)4.77
Coolness71%
#6Overall(Jam)4.13
#7Theme(Jam)4.11
#22Humor(Jam)3.94
#24Mood(Jam)3.97
#25Fun(Jam)3.78
#58Audio(Jam)3.67
#59Innovation(Jam)3.63

Comments

SasoriDama says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:35pm

Wow! This is really impressive. It looks and plays like wii game or something! It is really fun and the strategy involved with the timer switching roles makes it really tense. What tools did you use to make this? I could totaly see people buying this if it had some more levels and what not.

nikkesen says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:36pm

Fantastic game! I love the day-night cycle mechanic.

SasoriDama says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:33pm

I just came back to say I am still playing this game!

caporaltito says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:54am

Houston ? We've got a deltatime problem. http://imageshack.us/f/19/ue3x.png/

Amazing entry, though. I wish I could vote but I didn't add an entry in this LD. I would have ranked 5 everywhere !

villhest says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:57am

Really nice game. Awesome graphics!

Foxtacy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:58am

*claps*

no complaints whatsoever, this is incredible for a Ludum Dare :)

lesterpig says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:58am

Nice graphics but very hard ! :)

juaxix says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:59am

Oh, very good, a lot of productivity to get this finished!.
I love these lowpoly chars, the idea is pretty simple and it works nicely, you can see all the elements clearly and the comoposition is really polished, one of the best of my list.
Nothing really works better than a princess / wolf 10s curse :)
thanks!

Tanser says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:59am

I love the idea behind the game but my fps is just dead.
The art is great and the music only enriches everything!

aglushakov says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:03pm

Really nice game!

It remind me classic PacMan game :)

Graphics also good!

Nice work!

FireZenk says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:04pm

Wow! awesome game! I really like the 3D models! :D

atgaubatz says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:36pm

Really fantastic!

cschwartz says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:38pm

Like the graphics and sound as well as the asymmetric gameplay.

Kimidori says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:42pm

great game, a little too hard though since the AI is good at running away.

TobiasW says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:01pm

The character and environment design is fantastic! I like the background story and the images explaining it at the beginning.

The music is pretty cool! The sound effects were fine, though sometimes they didn't fit entirely or were a bit hard on the ears.

I like the mechanic, but I am not too sure about the current gameplay. I like the basic idea, but I think it's there were three things that made it not too much fun for me:
- Searching for your counterpart sometimes takes forever at the beginning.
- Your counterpart sometimes seems awfully dumb. I mean, I see him, why doesn't he seem to see me? Ugh. It's pretty hard to get him to get to run into my castle without nearly touching him.
- There aren't enough book shelves/rose bushes for my taste. They are territorial advantages that should be used to trap your enemy, right? I found the few ones that are there often lacking the right positioning to do that.

Apart from that, your game is really polished, well made and as such enjoyable. Good job!

kill0u says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:26pm

Amazing :D

Carduus says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:47pm

AWESOME BROS ! MORE MORE MORE :D

fgielow says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:05am

man! this was really creative, I must say. loved the duality and the way you managed to use the 10 seconds theme in a straight manner and still achieve an average duration game. really simple and solid mechanics, i liked it very much, congrats xD awesome music too, i must say

rezoner says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:11am

Awesome low-poly, great ideas - daytime/night and being forced to play one or the other character. Very professional execution level.

dook says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:44pm

Really impressive :)

Codexus says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:14pm

Awesome game, very polished and fun. Great idea to let us play both roles!

TeamFlare says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:06pm

This was awesome!!! I love the style and the gameplay. And the theme is just great :) Sorry for repeating myself - AWESOME job!

Xgor says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:44pm

Great game. I can imagine this as a really fun multiplayer game.

loxo says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:46pm

Incredible graphics and a great idea!

oajfh says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:30pm

My character went through the walls quite a few times, and otherwise controls aren't quite responsive enough to my taste.
Other than that, great entry.

Tifu says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:21pm

This is so great XD

deepnight says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:09pm

That was really impressive guys :)
One of the best entries I've seen in Jam, especially because of the excellent art and animations! The theme fits perfectly with your gameplay which is also a very good point. However, the music is a bit repetitive and sounds would require more polish, especially because they are scarce.

Good job!
Let's have a beer!

Dir3kt says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:39pm

Very nicely done, lot of work went into this entry. Neat idea.

Neil says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:12pm

Excellent graphics, nice gameplay!

Nezzhil says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:17pm

Awesome graphics. I love the idea but the IA would be a bit better. :)

klianc09 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:00pm

Looks and sounds great, but finding your enemy/victim can take a long time on this large map, maybe make the view larger or have a minimap. And it would be cool if there were more rose bushes/book shelves, as they could give the game more depth.

CoderDozer says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:57pm

That was fun. Well done.

Gabriel says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:34pm

Here, take these dozens of stars in my rating!

I am totally in love with the princess! This is one of the cutest characters I've seen in a while (not talking only about LD here). The way she stands really tense looking around when she's stopped is amazing, gives her a lot of character! Seriously, this is one of the most charming games I've seen here, complete cuteness overload!

About the gameplay it is sweet as well, and the bookshelf/vine twist is nice. It gives rise to some dominant strategies that can make the game very easy though - basically, you can keep lurking around a spot where you have the wall cross advantage and keep atracting your 'enemy' so that he is always around. If he gets too close you cross the bookshelf and he'll instantly start running to some alternative path, then you just cross back and it is usually enough to stall the 10 seconds you need to run away while keeping the adversary close enough to be an easy prey when the cycle changes. One possible approach would be to make vines or bookshelfs instantly disappear after used so that the same passage can't be used twice in a row, and maybe making other spots turning into bookshelfs, vines or normal walls randomly - this would make the playfield less subject to exploits and overall a little more unpredictable.

Anyway, if you guys end up making something out of this game, let me know! I'll play any game that has this princess. I totally love her. :D

blackotus says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:51pm

Very pretty and detailed graphics!
I also like how the gameplay changes :)

Very nice work!

Purplescape says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 4:33pm

So polished! I feel anxious and like I want to laugh at the same time. Excellent game

JD557 says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 10:26pm

Really polished game, congrats.

I'll only give it 4 stars though, because I found a lot of bugs that were game breaking, like passing through solid walls (really solid walls, not roses/bookshelfs) and really weird pathfinding behaviour.

It's a shame though. If it weren't for that, this would be a sure 5-star game.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 12:54am

it was really fun -- very simple and the artwork was perfect

Capro says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 10:11am

Great game. Really good job!

jerombd says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 8:49pm

Great low-poly 3D art! The charac-design is excellent too!

porglezomp says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 9:53pm

Beautiful game, nice music (although a bit repetitive). The art reminded me of nintendo game, and the controls of pac-man. (I think it would be even more fun with a joystick) One thing that I would change, is maybe make the viewpoint a bit higher up.

urth says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 1:39am

Lovely work. Hope to see more in the future.

Almax27 says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 9:58am

Purdy!

Really nice game mechanic and art is awesome. Really could see this being played with friends on the WiiU.

Great job. :)

ZYXer says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 3:25pm

Wow! Amazing artwork and graphics! I also really like the game idea of switching the hunter/hunted every 10 seconds. And the characters are very funny. The controls are a bit hard to master though, which makes the game frustratingly hard.

Jason says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 1:48pm

Nice job, not only is the game fun, but I really loved the mechanic! And being able to play both characters at the start was a nice touch. Really cool idea overall and you guys did a great job polishing it.

withoutpillow says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 3:49pm

too freaking advanced for my computer, so i can only judge the sound and graphics, but these are great. the premise seems interesting, wish i could play it!

Sakurahan says ...
Jun 15, 2016 @ 2:32am

This looks cool can wate to try it out ^_^, I saw this on a top ten list of best Luduma dare games :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]