August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Trouble In Platformville

by johnfn - Jam Entry

Full Title: Trouble in Platformville OR How I Accidentally Caused The World To Nearly Explode In Ten Seconds And Subsequently Reverted The Damage Thanks To Technology I Don't Understand

-----

I finally finished it! Featuring:
* Oscar-nominated storyline
* Tear-jerker ending
* A title so long you can't even abbreviate it
* Humor that will probably embarrass me when I play it again
* 4 audio tracks
* A cameo role from one of my older LD games

This was a 1 man production - I made all the graphics, audio, etc. I hope you enjoy it!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#40Audio(Jam)3.74
#76Humor(Jam)3.42
#112Fun(Jam)3.39
#144Overall(Jam)3.45
#200Innovation(Jam)3.19
#235Graphics(Jam)3.48
#277Mood(Jam)2.96
#340Theme(Jam)2.97

Comments

fgielow says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:08pm

Hey i liked the overall idea. And the cause of the end of the world its very hilarious. Just think you could make the stop time power last a little longer.
But, nice work =)

Vasileiadis says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:14pm

5* For Fun, Humor, Mood, Audio, Theme, Innovation, Audio...
Fuck this was brilliant ;)

blackotus says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:44pm

I like how you use the time button to get over obstacles. Nice bits of humor too! :)

AaronGordon says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:48pm

Feels really nice to control and the humor is pretty good. I love the slow down mechanic and jumping off of bullets. I kinda feel like the 100 seconds instead is kinda cheating, and having that extra time limit doesn't really add anything to the game. Would have been cool if the focus was on the slow down and maybe you can only do that for a total of 10 seconds? Great game regardless! Very impressive :)

andwhatnot says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:54pm

Like how you build the narrative up and used it to justify your use of the them. Funny and fun!

Vavassor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:30pm

Fun silly game. The 10 second theme kinda becomes completely irrelevant, but the fantastic music and visuals make up for it.

johnfn says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:43pm

The truth is that I really wanted to be like "10 seconds up! YOU LOSE!" ... But then I started thinking about Ludum Dare players who would hate me forever if I did that. So I sacrificed a perfect theme connection for you guys ;-P

Thanks for the comments though :-)

Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:05am

Amazing Game! Best one I've played so far!

Jonapulse says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:33am

A profound tale for the ages. Deep down, we are all black laser, and also black laser destroyer.

Arrow-x says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:47pm

love love love it ... this could be great with more work

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:19pm

Audio was awesome. Also loved the artwork and dialogue. Great work!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:55pm

Very good music and very nice history ;)

Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:31am

pretty interesting use of the theme i liked it..

Rafael CP says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:02pm

The best game I played so far! :D

Static 64 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:15am

That was fun and challenging, especially the last level before the treasure.

brobutter says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:21am

amazing music. didn't get old the entire time

Purplescape says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:01pm

Great music and funny story. Interesting mechanics, the slowed lasers were especially challenging.

Arcana says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:28pm

Holy crap I WON!

The two-laser jump screen was soooooo hard. And then I figured out the ezmode way to do it. I won't say if others here don't want to be spoiled.

Nice writing and humour. Great music. Hours of OHC paid off. I liked the time dilation story buildup.

The whole 10000 ms was kind of silly especially because if you ran out you just got a bonus, but ha ha :)

zconnelly13 says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 7:51pm

Fun and challenging, really awesome game! The music was amazing, and slowing down time was definitely one of the best game mechanics I've seen yet, 5/5!

johnfn says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 12:09am

Hahaha @Arcana I'm impressed you found that! Seems like you're the first, unless someone found it and didn't mention it.

In retrospect the way I would handle the time limit thing would be to have you be able to return to "checkpoints" in the game with the most amount of ms that you ever entered that checkpoint at. I saw a similar mechanic in another game and instantly realized that it was infinitely better than my cheap hack because it adds so much depth to the game! Oh well... Next time! :P

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]