August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Second Mazes

by ArmchairArmada - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Every 10 seconds the maze gets randomized and there are more enemies. How many pink thing-a-ma-doodles can you pick up before you get conked out?

Arrow keys / Joystick run around.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1845Coolness14%

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:34am

If anyone knows how to fix the bottom of the game getting cut off on Kongregate, I'll certainly appreciate the help.

whydoidoit says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:35am

I really like the sound and the art - nice stuff!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:46am

Thanks! It takes me a long time to try to make music that sounds half decent -- I can hear when things are wrong, but I can't easily figure out how to make it right.

mtrc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:39pm

The graphics and animation are really slick! Makes the game feel very polished, and really made it fun to dash around the mazes. The death animation made me grin :P

Spotline says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:11pm

Nice game, very pretty ! I just don't understand the player progression, it's weird that you can choose beetween chasing score and risking game over or playing safe...

flod says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:14pm

sound is good, graphics are good - its hard when too many gears are in games

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:12pm

Yeah, there are problems with the gameplay. Time was running out and I wasn't 100% certain what should have been done to make it better. One simple game mechanic that could have improved it was to make it possible for the player to collect all the dots and be awarded bonus points for clearing it in under 10 seconds.

goyal says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:01am

Overall, very nice!

I, however, do found that sometime enemy and the character spawns right next to each other which means instant death :|

Arrow-x says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:17pm

neat game for 48 hour ... and a fun game overall

Gabriel says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:09am

I like it! It has that strange addictiveness quality, I think because it is so simple and easy to control, and because it keeps constantly changing before getting boring! I like the increasing amount of enemies, I just found some of the initial setups unfair, like you starting the level surrounded by two gears that are already coming in your direction and there's nothing you can do to avoid being killed cause there's no space to manouver. But I know, this is a burden from quickly done procedural levels, right? This jam was my second time in LD doing procedural levels too and, well, as much as you try to place rules to ensure all levels are fair, 72 hours (48 in your case!!!) is way too little time to stumble on all possible situations. Personally, I don't care, though! Making a game that is really challenging to make is also part of the fun for me! :D And you know, for a fan of procedurally generated stuff, not knowing if what is waiting behind the next corner will be fair or not is actually part of the charm too!

Congrats on your game, it's simple and fun! :D

Cheers from Brazil

Gabriel and JP

Sep 2, 2013 @ 10:34pm

This game is so cute! I loved it loads. I featured it in my LD27 compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :), http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W1OMEshCeQ0

Raiyumi says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 12:24am

Cute music and well-polished maze game. :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]