August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Seconds to Die

by Ret44 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hotline Miami meets Crank. You are poisoned with nasty thing that will stop you heart in about 10 seconds. Hovewer you can slighty delay that process, by pumping more adrenaline to heart. For example - by killing those, who are responsible for this.

I know about several bugs here, and I will post some fixes later. Unfortunely, I had to cut out one of created levels (there are 3 levels total, now), because of several rendering problems, but maybe I will add it in postjam version. The same with music - I needed more time to compose fitting soundtrack for this game, but it was too hard (in the end, I came with this: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/46847685/background.mp3. I'm not sure if this would work)

Controls:
WSAD - Movement
Mouse - Look
Left Mouse - Fire
Q - Drop weapon
Shift (hold) - Pick up weapon
R - Restart level
Space - skip cutscene

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#313Mood3.06
#340Overall3.28
#366Theme3.36
#366Fun3.15
#606Graphics2.79
#661Innovation2.82
#674Audio2.32
#693Humor2.00

Comments

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:21am

Mac users with Japanese input have a problem with Unity web player crashing, at present, and since I have a Japanese Mac I can't just turn it off. Where is your source project? I could play that.

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:23am

The intro is a bit too long for my taste (I think the skip button didn't work for me, but then again, I probably just didn't click on the Web Player to focus). But overall, it has a nice feel to it. Really like the clean typography that you've got going there.

Grafter says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:29am

Great idea, overall fun to play!

Ret44 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:37am

@Crowbeak: Snap, I totally forgot about source. It's now included to this page. Also I'll try to build OSX version tommorow.

tiffi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:52am

i really liked the player model. cool game, a bit hard though

Zelosfan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:53am

A lot of fun :D

Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:53am

Seems very difficult. I couldn't kill a single person and was dying most of the time due to the very short reaction time of all the enemies. I barely made it to what I think was that keycard but could not get any further.
From what I can tell however, it's a nice game. Clean and slick presentation and interesting use of the theme.

Xatulu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:54am

Fun game, likes the graphics, but damn is it hard.
Thos enemies shoot you the instant they can..

Paraknight says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:56am

I don't think the intro is too long but too short rather. The white and yellow speech happen almost at the same time giving me not time to read them and the instructions at the same time. Perhaps it's different from person to person.

Nizan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:01am

Nice idea, pretty fun. Last level was very hard so I couldn't finish :(
Also... the font at the start stood out as really crisp and clean. Odd thing to notice, but... nice one :D

Rave Radbury says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:01am

I really enjoyed the body physics, maybe a bit too much.Good game.

There was meter that said 8/8 at the bottom of the screen, it never changed, I don't know what it was supposed to do. I managed to get through the second level without killing anyone, and even if I waited around, the death timer didn't activate.

Ret44 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:11am

@Rave, that suppose to be ammo count, but it's buggeed. I'll to fix it soon.

lparker says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:14am

Very good idea, and really fun to play.

Impmaster says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:22am

I agree with tiffi, it's a little too hard for my taste. The enemies shoot too fast, and it doesn't have the same feedback as HM. The intro was cool, but it kind of felt like all the work was spent on the intro. The idea was cool though, would love to see it expanded.

Ret44 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:25am

@Impmaster, I've created intro and outro in last hour :)

Lustdante says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:58am

These enemies sure know how to aim and shoot!

Balooga03 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:23pm

I like it, although it's a bit tough, I die a lot and haven't gotten to the third level yet.
I like the minimalist style.

ghostonline says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:03pm

I think you nailed the Hotline: Miami vibe pretty good here. I also liked the way you present the story using text in the level itself.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:14pm

Nice low-fi artstyle!

mrcdk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:27pm

Good game! It's hard but challenging so, I enjoyed it! Only got the red card though

porglezomp says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:12pm

I love that you can shoot yourself in the head, and I love the way the characters are made. I would've liked the character textures to be a bit higher resolution though, that'd be my biggest complaint.

MrRoboman says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:47am

Nice job! There's something pleasing about firing and they way the characters react to being shot.

haloflooder says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:24am

I thought this one was great. but I couldn't figure out how to reload. I also liked how the game was "2D" styled but it was actually 3D. I thought it was hilarious when the player is a box with a body drawn on all the sides.

Mago says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:26am

Cool game, but is too hard. I Likes the graphics but it lacks music

Ret44 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:21pm

@haloflooder - you can't reload. You have to drop your weapon and take one from your enemies.

haloflooder says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 8:58pm

@Ret44:
Ah derp. Oh, and another thing. Was this game inspired by the movie Crank? Just asking because the concept of the game was similar to the movie.

Ret44 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 10:22am

@haloflooder - Yep, I even wrote about this in description :D

Raiyumi says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 11:01pm

fun game, solid controls. Nice job! :)

Sep 16, 2013 @ 2:59pm

Found this game hard but fun. Nice job. I featured this game in my LD27 compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tvnhwc_j5Mo

JonathanG says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 10:56pm

This has a great visual style, I like the typography and the way the story is told using text throughout the levels! It was a bit odd however that the controls were flashed up at the same time as the initial dialogue. It is very hard, the enemies have quick reactions and death comes easily, but you can also restart very quickly too so it keeps you coming back!

MrBlade says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 11:14pm

Nice work. Good sounds. Models were a bit off. AI is a bit hard. 8/10.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]