August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

ChronoCards

by alfie275 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Please comment with specs if it didn't run for you.

Press "help" on main menu to see help.
Designed to run at 1280*720 ish, so will look derpy above that.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#316Innovation3.31
#325Theme3.40
#878Overall2.71
#962Fun2.38
#1034Graphics2.06
#1613Coolness30%

Comments

X-0r says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:17pm

Got a blackscreen, with hearing the "Chronocards" voice in all different pitch levels... Can't really click anything. I run windows 7 x64.

Xera says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:18pm

Seems like a little card game parody. Not much replay value but still enjoyed it quite a bit!

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:20pm

A 10 second card game? That's madness!

I didn't read the card effects, but somehow still had fun with it. Pretty cool.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:31pm

This is the first virtual card game that I have actually enjoyed. Very nice take on the theme as well.
Never got to see the cat in the screen shot though...
So yeah, it was great fun, but relied a bit too much on luck. I didn't really notice that when I was winning though, because then it was of course because of my awesome strategic skillz ;D

gameXcore says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:31pm

I'm not sure if I'm just dosy, but I really couldn't work out what to do!

Joxno says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:49pm

Pretty nice fast-paced card game, which is not something you hear everyday, really nice!
Although playing an entire game "in 10 seconds" is a bit mental, but surprisingly fun

Markavian says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:11pm

I err, had no clue what I was doing. I mashed keys and won. If I did nothing, I lost. Is this a life lesson?

LordHellMaX says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:35am

Wow that game is quite a challenge, very hard. I did manage to win once, but I think it was pure luck (it's a card game after all). Some nice elements, but I miss audio, it would probably bring to a whole new level.

Tankenstein says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:08pm

Says something about a dll missing and it doesn't run.

TobiasW says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:37pm

A game with time as a resource? That's a very intriguing concept. I am not sure if a card game was a good choice though - I have no time to read my cards, so I mostly just mash all the numbers and then space.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:30pm

A tabletop card game with keyboard play? You sir or madam win the cookie!

The 10 second limit seems a bit fast to get to know the cards at first. Perhaps another mechanic whereby you get a chance to review what you have in hand before the game starts.

The pause and add time cards are truly good played at the right time. yay!

I am duly impressed you got the rules engine down, and dig the programmers art.

I like to see this evolve with nice card faces and a table image.

pighead10 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:27pm

Fun game. Seemed too fast paced for any real strategy.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]