August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Popping Bubbles

by Fififox - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is an action game where you have to stop bubbles from popping! :)
Have fun!

# Context #
I made this in a few hours before the dealine because other things (you know, life and stuff) prevented me from fully participating, but I'm quite happy with what I made!

# Instructions #
Tap the bubbles to slow down their growth, you get points every 10 seconds depending on how many bubbles you managed to keep! (the more, the better)

# Notes #
Multi-touch support has been implemented post-compo, so take that into account when rating. Thanks a lot to Udrian (http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-27/?action=preview&uid=18950) for testing multi-touch!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#612Innovation2.88
#698Audio2.28
#726Theme2.98
#763Graphics2.56
#842Fun2.57
#885Mood2.28
#896Humor1.63
#915Overall2.67

Comments

31eee384 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:39am

Cool game, although from what I could tell there doesn't seem to be much depth. (This makes sense, given the amount of time you had.) My strategy was to find the two bubbles that would pop last and click on one of them. It would be cool on multitouch devices, I think, especially if there was more to it. Anyway, very creative use of the theme!

Steve says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:56am

Not sure what to do exactly? Sometimes I get points (rarely), but I don't really know how it's happening.
=/

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:59am

Neat. Simple, efficient. I like it :)

cardboard says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:48am

Pretty nice, given how long it took you to make it. This would be better on a multitouch-capable device, but it was still enjoyable with a mouse. The graphics are sleek and the sound effects are perfect. My best score was 176 seconds and 42 points.

pbdiode says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:57pm

Good concept -- would have been nice to have a big visible count-down timer maybe. It might also be good to explain the mechanic a little clearer, with some experimentation, I think I figured it out pretty good, but it would be nice to have a confirmation!

Fun game play though, definitely some potential there!

PTSnoop says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:58pm

Nice simple concept. I agree with 31eee314 - multitouch support would be very neat. Although I disagree with pbdiode - to me, the countdown timer looked big enough, and the instructions in the description are clear enough already.

Just one thing - the game difficulty seemed dependent on the aspect ratio. I started out in a vaguely-square window and found the game very difficult, but then switched fullscreen 1920x1080 seemed much easier. I did a bit more research and found that I can drag my window into a long thin horizontal rectangle, and make the circles spawn so far apart that they'll never touch each other. But if I drag the window into a tall thin vertical rectangle, I don't have a hope. Just something to think about!

Typedeaf says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:20am

Cool concept, how ever, it lacks a little bit of depth and it would do great on multitouch! Now the best choice is basically just take one and hold it down as long as possible.

Fififox says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:26am

Thanks everyone for the nice comments and suggestions!
The game has been updated post-compo with multi-touch support! :)
Have fun!

Spotline says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:48pm

Very nice and polished :)

LegacyCrono says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:01pm

Nice simple game, it's great for playing on breaks. Pretty hard to play with a mouse, but sounds like it could be very fun on a tablet!

Mironix says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:40pm

oh i would love having my leap motion already :) good idea dear sir. very hard.

domrein says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:51pm

I need multiple mice to simulate multiple fingers. Also, could you post a QR code in the screenshots to make it easier to load it up on mobile?

Ciaran54 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:24pm

Interesting concept, but it did get kind of repetitive... For only a few hours though, not a bad attempt ;)

Fififox says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:06pm

You can play the game on desktop, but it's a different experience from the tablet version, since the desktop version is more about finding the last bubble and slowing it down rather than the action-packed "slow down all the bubbles" game it is on tablet.
The funny thing is that I don't own a tablet myself! :D

Regarding the repetitiveness, it comes from my lack of time to implement any kind of difficulty change between rounds, as Ciaran54 guessed, so it's pretty much only based on the randomness of the bubble distribution.

I am pondering over making a full-blown post-compo version, so if you have more suggestions, please tell me! :)

Thanks for playing everyone!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:59pm

This is a great idea. Excellent candidate for a post-compo expansion. iOS app store!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:46pm

Really good and fun concept!

skywing says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:47pm

Pretty tough, but interesting too.

someone says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:50pm

Kept freezing for me (firefox 20.0, linux 64bit) which made it unplayable unfortunately.
Cool idea though. I don't have a tablet.

Fififox says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:51pm

Thanks for the feedback Andrew, I might do that for the upcoming October Challenge!

Thanks for the kind words everyone.

Regarding the freezes, I work with Chromium on Linux 64bit, but since I only use standard APIs, the game should work in Firefox too. It's probably just a matter of hardware-acceleration (which is lacking a bit on Firefox for Linux, from what I've experienced).

Arrow-x says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:11pm

polished game need to be a bit clearer (Instructions)

ashdnazg says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:44pm

Very original and very hard!

Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:03pm

In the long run the game is a bit repetitive, but that's a nice entry for just a few hours, and the tablet is a great idea.

Morusque says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:59pm

Wo ! I love the concept. I'm playing the windows version so the timings seem a bit unbalanced to me (it's supposed to allow multitouch, right ?) but I can imagine how it feels to play on a tablet.

voidstar69 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:46pm

The original version did not seem to work on iPad, but the post-compo version works a charm. The multitouch support is great.

Vile Smile says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:08am

I really like the idea. Very unique.

panurge says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 9:50am

Plays perfectly on my ipad. I loved the idea and the dexterity-testing gameplay. Really nice clean look too. Great fun!

Fififox says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 9:02pm

Those comments make me sooo happy! :)

Sep 14, 2013 @ 3:42pm

had a hard time stopping more thna one bubble from popping at a time.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]