August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

I Am Time Bomb

by LegacyCrono - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A multiplayer game for up to 4 Players.
You are Time Bomb. You'll explode in 10 seconds. Spread bombs through the floor. Make the biggest chain reaction with your own explosion.

More information on the README file.
NOTE: Best played with gamepads

08/29: NEW! HTML5 port added. Use Google Chrome for best results.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness94%
#76Humor3.54
#213Theme3.54
#259Graphics3.42
#277Innovation3.37
#309Audio2.97
#313Mood3.06
#322Overall3.30
#425Fun3.08

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:50pm

Looks fun & solid! Too bad I get these constant reminders DLLs are missing

Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:53pm

this was cool.
liked the animation and the little captions that appeared before detonation.

skullbonejp says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:35pm

Nice game you got there! And it is funny too xD

lcass says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:34pm

not to sure how to play.

pereubu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:41pm

cool cool cool cool. I like the concept a lot :D

Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:44pm

I am not cool enough to know anybody to play with. :(

markengley says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:54pm

Very stylish execution. Great work!

SamC says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:20pm

Fun game, good style.

BomberGames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:25pm

I really like the style of this game. It feels well put together (Has sounds, lots of different end sayings, different pickups) I was only able to play with myself but this seems like it would be a really fun party game.

It has a certain unfairness element to it, the bombs go so far from the player and the mines are hard to plan for. However, I feel like this contributes to the atmosphere of the party game, there's nothing like seeing your friend's carefully laid plans dashed away by a dumb-luck piece of shrapnel.

Great game, I'd love to see this go somewhere (Seems like it would do especially well on Ouya.)

rejome says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:27pm

Nice concept and good idea to perform a multiplayer game (except my computer does not allow more than 6 keys pressed at a time...) I find that gameplay is not very userfriendly though.

Meep says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:28pm

Nice fun idea! Sadly I didn't have anyone to play with. :(

Venturelli says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:03pm

Took me a while to understand how to play, but it's really cool! Wish I had +3 people to play now!!! Great job!

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:04am

Very enjoyable. :)

CogentInvalid says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:09am

Took me a while to figure it out, but it's a really interesting concept. I wish I had people to play it with, since it seems like it would be a lot of fun.

LordHellMaX says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:40am

Yes, nice concept, I wish I had friends though :( Haha, but honestly it is a really nice kind of gameplay to play with some buddies with the gamepads. Good job!

ratking says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:11am

Awesome idea! But we had no idea how to play it - the timelimit makes it very confusing! ;-)
Small suggestion for the control scheme: First player should have Enter as Pick/Throw, so it's nearer to their hand.

ezolotko says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:34pm

Good game

DaGamesta says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:41pm

Hard to understand how to play, otherwise it seems like it might've been fun.

netgrind says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:38pm

For some reason the link isn't loading :( I'll have to try again later.

Kragnir says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:49am

After figuring out how to play the game it seems kind of interesting. Requiring more than 1 player is a bit much though.

Tom 7 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:08am

Love the graphics and sound. Seems like a pretty fun game, though I was just playing by myself so it's hard to really judge that. I felt like there was a lot of waiting given how short a round is, though...

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:34am

Quite funny, and it's a solid entry, well done!

BMacIntosh says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:46am

I played it by myself, but I'm saving this one to find some friends to play with. Very solid.

Jordo76 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:57am

This was fun ! Good job :D

vladimirdlc says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:58pm

I wish it had it also AI. Anyway, it's really cool to see multiplayer games in the ludum dare.
The port is great news! I would love to try this with some friends on the OUYA.

Solifuge says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:38am

Fun little game, that looks like it'd be great with other players. The captions remind me of that old Tank Game whose name escapes me right now. I wonder; are those big crates reachable? I enjoyed myself, so thank you for putting this together.

gre says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:15pm

Looks good. I like that multiplayer thing (but didn't find anyone to play right now).
Wasn't able to find how to trigger that chain reaction.

BrothersT says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:20pm

Haha I like the weird quotes. get down is a personal fav. Really like the concept. the menu selection is a bit sensitive :P

ghRibacki says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:30pm

Wow! Haha! Very funny game! I wasn't able to get other three players but I can tell it would be fun!

I was a little bit confused about the items at first, but it's just a matter of experimenting.

I liked especially the phrases at the end! =D

davisan says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:30am

Nice concept. Should be very fun with more players. And the phrases are very funny.

zlowrance says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:38pm

Good game, I enjoyed the graphics and the death dialogue :D

ratalaika says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:52pm

good job

BenWhi says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:28pm

Veeeery original + cool game! The comments before exploding cracked me up. Would be a LOT of fun to play with other people!

BeardoGames says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:50pm

Great sense of humor in the captions, and love the graphic style. Super ambitious to do an arena multiplayer for LD, but you totally pulled it off! Excellent work!

proc says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:49pm

I like the idea, the gameplay execution is lacking but I suspect you know that. I like the little guys graphics and the start screen is cool

hbocao says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:17pm

I like the NES-like feeling that I get playing this. Too bad I didn't had 3 more people to play with. Sounds so much fun!

neekobus says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:08pm

I am sad because the walls doesn't explode !

Literal Games says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:28pm

Pretty damn interesting game, and I wish I had people to play it with!

dekart says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:59pm

I like the idea of chain reaction, but I didn't manage to cause such one.

GagaPete says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:10pm

Very pulished game, love the gamepad support in the HTML5 version. With 3 more players it would be really fun, I'm sure. :)

Antidote says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 12:50am

Wish I had more people to play, I guess it makes more sense when you're not playing alone xD

Foxtacy says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 11:20pm

This is really fun!

It would be even more fun if it had sound effects and music, but regardless, the gameplay is really good and fun! :)

Anachron says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 4:51pm

This game is the bomb!

jonbro says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 12:31pm

ok, feedback! (couch this however you want, just want to give you some critique).

there doesn't seem like a bunch of space for meaningful decisions in the game. Since most of the pickups have physics attached to them, it is difficult to intentionally place things, and since you can't reorder your inventory, you might as well just be given a bunch of random drops up front. Two ways to deal with this that I can think of: make the pickups not bounce around, and in fact just have one pickup. If you had more than one pickup, things that interact in the explosion phase would be pretty amazing. This may have been in the game already, and I didn't notice it, but what I could tell is that most of the pickups effected the countdown phase. this game seems like it would be more interesting if it was a multiplayer version of every extend, where there was some danger and risk to tightening up your placement too much, because another player could steal it from you.

Also (and I know this is from the LD theme, so feel free to ignore) the time limit is working against it. If there was some hidden bidding process to ending the game (like two players need to press a secondary button), then I think that interesting strategies could emerge.

Sep 5, 2013 @ 6:58pm

Pretty polished little multiplayer game. Too bad I dont have friends :P I did however feature it in my LD27 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DZbxb_2pbIE

DuduSAr says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 2:50pm

I liked the presentation! And the idea is nice. I just would like some explanation about the effect of each item so I could use it in a better way in the first time I played ;)
I would also like to see a version to play via web!

motty says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 2:18am

Looks like it would be a lot of fun with others. Would quite like to play a version with computer AI though. Either way, a fine effort.

Vaughn says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 7:51am

Sadly I have to echo all the others. No friends to play with! From what I can play, everything seems very well done. Power-ups seem pretty interesting as well.

Urfoex says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 8:36am

I guess you need friends to play this one right.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]