August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Sphere of Destiny

by trylle - Jam Entry

note: this is pretty much just a glorified tech demo at this point. i am sad. :(

synopsis: your sphereship has met with disaster. being so far out in space means that no-one is coming to your rescue. with no power generation abilities on your ship, your home planet is beaming energy to your ship at 10 second intervals, and you have to make do with that to survive the perils of space (...surprisingly only asteroids).

'w' forward
's' back
rotate camera by right click dragging on the sphere
'c' to build capacitor
'h' to build shield station
't' to build turret
select an object, press 'l' and another object to link them together.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1806Coolness17%

Comments

Acr1m says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:26am

Aww :( I'd love to try out your game, but it seems the link is broken :/

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:49am

The link is working for me. I love the idea, nice concept !

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:50am

Seemed interesting but it was telling me I didn't have MSVCP110.dll - I checked in my system folders and its in there. I'm running Win8 64-bit.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:59am

Sorry, my bad, it was MSVCR110.dll - but I got it working now. Seems like an interesting idea!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:09pm

I think you were onto something here but it really needs more time to be fleshed out. Very interesting concept though. The graphic style is really cool!

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:15pm

Avast is reporting malware in SDL.dll. Probably a false positive but maybe you could check it out?

trylle says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:50am

ArcturusDeluxe: Sorry about the missing CRT dlls - forgot I was building on VS2012. They're included in the zip now.

DaanVanYperen: Well, that's a bit surprising given that I built that DLL myself from the SDL repository. :) I don't actually use it in this game, though, so I might try to get that dependency removed.

koe415 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:07am

Great graphics and the concept really has potential. Would like to get my hands on a more fully implemented game!

truiton says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:45am

the graphics are great, but as you said, not very playable for now. inseresting idea :)

Zammy says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:58am

It crashed with this error: "[error] dev->CreateTexture2d(&tdesc, nullptr, &tex)@src\ld_d3d11.cpp:1799 failed with error 0x80070057 (The parameter is incorrect.)E_INVALIDARG: An invalid parameter was passed to the returning function"
I've send a crash report. I'm running a 32 bit Windows.
So sorry I couldn't play your game :(

01rafael says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:56am

I have no solutions how to play this game. But, graphics looks nice

Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:36am

Why are you sad?? This is the awesomest tech demo ever. There's something about the idea of owning your own deathstar that's very compelling.

Also I've always loved games where you control a planet and can rotate around it.
It's even kind of fun as it is!

Top marks for graphics and mood as well, and I hope you develop this further (please)

kibertoad says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:08am

this could make a great Death Star game, if finished.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]