August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Second Lead

by Sinuath - Jam Entry

This is my first "finished" LD game, it really only has one level, and there is no sound, I prepared some but there was trouble exporting some native LWJGL thing. So soundless it is, there wasn't a whole lot of places to put it besides the win/lose screens anyway.

Still happy to have competed. For what it is, i'm happy with how it turned out.

EDIT:

8/27/2013 - It seems that the people who can't run it have an outdated version of java, if it isn't working try updating to java 7 and it should work fine(if not please leave a message so i know i'm wrong :/)

Follow me @Sinuath !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#305Theme(Jam)3.04
#453Mood(Jam)2.44
#458Overall(Jam)2.73
#524Fun(Jam)2.27
#527Innovation(Jam)2.32
#569Graphics(Jam)2.07

Comments

c0nfused says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:51pm

It looks like I am missing your map file when I run the jar, I get the following:


error loading map
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.NullPointerException
at Maze.Map.readFile(Map.java:65)
at Maze.Map.<init>(Map.java:31)
at Maze.Board.<init>(Board.java:53)
at Maze.Maze.<init>(Maze.java:21)
at Maze.Maze.main(Maze.java:10)

madk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:48pm

It doesn't seem to run for me, either.

kapoty says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:49pm

A simple game :D

Sinuath says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:53pm

Ouch, i'll see what i can do! Sorry!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:39am

Its working now! Played, Liked, Shared, and Voted!

Adjotur says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:25am

It wouldn't run for me.

MrBlade says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:30am

Nice job! I liked your take on the theme. Maybe learn how to do repetitive keystrokes, and possibly add more levels. Keep it up!

Generalgore says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:36am

sorry, can't get it to run.. :/

Sinuath says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:38am

Thanks!

Adjotur did you get any warnings or error messages? maybe it's something i can fix?

MrBlade, yeah if i put any more work into this i'll have to do that. I had it on keystroke "release" but it started getting on my nerves while i was debugging.

BloodJohn says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:45am

funny maze for 10 sec of run.

timtipgames says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:17am

Works fine for me. Not too exciting but always good to see someone finish a game for the first time in a LD :) Congratulations :)

Surrealix says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:42am

It ran for me. Congratulations on your first LD game. To polish it up you should look at capturing more than one keystroke and perhaps randomly generating a maze (it's not too hard).

Ray_Mickelino says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:08pm

It's fun, but a little short. More levels would be good.

spliter says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:28am

Game fails to open for me, says "Could not find the main class Maze.maze"

Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:42am

a really good maze game

Brejlounek says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:28pm

Very easy but good

Ninja says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:32pm

Cool, good job on finishing!

Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:55pm

Simple little game, a restart button if you died would have been nice. Its a shame time ran out, and sadly this game would not record for my LD27 compilation series... sorry

Tegu says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:17pm

Actually a quite nice idea and the maze is cool. Absolutely needs more levels as currently it's challenging only the first time when you haven't yet found out the route. The next time you'll know exactly where to go and it kills fun. :/ Maybe even some kind of generator (implementing one might be hard though, dunno)?

necmelt2006 says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 2:50pm

That fun, nice game (i like the fatality :p), more levels are needed and don't forget the score ;)

goerp says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 9:36am

Haha, fun game. Nice game mechanic. Reminds of making games in Excel and using SelectionChange as a trigger.

Broxxar says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 3:10pm

Congratulations on completing your first Ludum Dare !(and maybe even first game?) A superb effort. As per your post mortem, things get easier the more you make games and get familiar with the various libraries you use.

Hope you can participate again LD #28 and with an even better game!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]