August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Defuse the Bomb in 10 Seconds!

by ethankennerly - 48 Hour Compo Entry

DEFUSE THE BOMB IN 10 SECONDS!

Click the plug connecting the RED explosives.

A 2-day game by Ethan Kennerly
for Ludum Dare (August 23 to 25) 2013
Theme: 10 seconds
at themade.org
Sounds copied from LabChirp examples.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#38Theme3.97
#192Fun3.41
#217Overall3.44
#348Innovation3.26
#380Audio2.85
#489Mood2.81
#543Graphics2.91
#1156Coolness48%

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:13am

Wow I love the gameplay ! I also like the progression of the difficulty. I keep exploding after 11-12 levels ;)

BMacIntosh says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:19am

Great implementation of the theme! Are the levels randomly generated? They get quite hard to look at around 30, and it seems like sometimes there are weird really easy ones that just pop up.

shohs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:23am

Pretty good game. I am a bit confused how the level counter works. It seemed to be randomly incrementing itself. Other than that, this is a solid entry

kevinAlbs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:39am

Cool idea. I as well am confused about some of the levels. Some seem to not make sense.

AGDG_REJECT says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:41am

Clear use of theme and lots of levels with a fair challenge.

Dotanukii says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:18am

Pretty challenging in the later levels, and a lot of fun, simple concept done well, nice job!

Infernal says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:46am

pretty dang fun, some overlaps later got a little hard to understand though due to.... self overlapping?

dmastergames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:55pm

Nice Work :)

cafeine says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:11pm

Tense puzzle game. The difficulty curve is a bit weird but I like it actually, it adds to the tension.

pythong says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:20pm

after level 6 or so, all the white lines disappeared and i could just pull the plug on the remaining line. was that intentional?

KevinWorkman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:01am

Great minds think alike! I actually like your implementation better than mine. I could see this being a mini-game inside a larger game when you have to unlock a door or something!

siat says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:58am

Nice puzzle game. I think there are a couple of bugs in the (what I assume is) automatic level generation, but I admire the attempt.

zillix says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:38am

great take on the theme! the minimalist design really added to the experience

alts says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:39am

There is something about the way the plugs respond to hover and clicks that's just very satisfying. The early hand crafted levels are good. Thing get tricky with the overlapping in the later stages.

ethankennerly says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:58pm

@BMacIntosh, @kevinAlbs, @Infernal, @siat, You're absolutely right; you would expect the wires in the random levels to not backtrack upon themselves and to cross each other perpendicularly. Your insightful observation confirms I can improve that part of the program which I failed to solve during the weekend.

@pythong, That does feel out of order; you would expect to adjust the difficulty to introduce more complicated levels sooner.

@shohs, Good point! You would expect the level counter to go up by one, or at least to be able to guess why the level counter is changing.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:28pm

Nice, it's really fun game. Good job.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:53pm

It's nice to find a game that I can just pick up and play without having to either download or read 20 paragaph instruction manual! This is really simple and original, and fun. I like it. The other commenters have already pointed out the small flaws which could be improved upon so no point me rehashing it. Well done.

HD408 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:37pm

Well-done. Quite challenging, that's a concentration-demanding one.

xndr says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:06am

interesting idea.

GFM says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:52pm

Nice game. :)

fullmontis says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:22pm

Surprisingly addictive for how simple it is! Really enjoyed it.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]