August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Candle Man

by Spotlightor Gao - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A candle is trapped in a dark dungeon. He must burn himself to illuminate the nearby environment and find the way out. But the candle light can only last 10 seconds, use it wisely!

=====================

*** GAME CONTROL ***
- ASDW / Arrow keys to move
- Space to jump
- Hold left mouse button to burn the candle

================
All models and textures are made in 48 hours with Blender and Photoshop. Music and GUI sound effects created on inudge.net and recorded by Audacity. Fire & ghost sound effects are from OpenGameArt.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#15Theme4.17
#26Innovation4.06
#27Overall3.97
#30Graphics4.23
#40Fun3.82
#97Mood3.53
#176Audio3.24
#367Humor2.61

Comments

REIN1 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:02am

very cool,but little hard.

mobyvb says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:27am

I really liked this concept. Pretty fun!

DGSpitzer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:48am

nice!

Clurect says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:26am

Really good and fun. I even made it to the end! Music was good, but a little too loopy. I scared myself on the first level with the saws :D

tamy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:33am

The idea is awesome,animations were really well done and cool mood.

TomCooper3D says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:35am

really good idea for a 10 second game. great mood very pretty

oxysoft says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:40am

What can I say, this is nearly perfect. The graphics are very aesthetically pleasing. The game managed to keep me playing despite its boring and slow nature. The only thing I could say is that the camera was a little annoying when walking back with S since it turns automatically.

DavidErosa says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:53am

Haha, loved the candle-man model and animation! Also, the concept looks really innovative to me. Thanks!

Fervir says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:24am

this was really cool.
I liked the sounds.
Very nice game

RARoadkill says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:27am

Loved the game, fun concept and tight gameplay. Only thing I could see that might need to be changed is that I was able to flicker the light by rapidly clicking the mouse and it didn't use hardly any time. Maybe have a min time the light stays on to keep people like me from flickering my way to victory

Tifu says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:50pm

Nice work, a decent challenge, I like that if you burn up your time, you still have a chance if you can make it in the dark D
Good job on the graphics!

MinionStudios says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:21pm

Love it! great art and good puzzles!

PeaCe says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:42pm

Best game we played till now. Congrats.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:58pm

I enjoyed the platforming in this, and the light mechanic was used very effectively!

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:01pm

I really enjoyed the atmosphere of the game.
Levels are nice. As you wrote in your P.M. it's a pity you couldn't design more of them.

recursor says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:57pm

Very unique idea ... and it works for the most part. Nice graphics and gameplay. Well done

Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:20pm

Very nice idea and challenging gameplay!

paraple-geek says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:23am

It's a five for me! I basically loved everything in your game, great job!

0xc0dec says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:46pm

Very cool, both graphics and gameplay

Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:54pm

Very nice entry, very polished, but a bit easy if you just keep "flashing" your light on and off...
Still, I think for the compo it's against the rules to use sound effects from OpenGameArt and similar sites, you are supposed to do them yourself... but that's the only bad thing i have to say about this. ;)

Purplescape says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 10:05pm

Love the graphics and animations! The gameplay is challenging and fun.

Sep 4, 2013 @ 12:38am

@Martin_Monosys Thanks for your comment, I'll remove the sound effects from the compo version ;)

Sep 5, 2013 @ 3:45pm

Hmmm, yeah it's a shame really, but those are the rules. As I try to keep them, I always point it out when I think something is wrong... This was a minor offense, tough... And no need to thank me for getting you into trouble... XD!

skiesgamingtv says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 10:06pm

Great entry ! Really like the use of the theme on this one.
Controls and graphics are also very well thought.
Here is a run where I finish the game :
http://youtu.be/QEBuGx95HEk

Lancelot Gao says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 3:33pm

@skiesgamingtv Thank you for your video walk through. It's a great honor for me and my game entry!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]