August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Mebby

by 7Soul - Jam Entry

You are Mebby, an amoeba flying in an unknown space where many strange creatures dwell.

As an amoeba, you have the power to transform into anything you kill and this will protect you from becoming a dead amoeba.

Controls:
Mouse to move and shoot

Instructions:
You have to kill something, otherwise you will take damage every 10 seconds. Kill an enemy to transform into it and reset the counter.

You can keep an history of 8 enemies you have killed, so when you die you go back 1 on the list.


Credits:
Programming:
Henrique "7Soul" Lazarini

Music and SFX:
Lucas "X-wing9" Barcellos

Graphics:
Matheus "Mat" Leiras
Thiago "Guax" Portella

HUD:
Renato "Reanto" Gusmao

Dubstep by FreebieFM

and Nicolas Cage as Cicolas Nage
also freesound.org

Made with Construct 2

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#11Humor(Jam)4.13
#18Fun(Jam)3.84
#28Overall(Jam)3.88
#41Graphics(Jam)4.35
#47Innovation(Jam)3.72
#63Audio(Jam)3.64
#100Mood(Jam)3.48
#242Theme(Jam)3.20
#1563Coolness32%

Comments

TijmenTio says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:04am

Ditto!

DissidentDan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:19am

Well-done! Interesting control scheme. Very pretty.

Cryovat says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:39am

I tried to figure out which drugs you were on when you made it, and realized it must be ALL OF THEM.

(review of game coming tomorrow)

Foxtacy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:52am

THIS GAME IS SO FUCKING AWESOME DUDE!

Take all my votes.

bassarisse says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:29am

I didn't quite understand what was going on, but I played a lot!

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:40am

That was very amusing! Loved it!

Anachron says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:42am

Warning: Extremely realistic amoeba simulator.

fullmontis says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:21am

Great game!

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:45am

Like your change-character-life system. But game actually is about nothing =(

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:06pm

Wow this is cool! I really like that you become that last enemy you killed. The giant countdown fits really well with the overall atmosphere. Great game guys!

zatyka says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:29pm

Dude, that was awesome. I loved the variety of weapons, the art style, the music, and pretty much everything else. It's a lot to take in, but I really enjoyed it quite a bit. I hope you keep working on it.

Erkberg says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:55am

Super-awesome! Loved the graphics, sounds, the idea of changing your character by kills and the fast-pacedness. Overall one of the most fun games I've played at LD.

Moosefly says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:23pm

Good solid game! Not the bees! :D

Cryovat says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:53pm

THE FACE!

This is probably the trippiest game I've played since Space Giraffe, and it's a lot of fun. The graphics and presentation is amazing.

I just wish it was a twin stick shooter. The current controls are too weird, and detract a bit from the experience. Feels a bit like you're battling the controls while trying to avoid the flying tiki heads.

Lots of fun though. And the graphics, the sounds and presentation of the thing is just mindblowing.

Beardbotnik says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:04pm

Interesting game, I feel like it didn't incorporate the theme too much though, the concept of the characters was interesting, the controls made it a tougher game to play, I feel like controlling and aiming made for some unnecessarily harder game play. Other than that I felt the game looked nice and was entertaining.

Ariake81 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:59pm

loved loved loved this!! really funny, totally random

played it for ages

Tiago says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:59am

what a nice and addictive game! hahaha very good mechanics and transformations! great job!

SneManden says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:18am

What a game! Haha, very funny and hectic! Really nice with the variety in creatures that you can possess. Great entry!

hypp says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:02pm

Great work! Fun to play!

graytest says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:52pm

I liked the game, but not really the control scheme. Maybe it's because I only have a mouse pad on my laptop.

Sep 3, 2013 @ 2:59pm

Omg your games get better and better!!!!

Thanks for making this, amazing work ( I, of course, remember you from your previous LDs )

Sep 15, 2013 @ 3:39pm

That was really crazy and fun, so many references lol

Soundless_dev says ...
Nov 12, 2013 @ 10:26pm

lel. NOT THE BEEeEEeeEEEeeESS!!!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]