August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Hell Pizza

by h_double - 48 Hour Compo Entry

HELL PIZZA

Your nemesis challenged you to a duel, only they didn't show up alone, they brought ten seconds. You didn't stand a chance.

Now you're dead and in hell and delivering pizzas. Their motto? "Your pizza in ten seconds or eternal torment". Yeah it doesn't make much sense but it's hell. All you know is you're going to have to deliver a lot of pizzas to earn the chance to return to earth and get your revenge.

But this is hell. There are no pizzas. What's going on here?!?!?


LINER NOTES:

I am primarily a musician. I've tooled around with game design a bit but this is my first attempt at a Ludum submission. My priorities making this were to come up with some cool music and interesting artwork, and due to various technical difficulties (being pretty new to HaxePunk), there isn't much in the way of gameplay. This was still a good exercise for the process, plus I learned a lot and have some good ideas to build on.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#237Audio3.12
#693Humor2.00
#748Mood2.48
#813Graphics2.47
#1134Innovation1.94
#1156Fun1.81
#1166Overall2.00
#1182Theme1.58

Comments

loolpolo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:11am

what a crazy game.

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:17am

Firstly, like the splash screen art/animation. :) Audio is really psychedelic, feels like an acid trip... a really really good one.

Mr.Greenhat says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:47am

I like the graphics style and especially the music :)

Fireblend says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:08am

I uh. What? Huh.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:33am

That was bizarre, nonsensical, and mind-bending. Exactly what I needed right now! :P

jay griffin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:58am

Really like the audio work on this one, gives it all a nice, trippy feel. There might not be a lot of game there, but it's definitely the start of something interesting.

Anachron says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:40am

Fun, but I'm slightly confused by the plotline.

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:08pm

When you said there's not much in the way of gameplay, you meant it.

The background is trippy as heck and I actually like the plotline which you outline in your description. In a silly sort of way.

zatyka says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:46pm

Cool music, and wild background were my favorite parts. I really don't know what that was.

Tom 7 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:47pm

I wish this had been called SkullSlower-3000!
I like the music track, though the repeating jellyfish noise is kind of distracting from it.

Brejlounek says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:49pm

Oh, this is really psychedelic. I like it even though whole point of this is... wel... stopping souls in my hovercraft? :D

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:51pm

What was the 10 second theme? What was I supposed to do or nothing? I couldn't collect the skulls, and hitting them didn't hurt me so I was just in an endless loop of confusion. The music was good for the first few seconds then it looping over and over got odd. Graphics were best part!

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:03am

haha the music is the best part. and this is freaky. still have no idea if doing anything in the game is possible.

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:49am

This game is nuts.

klianc09 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:23am

Well, you didn't make a game, but what you made is great on its on rights.

xndr says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:07am

I can't assume the game goal, but it's fun! Especially art and music.

folmerkelly says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:10am

I'm not completely sure what I'm doing in this video game but I feel like the answer is "everything".

tigerj says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:36am

very crazy and cool game. It felt like a real experiment in the medium and begged the question of games as art.

I really enjoyed the experience.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:04am

Crazy cool game with great art and music! I enjoyed it!
I featured it in my Ludum Dare 27 compilation video series, if youd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/7EzKbFuvC2A

andwhatnot says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:37pm

I like the art!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]