August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 SECONDS

by Dark Acre Jack - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Mouse/Gamepad to Look | Left-Click/A to Interact
Escape/Start for Menu

Do not adjust your speakers: there is no audio. Please rate accordingly.

Built in 20 hours. OSX/Linux standalones untested.

Thanks for the time.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#242Graphics3.47
#261Mood3.15
#281Innovation3.36
#610Overall3.00
#795Humor1.85
#981Theme2.62
#1109Fun2.02

Comments

mpath says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:54am

Strong concept that might be fleshed out with further development.

megashroom says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:00am

Mad visuals man.

raincole says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:01am

Good game. But it somehow crashes my Unity webplayer constantly.

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:03am

I'm confused. I hold the left mouse button. I go slowly towards a thing. I reach the thing. I see a green face. I'm back where I started. What am I missing?

Steve says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:18am

Not sure what's going on. First I got a happy face, then a sad face. Well. Nice graphics though.

Oh, I tried it again. The first time, I came back to the 1st swimming scene after I just finished it. Now I got to the crawling part, but I don't know where to crawl. Can't even turn all the way in some directions.

Could be the start of a cool idea though.

Ramon Imbao says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:26am

Some stuff just take too long, but that's probably part of the point you were trying to get across. Great stuff!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:38am

That was fantastic! I'm glad I was patient.

zillix says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:49am

that was a fantastic experience. awesome presentation!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:03am

Quite unusual. Not a "game", but an experience for sure!

MegaMasterX says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:21am

Fantastic graphics. Had to hunt down 7-zip to pull the RAR, but it was worth it. My Unity Web Player kept crashing on this, no clear way to progress beyond the first visual. A few plays got me beyond it. Not bad at all.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:14am

Great idea and implementation. You got an extra bonus to take the care of exporting standalones for OSX and Linux. Almost all Unity guys forget to do it. I run the Linux version and it works!

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:46pm

That's the first "non-game" I've seen in this LD so far, and, man, good job.

cschwartz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:59pm

Nice idea and implementation.

olafurw says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:47pm

Very concept heavy, good idea.

Canobie says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:47pm

Very... interesting. Cool and innovative.

Inertia says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:49pm

Lovely. Hope everyone has the patience to reach the ladder part.

Mythalore says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:50pm

Kind of simple, but could be great with some work! Very nice graphics.

BloodJohn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:55pm

Very mysterious.
Outplayed the third time, but did not understand my mission.

DWallin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:11am

An interesting experience. Some parts feel a bit dragged out and very clearbut overall it piqued my interest. A simple soundtrack could have really pumped up the ambiance, even if it was just white noise.

Larzan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:25am

Love the concept, good take on the theme, nice visuals, really well made.

Glad to hear you got your cat back, i can relate :|

CoffeeOnimal says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:23pm

Very moving.
Unfortunately will be cursed with the "non-game" moniker which is unfortunate.

cafeine says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:02pm

Interesting. I'm curious about why you chose precisely these three elements (s*x, m***y,d**gs) in the "ladder" level.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:42pm

Are those stars? What is this place? ...tails? Oh, I get it. It's a Sperm-Simulator :P

withoutpillow says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:14pm

interesting game. striking visuals and atmosphere.

Boodog says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:53am

Awesome game but would've been loads better with audio.

Zerkruemler says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:20am

Very cool game. It is impressive how life can change with such simple interactions. Some sounds (silent background) would be nice to improve the athmosphere

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:00am

Whoa, great. All you need is some audio that goes well with the mood. Beautiful game with a strong message.

ratking says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:30am

I walked through that room, back and forth, and suddenly walked through the wall and everything became blue. End of story? ;-)

Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:43pm

Very peculiar experience, with a strong punchline and the polished (even with the lack of sound) that I came to expect from Dark Acre :)
Another job well done!

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:25pm

As experiences go, this was quite awesome! Good Job!

Sep 3, 2013 @ 5:30pm

Found this game ever interesting. Good game overall but it wasnt what I expected. I featured it in my Ludum dare compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yp9ky-3J3J4

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]