August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Village of Lost Time

by EpaceGames - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Can you save your daughter in time?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#13Graphics4.43
#18Overall4.03
#20Theme4.08
#45Innovation3.94
#57Fun3.73
#118Mood3.46
#198Humor3.03
#343Audio2.92

Comments

misson20000 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:52am

I LOVE IT! This is an awesome game. Although it was a bit hard to figure out at first, once I got it it was really fun.

Beardbotnik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:27am

Fun game, smooth controls, quite a bit hard. Overall I think the only thing that would really make it better is a little bit of background music. Awesome job!

DavidBittner says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:07am

That was AMAZING! Fantastic job! I seriously loved every bit of it! Great graphics and everything!

Jishenaz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:29am

One of the best I played yet.

rasmusrn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:44am

Never tried anything like this. I like how you get the feel of "ordered chaos" without every entity being somewhat controlled by an AI :)

Also, I like the graphics very much :)

nicotuason says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:21am

Awesome! Perfect interpretation of the 10 second theme as a game mechanic. Clean and appealing art. The story is icing on the cake. My only nitpick is that I feel the chief changed his mind a bit too quickly at the end. Really enjoyed playing!

caranha says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:25am

Hello Epace! Thanks for the game. The graphics were really neat, and your idea for gameplay based on the theme was spot on. The game was a bit "chatty" in the beginning, but the story took a nice turn in the end.

Two weak points you could try to work on:
- Sound: I think the game could use somewhat better sound effects, and a bit of music
- Bugs: Towards the end, sometimes spirits that I had killed would crop up again - maybe the game was losing track of some of the warriors?

Anyway, thanks again for the game, it was really good.

Here is a video of me playing it before this review:
http://youtu.be/mvMs9BogmqA

hughsk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:17am

Really fun! Great job getting all of that together in 48 hours :)

wallmasterr says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:15pm

nice , i was expecting to see a few time recording ganmes liek tghsi but this one is realy polished , well done. I couldnt figure out how to get the mage out though :(

mortus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:04pm

Great idea and great game. Too pity the sync is not perfect, sometimes older "yous" don't do what you did back then.

X-0r says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:33pm

Overall 5/5 for me! This game is just awesome!
The gameplay reminds me a bit of chronotron, where past instances of yourself press buttons etc.
The storyline behind all this is deeper than I initially expected. Thank you for submitting this gem!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:00pm

Great concept, lots of fun to play! Congratulations on making a finished piece, too.

tamat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:34pm

Good work! I loved the progression!

Pitzik4 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:46pm

This game was great! This was the kind of concept for which it would be really easy to not use it properly and make something really annoying, but I can see a lot of little things at work here to make it less bothersome - for instance, the totems seem to target gatherers last.
The graphics are great, also, especially for 48 hours, along with programming a pretty complicated concept. This is the kind of quality I would be impressed by in a Jam entry. The only thing that reveals the time limit is the ending. It seems a bit rushed, but I can't exactly complain. I am guilty of creating some rushed endings, as well.

jijaweb says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:13pm

Cool

jijaweb says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:14pm

Cool game and concept. Very nice graphics.

flarb says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:39pm

GREAT graphics!!

Spelchan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:28pm

Great game. The game got a bit confusing after a while. Perhaps if you ghosted out the earlier versions it would be clear who you were controlling.

Xgor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:14pm

Great game. I loved the way the the theme was used and the gameplay.
It got a bit repetitive at the end but I had a great time playing it.

Split82 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:37pm

Great! At the end it was a little bit repetitive, but it's a top notch quality. I love the visuals.

RedHot says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:38pm

I must say I'm impressed. I think you stand a real chance to win this compo!. Fingers crossed

krooked590 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:59pm

this game was so amazing. i am still impressed 30 min after. i was a little dissapointed when the game ended because, well, i didnt want it to end...lol

flod says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:59pm

Love this game sooooo much!

goyal says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:45pm

I have never seen a 'force start' button before. Just curious what does it actually do behind the scenes as opposed to waiting for actually the game to start?

Love the laser coming out of the totem eyes.

flyingbear says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:18am

This game is incredible. Well executed setting and multi-tiered game mechanics. Some of the lines of dialog had me laughing out loud. I couldn't tell how the javelin resource was getting used up (I seemed to keep accumulating it), but minor detail in an extremely enjoyable experience.

wally2069 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:10am

A ten second RTS game is rather interesting

Ithildin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:44am

Very good job!

It took me a couple of minutes to figure out what to do, but once you get the hang of it, it's quite fun. Also, I enjoyed the story (and specially, its conclusion), and the visual style is terrific.

EpaceGames says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:19pm

Thanks for the comments you guys!

goyal, I was paranoid so I added the "force start button" to skip the preloader in case it broke. Ironically, the button itself breaks the game and the preloader is fine.

caranha, thanks so much for the honest video review! It gave me great insight on areas where I should improve for future games and jams.

aquilicoco says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:55pm

Good job

AaronGordon says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:57pm

Awesome! Love the use of the theme and the art style is fantastic. A bit hard to figure out what to do at times and it did become a repetitive after the third guy. Very impressive on the whole!

markusfisch says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:45pm

Great game and a great idea! Took me a while to make it to the wisdom at the end. Incredible that you even had the time to do a final scene! Very well done.

Nerlin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:37pm

Wow! Such an awesome game! Best game I played this Ludum Dare before. 5/5

Erkberg says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:08am

Wow, what a great game! The concept is awesome and I absolutely love those graphics.

lekochen says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:10am

Good concept and very well executed. Love it!

zillix says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:51am

fantastic. the gameplay evolved smoothly, and it was all very intuitive. the graphics and animations were fantastic. well done!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:09pm

Top marks for graphics! Also very fun, thank you for this!

Venturelli says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:28pm

Great all-round execution, congrats!

blay09 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:35pm

Very nice graphics and I liked the dialogues. The gameplay got a bit repetitive after the first totem got destroyed. And of course it was nice to see all those old copies doing their job. :)

leafo says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:32pm

awesome idea! beautiful graphics, really well done for 48 hours

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:03pm

Art reminds me of Kingdom Rush. :)

LordHellMaX says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:36am

Looks a lot like Kingdom Rush. It was quite nice. I didn't understand 100% what was going on, but it felt different and I enjoyed it. Nice job!

TijmenTio says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:48pm

Loved the humor, gameplay was fun and just overall a great entry, well done!

blackotus says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:05pm

I really like this.
I love having to plan a bit ahead so you can slay the totems later.
The story is also pretty good, and the presenations is nice.

Good job!

Sep 4, 2013 @ 1:56pm

Great game, I love the rewind-record mechanic! Could do with some changing up of the mechanics after the first totem or two but it is a fantastic jam game and base for greater things. Good job!

michail says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 9:21pm

Beautiful graphics for the game made in 48 hours. Some background music would surely add to the game's mood.

emveyh says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 7:00pm

Great game. The recording was a bit out of sync, which made it a more difficult than it should be. I really liked the art :)

LTyrosine says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 5:01am

Amazing game... Very clever idea, nice graphics. In top 10 in my opinion!

lesterpig says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 10:14am

Excellent one. Nothing to say :)

Broxxar says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 4:33am

Really like this one. Well done!

Sep 16, 2013 @ 5:22am

Great game. Took a bit to 'get it' but once I did it was a lot of fun. Very nice art and smooth controls. Great job for 48 hours.

bitserum says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 5:55am

LOVE this! One of the best I've played, and probably my favorite. It's fun, just challenging enough without being too hard, the graphics are great, the theme is executed well and the story is quite nice (especially with a few comedic moments, and I love the resolution).
The whole game is just long enough to not have the existing play mechanics become repetitive.

The only thing that is lacking is some background music, maybe overall audio design but that's such a minor detail, and what is already there is quite decent.

Anachron says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 6:53am

Rad graphics!

frogmaster says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 7:27am

I love the idea. Villagers are a bit bugged but the game is still playable. Also great effort on assets!

Capro says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 8:58am

Very well made game. You did a great work! :)

someone says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 6:12pm

That was awesome, great job.

dudsen says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 7:13pm

Unbieleavable good concept for the theme!

tchem says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 8:26pm

awesome!!! very nice, the graphics are great!!!

rincewind_cz says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 9:22pm

This is really great and amusing. It's little bit bugged (at least for me) - old instances sometimes don't do what they did for the first time.. But 48h is really good excuse for this. Good job :-)

ravine says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 9:55pm

I really enjoyed it! Cool use of having the characters repeat everything.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]