August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

LD27 Matching Platformer

by anthonyl - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Use the arrow keys to move, jump on a platform to change it's color .. every 10 seconds there will be more blocks and faster speeds


note ..
use ./run.sh to launch the game rather then calling the executable directly (so it loads the needed sdl2.0 librarys in the libs directory)


--

I only have linux builds atm I'll see about windows/osx in the future


Thanks!


download (linux) http://dro.pe/ld27.tar
source http://dro.pe/ld27.cpp

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1970Coolness0%

Comments

nikkesen says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:26pm

There's no link to the game or source.

anthonyl says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:22pm

Ya i'm not sure why it's not displaying .. added links here

download (linux) http://dro.pe/ld27.tar
source http://dro.pe/ld27.cpp

doonay21 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:50pm

Windows port would be appreciated.

thesunnyk says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:10pm

I couldn't really figure the game out. On the one hand, strategically, once you are trapped between two two-high blocks you're basically stuck. Also, if several blocks match in colour, they don't disappear until you cycle through the colours (maybe? Sometimes they still don't disappear then!) It would make more sense if there were more constraints, like don't put a block on top of a block until the "level" below is full. The concept is a neat idea though.

anthonyl says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:18pm

thesunnyk, I def agree on the additional constraints

also I was only allowing color switching after you jump onto a block rather then just touching it from the side


> like don't put a block on top of a block until the "level" below is full. The concept is a neat idea though.

could be really cool .. i think i'll throw it in .. i've also been playing by making the grid much less wide which makes it a bit cooler as well

one note, the jam version of this game dose have a bug with the matching code


since I'm using this project to learn up sdl2.0 i'll be throwing it up on github in the next week or so and add some audio and such .. i'll throw up a link here once that happens

zn01wr says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:23am

I get an error when launching the game:
./run.sh: line 2: ./a: cannot execute binary file

I'll try to compile it from source

Urfoex says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:32pm

Didn't quite get it.

Let's see what you'll make out of this :-)

Venturelli says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:43pm

Edit you entry for the download link, I almost gave up before I found it in the comments...

bitowl says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 10:31am

The concept is quite clever, but you should rather have "lifes" than die instantly (with no replay button?) when you are hit from above or are trapped between two towers.
another tip: just add a score display (maybe in the last hour of your time) to give the player at least some sort of "reward".

ENDESGA says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 12:26am

nice :)

-ENDESGA

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]