August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

#ERR@ 10 Second Glitch#

by urth - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#476Fun3.00
#620Theme3.11
#686Mood2.56
#710Audio2.24
#730Humor1.97
#891Overall2.70
#922Graphics2.25
#994Innovation2.30

Comments

livedarkness says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:09am

great job, simple but made me look forward to the 10 second weapon change, i never knew what to expect(bullet wise). Be sure to enter in the future! Your work is promising.

urth says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:01pm

I planned for a boss and other levels where the hyper engine jumps you around every 10 seconds and another level where you experience a time dilution "slo mo" mode every 10 seconds. I ran out of time.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:42pm

Nice and simple!

Mclogenog says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:54pm

This is pretty simple and fun, and there are a lot of interesting ways you could keep exploring the idea post-jam (if you wanted to). For your first(?) ludum dare game, this is a good start!

Bmanrules says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:17pm

Really enjoyed playing it, However a slight variation in enemies would be nice :) The changing weapons thing has been done in a lot of games, but I still really enjoyed playing :)

ravine says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:20pm

I like the use of the 10 seconds. I was a bit confused by the number at the top right. At first I thought it was how many bullets you were shooting with the current weapon, but it said 4 when it was on the all-way weapon.

kantieno says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:21pm

It was simple but entertained me for a little, greater variance and an clear objective or goal to work toward would be nice.

SneManden says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:26pm

The graphics were a bit mixed. The bullet and particle effects were great along with the colors of the background; however this does not go great alongside the enemies and the ship. Has potential though - great entry.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:55pm

Pretty good game. Nothing like going from a firewall to double shot.

anjack says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:51am

A nice spin on a classic genre!

senseidav says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:00pm

The classic never dies.

Good manner of treating 10 seconds topic, changing weapons.

Well done.

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:07pm

Cool idea of changing weapons, nice use of the theme. The game could get pretty hectic as it went on. Had fun, good job

Endurion says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:37pm

Nice, simple, clear cut idea.

It's really tough later on if you suddenly only have the double shot.

Scored 266

bytegrove says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:11am

Nice interpretation of the theme, I like the backstory. :)

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:33am

Oh my god after 60 or so it got unbelievably difficult haha, I got 110. It was a fun take on the top down shooter with the powerups changing although I would have liked to have had more : (. The firewall seemed pretty broken heh but nice stuff!

klianc09 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:21pm

It would be cool if the different weapons would each have their strengths and weaknesses and not just weapons that go from super-weak to ultra-strong.

Oana says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:30pm

Heh we really did have the same idea on the switching weapons. I like that yours has a more elaborate reason for why that happens.

GFM says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:33pm

Nice game. :)

Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:04am

Pretty nice game! I featured it in my Ludum Dare 27 compilation series if you'd like to check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=biBzDWmV3kc

Gabriel says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 1:46am

367!!! Is this the current record here or what? :D

Really nice entry, pretty fun, you could definitely keep developing this into a full polished game!

Colapsydo says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 9:34am

The changing weapon system is a good idea. It would have be nice to have maybe some kind of graphical feedback when the change occurs.
It was fun when it started to be a lot of enemies.

superfoonly says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 3:04pm

Nicely done! I got 239.

Sh1rogane says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 4:30pm

Like the game, simple and fun. Had some bad luck with getting only single and double some times :P

lucidlarva says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 7:31pm

The weapon switching makes me switch up my play style pretty nicely. Especially when going from single to all way or the other way around. Go from blasting everything to dodging carefully and vice versa.

shard123 says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 3:05am

Simple but good

atrodo says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 3:45am

Neat idea, a little extra work and it could be a lot of fun

kirbytails7 says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 6:35am

That ion strom. Very interesting idea. It'd be great to see it expanded on.

It's a little easy since the blue enemies always move to the right, so you can just stay on the left side.

hypp says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 6:43am

Simple but quite nice!

Sep 7, 2013 @ 9:09am

I like how it got more difficult really quickly. In other games of that kind you often play for 10 minutes until it finally gets challenging. Also, hitting enemies is strangely satisfying. Might be the sound effect. :D

motty says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 1:57pm

Great stuff. Obviously there's a million things that could be done with it in terms of finishing it off and polishing (a blinky scrolling starfield background, a radar, different aliens, boss monsters, a 'bing' sound when the weapon changes, tweaks to the movement and alien attack rate so it doesn't go from 'easy' to 'hard' quite so suddenly etc etc) but what you have here is the most important bit - the game is already great fun to play at this early stage. That's what it's all about. Really good effort.

hissssssssss says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 4:10pm

I like that the unpredictability of the weapons switch could go in or out of your favour. That made the change something you anticipate and dread at the same time. Given a bit more structure and polish, I'd be interested to see what you could do with this.

zequack says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 10:12pm

That was not bad ! a bit of sound would have been nice though. Or did my speakers malfunction ?

Dry Tree says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 7:09am

nice work. simple but fun

jay griffin says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 12:00am

Enjoyed this one. The weapon mechanic works well and most importantly the weapons themselves have a nice feel to them. The enemies could have maybe used a little more work but that's deadlines for ya I suppose. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]