August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Trash Robots

by Daniel X. Moore - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You have 10 seconds to configure your dream team of Robots in a fight-to-the-death matchup. Go!

Settings Screen:

Click on robots to highlight them
Click on weapons, motors, and navigation to equip them.

Each robot can hold up to two weapons, two motors, and one navigation.

After your 10 seconds to configure are up your robots fight to the death.

Watch helplessly as they kill themselves as well as the enemies.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#245Innovation3.43
#631Theme3.10
#652Humor2.07
#962Fun2.38
#1001Mood2.00
#1027Overall2.50
#1160Graphics1.63
#1528Coolness33%

Comments

Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:27am

My robot Ronnie really brought his A game. Nice !

dancingflame says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:31am

Nicely done!

Verrazano says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:32am

That was a pretty cool idea, it just need some more explanation. It was very confusing the first couple times I tried to play. But then I figured out how to equip things. Then it got a little bit more interesting. Maybe make a post compo release with some graphics and music and maybe write a little more help on how to play. It's a really good and innovative idea. Nice job.

Rose says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:32am

This is an interesting idea! But, it's hard to get the strategy of assigning pieces when you have just 10s, and aren't sure what each thing does. I guess that certain pieces go well together but I couldn't really tell. If you want to continue working on this game after LD, I would either make the battles shorter or give the player something to do (like picking up power-ups.) Nice work for the limited time though! I like the names.

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:36am

What an interesting game. Flame rocks!

larb says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:37am

I was a little confused at first, at the equip screen. Took a few runs to get it. Then I really enjoyed watching the robotos go. Love the funny robot names.

It could really use some sounds, beeps and boops.

Cool idea. Really like it. Great entry.

Merkurio says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:29am

It's AWESOME!

mrspeaker says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:50pm

Fantastic idea... was pretty confusing at first though. I felt like it was a little hard to establish tactics given the crazy time pressure: maybe for like, level 1 you could get 10 seconds per robot, and then add times from there.

Mr Margarine II, I'll never forget you.

bitowl says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:36pm

interesting concept!
might be more fun if you did not have the ten second limit to configure your robots, but maybe the aim should be to destroy the enemies in ten seconds.
still pretty cool :)

Brejlounek says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 4:31pm

Quite interesting, could use some better graphics and sound. y win/fail ratio was cca 1:1 :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]