August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Seconds to Save the World

by TeamAlpha - Jam Entry

He opens his eyes. He has no idea where he is, or why he's there. All he knows is he has to run.

Suddenly, he hears someone panting. He gets up quickly, only to find out he is floating above the floor. "What am I?"

"Run", the exhausted voice says. The voice is familiar, but before he is able to say anything to the mysterious person a bright light, followed by a loud bang, knocks him down.

A white robot, floating at a distance, comes to him slowly. He wants to run, but he can't move his... His... Jet pack? "WHAT AM I?"

The peculiar bot approaches him and whispers: "you are running out of time." For some reason those words send down shivers through a spine he didn't even acknowledge until now. He blinks in awe, only to find an empty space where the strange creature stood a second before.

"I must get out of here", says he, "somehow."

Searching the room for something that might help he understand anything, he finds a big figure laying still in a corner. "Professor... Mok? Wait, who?" Baffled by his sudden knowledge, he starts backing up, only to hit a table and find, for the first time, something familiar.

"This I've seen before." The... thing he holds emits a faint blue light and a small hum. He starts walking across the room, seemingly guided by the object, only to find a big, blue lit platform.

"Let's see what you can do."

As the last letter came out of his vocal device, all became light. He was everywhere and nowhere as time and space flew by him. He knew everything. He knew who he was. And he knew something was wrong there.

Glitching throughout eras, the weird little device warned: "battery low". All became darkness.

And there he was, on a cold lab floor, with a weak time machine and an urge to run somewhere. He, Zegosh Zero-Zero-One, the project gone wrong, had ten seconds to save the world.

*CUT TO BLACK*

=====

TOOLS OF THE TRADE:
This game was made using XNA and Visual Studio 2010, along with FL Studio for the Audio and Photoshop and Paint Tool SAI for the Graphics.

=====

You need the XNA Redistributable to run this game. Download it here:

http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=20914

*KNOWN ISSUES*

-After the last level the game restarts (there should be an ending message D:)

=====

Thanks for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#191Audio(Jam)3.13
#216Fun(Jam)3.09
#218Theme(Jam)3.26
#240Humor(Jam)2.62
#276Overall(Jam)3.15
#349Graphics(Jam)3.03
#351Mood(Jam)2.74
#454Innovation(Jam)2.55

Comments

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:50am

Cute platformer :)

wally2069 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:49pm

Pretty sure I beet the last level and it just looped back to the first one again

TeamAlpha says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:00pm

Sorry, an end message was one of the things we were going to put in the game but didn't have the time to (we only had until Sunday because of other real life stuff :c)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:21pm

Easy to understand and not too hard!

Optimus6128 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:25pm

Nice combination of platform and puzzle. Plays quite well!

Vavassor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:36pm

Real simple and neat game, it controls really smoothly. Had fun with those puzzles!

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:16am

Solid puzzle platformer! Good work!

gmaker says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:43pm

So cute! well done!

whiteravens says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:08pm

The exe file won't load for me :(.

TeamAlpha says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:26pm

whiteravens, make sure you have the XNA Runtime installed!

manabreak says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:25am

Nice job! I liked the way the timer reset when you get to the blue thingy. A bit too short, I would've played this more. :)

paranoiks says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:38pm

It won't start on my machine. I am with win7

Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:05pm

Nice game and very cute main hero)

Aslai says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:30pm

This is really nicely done for a LD entry. The controls are very intuitive, and the first level explains the game perfectly. Kudos.

Thermite says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:11pm

Fun platformer with a nice main character. Good job!

lucidlarva says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:16pm

I like how you sort of have to think recursively to beat the levels.

RoseNinja says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:25pm

yipee a cool game, awesome jetpack, would be better with some more levels, good game

Kragnir says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:02pm

Interesting platformer, levels are a bit easy and the mechanics are never really explored could be a great game with some work. The missing ending message make me sad.

Brejlounek says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 12:46pm

Good platformer, good concept. Too bad there are only few very easy levels. Grow it into something more! :)

psc1997 says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 4:24pm

Great game :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]