August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ten Seconds to Death

by CLdogs - Jam Entry

Ten Seconds to Death is a top-down fighting game with a twist. Each player controls one of three characters. Each has their own super-move, which is always activated after a ten second cooldown. Strategy and timing is key in this fast-paced arena brawl. Definitely Made for two players.




Controls:
Player 1: up, down, left, right to move, click to attack, right click to dodge.
Player 2: w,s,a,d to move, Left shift to dodge, Left control to attack.

Press Attack while doing your super move to initiate a combo.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#270Humor(Jam)2.49
#299Graphics(Jam)3.23
#335Audio(Jam)2.67
#366Innovation(Jam)2.78
#369Theme(Jam)2.92
#370Mood(Jam)2.68
#374Fun(Jam)2.71
#377Overall(Jam)2.92

Comments

Tanser says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:44am

I like the graphics a lot.

Angrycrow says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:51am

Good feel. I couldn't figure out how to attack.

hbocao says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:25am

I loved how you used the theme. Too bad this is only for two players.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:15am

Hmmm, all I see is a "Source" link and it's not obvious if I can play it from the GitHub page... am I missing something? I'll check back later.

ENDESGA says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:23am

Graphics are awesome!
great game :)

tamy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:23am

would love a web option

CLdogs says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:42am

Sorry tamy it's made in c++ so a web option isn't viable. And Steve, I haven't seen that happen, I've tried on multiple computers and it seems to work fine.

CLdogs says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:42am

Perhaps refreshing would help?

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:22am

I like the graphics. Nice work

yetatore says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:23am

Its funny, then the key of the game is ok. Concept art looks great, in-game graphics are cool either and the fight itself feels good. For the audio is exhausting after a while.
In general: Good work folks!

CLdogs says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:44am

Thanks for the input, there are 3 tracks that play throughout the game, they start at random and switch after a match finishes.

sittaman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:57am

Nice art.

Nerlin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:28am

Good art. Interesting interpretation of theme.

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:08am

I played as the guy riding the ram, but he wasn't riding it in game! Bait and switch! Nice game though.

Feffers says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:39pm

Seems like a game a friend and I could play for a while for simple fun, the overall style seemed to work together.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:34pm

Excellent deathmatch style game, I really like the pacing. Nice one CLdog.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:59pm

Impossible for me to launch the game because it miss the dll openal32.dll

Vasileiadis says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:06pm

Can't play on Windows 7 (64 bit) - missing "openal32.dll" :(
I'll check later in case you made a gameplay video or fixed this error, the game looks very interesting - already voted up for the artwork ;)

CLdogs says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:33pm

I've updated it to include the missing .dll file. Thanks for letting me know.

TeamFlare says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:22pm

Had fun, loved the Harold character. Bit hard to hit each other. Thumbs up for making it two player :)

SnoringFrog says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:55pm

Decent game, but since I don't have anyone to play it with I can't really enjoy it properly. If I was playing with someone else though, I think I'd probably enjoy it.

Vasileiadis says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:22pm

Wow cheers for the updated dll!

Game looks awesome, I really liked the 10 seconds activation on the ultimate (and the sweet combos that follow :D )

Really looking forward to testing this with a friend.. you should totally make an online matchmaking pool - yeah sure servers cost money but oh well you know, life's like that some times ^_^

arezita says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:43pm

Nice game!

dancingflame says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:08am

It's so rare to see fighting games in Ludum Dare. I like the concept and charachter design, but I need single player mode. Nice work overall :)

ratalaika says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:27am

Nice idea!! Great work :)

Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:55pm

A sheep ??? why? :-)

namrog84 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:20am

The main menu and preview graphics were amazing!! but then i was a little disappointed with gameplay graphics.

Did good job though!

Xatulu says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:46am

2 player part is a bit unlucky, but overall fun game

panurge says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:15pm

It's a shame the ram rider doesn't keep his mount in the game! This was a cool little experience - I managed to snag a friend to test it with me and we both enjoyed it. Me especially, because I kicked his ass. :)

Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:19pm

Great and very fun game! Harold nice character :)

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:29pm

Good little fighting game

Elrobo says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:10am

Very neat concept for the theme use. But the controls were not good. Menu was keyboard only, but then one player is kb/mouse and another is just kb. Felt very scattered.

CLdogs says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:37am

Yeah, sorry about that. We found that if we used only the keyboard for input, not all of the key presses could be registered and you wouldn't be able to perform certain moves in some situations.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]