August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Time to Die

by RoyBatty - Jam Entry

They swore oaths. They drew lines in the sand. They girded themselves for war. And now, they must battle to the death... in ten seconds or less!

Time to Die is a local multiplayer fighting game. It includes 10 random power-ups, incredibly subtle level variations, gravity wells, and earnest promises of playable potatoes - soon, we promise.

INSTRUCTIONS
* After the logo disappears, use the mouse to select at least two characters.
* GAMEPAD CONTROLS:
- Press A to Jump.
- Press X to Fire.
- Use the D-pad to Move.
* KEYBOARD CONTROLS:
- Player 1 uses Arrow Keys.
- Player 2 uses WASD Keys.
- Player 3 uses IJKL KEYS.

POWERUPS
* Floaty - Upon jumping, player will float in the air.
* Ghost- Player disappears; firing a shot reveals location.
* Gravity - Player acts as a gravity well, attracting objects.
* Reflect - Shots reflect off player; no damage is taken.
* Jump - Player jumps extra high.
* Phasing - Stepping on a platform makes it disappear.
* Reload - Player reloads faster.
* Speed - Player runs faster.
* Spread - Player fires three shots at a time.
* Stasis - Player's shots slow down and pause in midair.

PROGRAMMING: Corey "thatwhichis" Cochran, David J. Sushil
ARTWORK: Zachary Lutz, Corey "thatwhichis" Cochran
VERY SPECIAL THANKS: John Li

In the interest of full disclosure, the following changes have been made post-deadline:
* Added keyboard support.
* Changed background music.
* Added sound effects to title screen.
* Removed placeholder platform sprites.
* Changed texture compression in Web version.

UPDATE 2: Just uploaded a new build, should address issues with level not loading and screen going to black after initial level play (stops negative counter bug). Still only two playable characters at the moment QQ. Happy playing, guys! -thatwhichis

UPDATE: Still having issue loading game scene on some computers in web version, we are working to address- please bear with us! :-)

OUR WEBSITES
http://thatwhichismedia.com
http://badpilcrow.com
http://zacherylutz.wix.com/3dartist

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#269Audio(Jam)2.90
#328Fun(Jam)2.84
#354Humor(Jam)2.17
#440Graphics(Jam)2.73
#443Theme(Jam)2.78
#462Mood(Jam)2.42
#478Overall(Jam)2.68
#541Innovation(Jam)2.27

Comments

Croze says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:26am

I highly suggest making a game more than 1 in every 1000 people are able to play (Not many PC gamers have 2 gamepads ready to be plugged in to vote)

IHateATMFees says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:36am

Nice variety of power-ups. I was only able to try with one as I only have one gamepad.

Tanser says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:39am

The web version is not starting for me. It get to black screen with countdown in the up left corner.
By the screenshot I see graphics that I more like placeholders anyways.

CarmineGames says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:43am

Could not run the web version. After character selection a dark screen just went into negative numbers.

RoyBatty says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:47am

Hi, Croze!

We do apologize to anyone who is unable to play. We knew going in that creating a local multiplayer game would be very limiting.

I'll be honest in saying that I cannot currently play here at home. However, when I was playing an earlier build in a room full of game developers yesterday, I had a blast. I guess my hope is that if anyone else is interested, has the capability, and wants to try it out with their friends, they will have the same amount of fun that I did. At the very least, I have learned a lot about working on a multiplayer game, having never worked on one before. I tend to look at jams as a chance to try something new, and perhaps that is selfish.

I think some of us do intend to continue work on this concept, and perhaps someday it will be available to a wider audience through distribution on a more friendly platform?

For the moment, I would thank you for taking the time to comment, and will try to get to your game sometime in the next few days. Good luck!

-thatwhichis, team RoyBatty

RoyBatty says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:50am

IHateATMFees: Thank you for playing!

Tanser and CarmineGames: Thank you for letting us know! One of us was having an issue with the web build earlier but it was running fine on my machine; we will definitely look into it within the next few days.

-thatwhichis, team RoyBatty

RoyBatty says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:21am

Well, we made the deadline. It's been a great experience: we laughed, we cried, we shared memories of times gone by and hopes for days to come. We only broke a few bones, and to those currently recuperating at Orlando Regional Medical Center, we are really, really, sorry about that.

What follows are a few additional notes regarding Time to Die:

INSTRUCTIONS
* After the logo disappears, use the mouse to select at least two characters.
* In battle, each character corresponds to a gamepad.
* Press A to Jump.
* Press X to Fire.
* Use the D-pad to Move.

POWERUPS
* Floaty - Upon jumping, player will float in the air.
* Ghost- Player disappears; firing a shot reveals location.
* Gravity - Player acts as a gravity well, attracting objects.
* Reflect - Shots reflect off player; no damage is taken.
* Jump - Player jumps extra high.
* Phasing - Stepping on a platform makes it disappear.
* Reload - Player reloads faster.
* Speed - Player runs faster.
* Spread - Player fires three shots at a time.
* Stasis - Player's shots slow down and pause in midair.

We hope you enjoy playing Time to Die!

-- David J. Sushil

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:43am

Um, what is the minecraft dirt doing here?

RoyBatty says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:47pm

>> Um, what is the minecraft dirt doing here?
We told that Minecraft dirt: "Minecraft dirt, you are NOT allowed in our final build!" but it just wouldn't listen. It kept coming back (drunk, of course) yelling and screaming about creepers. At first we were annoyed, but eventually we started feeling sorry for it. Corey called it a cab, but since Minecraft dirt had lost its wallet, we had to pony up his fare. The driver was a nice enough guy - I'd say Lebanese from the accent. I gave him my number in case there were any problems. He told us a story about the worst drunk passenger he'd ever seen, and we laughed while smoking cigarettes. Needless to say, we were all surprised to find Minecraft dirt still lingering around as the deadline approached. But, hey: that's Minecraft dirt. There when you need him, there when you don't.

-- David J. Sushil

onzephyr says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:19pm

I like the idea. Couldn't play it to the fullest, didn't have anybody to play with. nonetheless it was fun . And it so happens my left hand is the superior player.

JellyMan64 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:32pm

Graphical glitches, 2 players required, just no. Clock goes into the negatives!

cschwartz says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:34pm

Does not work for me, I get a black screen after character selection.

dumasflo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:38pm

Same as cshwartz, black screen after selection, and windows file corrupted :(

RoyBatty says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:57pm

csschwartz and dumasflo: Thanks for your feedback! We are aware of the black screen issue and will work to correct it. It seems to only happen on some machines, and we're not sure why. It would be really helpful to know more about how you're running the game: which OS, which browser, etc.

-- David J. Sushil

RoyBatty says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:57pm

Just posted an update; should address noted bugs so far! -thatwhichis, team RoyBatty

esayitch says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:36pm

I played with myself and had fun! Well, sort of >.> You really need AI ^^

There is potential here but I think the jump/movement mechanics are pretty stiff... otherwise a good entry! Good luck!

Chinchilla says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:41pm

Bah, wish I had someone here to play this with... liked the music and the amusing characters.

Technically I think this kinda stuff needs to go in a post-compo version though:
* Changed background music.
* Added sound effects to title screen.
* Removed placeholder platform sprites.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:44am

I was sad I couldnt be a potato, :( I also didnt have friends to play with but it is still a pretty cool game. :) I featured this game in my compilation video of Ludum Dare 27 games, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/okyxuWBF5Yw

RoyBatty says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:01pm

esayitch: lol, thank you! AI was definitely a stretch goal, but we already ended up with some last-minute triage to make the entry playable. Slight case of "over-scoping" on our part, but we like the entry and will probably try to continue development at some point in the future!

Chinchilla: We've reviewed the rules and guidelines again; our initial interpretation was that these alterations might be acceptable as we had the assets done in time but that they were not implemented or implemented poorly due to "bugs;" however, we will certainly refrain from any more alterations to this version and I personally apologize if we have acted improperly, our intention is not in any way to "game" the system. We're just excited to keep working on it; I can't wait to get our other sprites in place and add a game summary screen for the post-compo version! I've only participated in the 48-hour compo before, and thought the jam rules a little more lax.

Jupiter_Hadley: Hey, thanks bud! We're sorry, the potato will be there someday!

-thatwhichis, team RoyBatty

Obscuremoon says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:49pm

That relativity power up is the best! :D

RoyBatty says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:10pm

Obscuremoon: ALL credit to Sushil on the power-ups; they're his babies and I think they mix and match to make some incredibly fun rounds!

-thatwhichis, team RoyBatty

Optimus6128 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:44pm

Nice music. Game is ok. Is it 3 player game?

davidwparker says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:47pm

Not really sure what I was supposed to be doing... and my potato wasn't a potato. I also didn't have 2x others to play with...

RoyBatty says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:59pm

Hey peoples!

Optimus6128: Yeah, it's meant to be between 2 and 4 local multiplayer, but when we were debugging in the last few minutes we ended up cutting a player (so min 2, max 3 at the moment!) to help figure out some behaviors we were seeing. Thanks for giving our little game a shot! I think it's something we plan on coming back to in the future. :-)

davidwparker: Our artist was actually project hopping at the site we attended, so he only jumped on with us in about the last day- gave us some great sprites with more animation than I think we have implemented even now, but he only got to two of the characters so right now John Li/Bear both play as John Li and Shark/Potato both play as Shark. ;_;

As an aside: the initial bug we encountered after posting the game that crashed it on the level scene? Having corrected it, I'm now relatively certain that anyone encountering that bug chose Potato. I find that very interesting. ;-D

Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:32pm

Nice start to a little couch arena game. I really enjoy those. Though I feel like 10 seconds is just too short of a time for this type of game. Maybe consider expanding it into something w/o the 10 second limitation?

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]