August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

S0LB0T

by XaiZil - Jam Entry

First entry to Ludum Dare!

H0W4RD needs to get out of the caves with only ten seconds of solar power left.

Make H0W4RD more efficient to splat the bugs, beat the boss and nail the gauntlet!

You will need the latest version of java to play. Web version should work on most common OS's that support java. (Tested on Windows 7 SP1). (We've had a few problems running it in the browser, it's much more stable running outside of an applet, use the windows zip download where possible).

The team:

Xaike: Code
Heeezil: Art

All art assets were created from scratch and the only code libraries used are Slick2D (which in turn uses LWJGL).


Hope you enjoy playing - please let us know how you find it!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#418Theme(Jam)2.83
#464Humor(Jam)1.64
#496Overall(Jam)2.64
#497Audio(Jam)1.58
#518Innovation(Jam)2.33
#529Mood(Jam)2.07
#532Graphics(Jam)2.34
#541Fun(Jam)2.20

Comments

Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:34am

Nice game! Loaded and ran, but when I got to "press esc to run again" it gave me this error:
org.newdawn.slick.SlickException: Game.update() failure - check the game code.
at org.newdawn.slick.GameContainer.updateAndRender(GameContainer.java:669)
at org.newdawn.slick.AppletGameContainer$Container.runloop(AppletGameContainer.java:518)
at org.newdawn.slick.AppletGameContainer$ContainerPanel.start(AppletGameContainer.java:218)
at org.newdawn.slick.AppletGameContainer$1.run(AppletGameContainer.java:92)

XaiZil says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:40am

Thanks! We've had that issue a few times with the applet version, I can't seem to find out what's causing it but will look into it further tomorrow. However if you download the zip file and use that you shouldn't have any problems! (runs much smoother too)

dylanigan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:15pm

Web lagged my machine and then the applet crashed.

vvolis says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:48pm

Nice idea, but the game seems a bit too difficult - sometimes the map generates with me in a hole and spider at the door, with no way out :/

Yell0w says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:37pm

Game run fine on my computer with no crashes, but i kept getting boxed in by creeps :D

Thermite says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:13pm

Good concept, but the game is quite frustrating when you get penned in by the monsters.

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:17pm

Great game.. would be amazing if it prevented monsters from bullying you ;)

Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:05pm

Not bad, can get very frustrating though. I think it would have worked better as a "twin stick" type of game, with WASD controlling movement and arrow keys shooting in 4 directions. Nice attempt though!

Jacic says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:45pm

Nice idea, though I wish it didn't auto-start.

mutilator says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:17pm

The game seemed too difficult which made it hard for me to enjoy trying to play it. With some changes this could be a very fun game.

Jellycakes says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:54pm

Was pretty fun, a little difficult though with the enemies. Also I noticed a bug which is if you die by the enemies and then restart the game, then the timer continues from when you died, making it pretty impossible to play properly. Also a bit of a wait when you restart the game, you may want to fix that to keep the player interested. Other than that I liked the art, the tiling looked nice and it was a decent concept. Nice one.

Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:58pm

I never felt so weak against a dragonfly :) Hard but very nice game. Good job!

Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:01pm

It doesn't open for me :(

awppy says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:08pm

Lack of audio was disappointing and controls were a bit finnicky, but I felt myself drawn more into the game the more I played. I felt like the boss had too much health, but all the same, it kept me moving around and on my toes.

Then, that bit at the end.

Well, I'm not going to give anything away, but it got down to the wire. I mean right down to the wire. You've got some pretty solid design ideas in this little wonder.

hbocao says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:45pm

Cool entry. The enemies were kinda hard. Controls were very responsive. I like that.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:00am

good job

ratking says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:16pm

The bulltes should be a bit bigger or a twin-stick shooting would be better to properly hit the enemies. I also miss some feedback with the dead of the enemies. When they reach you in a bulk, I often shoot longer than necessary, because I didn't saw when they are dead.
To display the timer more prominently would be good, because of its importance!

Mlle Eole says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:18pm

I can't run it on windows7, don't know why. I tried on the web version and it worked a little bit - but it freezes the browser sometimes. I liked the interpretation of the theme but i can't play enough to make an objective opinion about the whole game.. Really sorry. I will retry later. :)

Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:39pm

I was very confused as to what the goal was, and I kept dying very quickly, since I couldn't seem to get any new time.

murilo says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:56pm

I tried to run the download version, but it loads a bunch of stuff on the console then it crashes(too quick to see message) after 'loading node'.
Windows 7 SP1, latest java (installed yesterday and other java games run fine)

jomomomo says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:45pm

Couldn't get this to work. Too bad, I really wanted to help H0W4RD out.

klianc09 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 9:56am

Took me a while to realize that the sun-pickups decrease the rate at which his power drains. There is actually more content in this game than it at first seems. The controls could be a bit better, shooting down those bugs seemed a little bit tedious at times. But this game has good ideas overall.

Idovoodoo says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 10:26am

Tough but nice, well done :)

darkshadow says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:19pm

The setting totally reminds me of one of the Asimov robot short stories. The procedural map generation, the crawly movement are all lovely little touches. If only I didn't die so quickly and it take so long to restart!

ZYXer says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 1:04pm

Great game and nice artwork. It would be nice if the game didn't have to reload after each death, though.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]