August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Mechanical Madness

by Thermite - Jam Entry

What's this, all power ups and no enemies? Possibly, but not all collectibles are created equal. Grab the goodies and avoid the stinkers, and remember, they only last TEN SECONDS!

How to play: Use the arrow keys or WASD to run and jump through 20 levels of fun (and possibly frustration). "R" will reset the level via suicide. Escape to return to menu. Numpad + and - for volume.

Code: Paul Newsham (@GrimUpNorthish) and Bob Haigh.
Art: Bob Haigh and Graham Hepplestone.
Music: AutoTracker.py
Sounds: Paul and Bob, via some SFXR face-smashing.

Made using HaxeFlixel, SFXR, AutoTracker, and GraphicsGale.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#31Fun(Jam)3.73
#96Overall(Jam)3.55
#163Humor(Jam)2.92
#233Mood(Jam)3.08
#258Audio(Jam)2.94
#312Innovation(Jam)2.94
#387Graphics(Jam)2.89
#396Theme(Jam)2.88

Comments

anjack says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:43pm

This game is awesome! I just kept laughing. The combination of level design and powerups makes for a challenging and fun game. Great job!

Cthulhu says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:27pm

Wonderful game, very polished. I like the fact that there are so many different power-ups. The levels are also very well-designed.
Great work.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:27pm

Really liked the variety in level design.

Thermite says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:43pm

Thanks for all the great comments so far, we really appreciate the feedback!

Mr.Greenhat says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:19pm

Wow, that was a pretty lengthy and fun game! Good job guys! Loved the images that were hidden in the levels :)

TomCooper3D says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:04pm

very cute game cool powerups

daOyster says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:24pm

Very fun. At first I was like, just another platformer. Then I got to my first power up and then it got even more fun. Awesome power ups and level design. Very lengthy for a ludum dare entry also.

Spotline says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:42pm

Very fun, the character's a pleasure to play, good level design :) well done !

kebabskal says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:42pm

Platform controls are great. The theme feels a little forced. But sorta fun game :)

rylgh says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:47pm

Damn, great job. Solid platforming mechanics, some cool level design (liked the falling spike tunnel one a lot), very polished.

triplefox says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:50pm

I don't like the "high def" because it made me force the browser to full-screen to fit everything on this laptop display.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:52pm

Fun little game with decent graphics, and the variety of powerups keeps things fresh. The link with the theme seems a little tenuous though.

Beerman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:53pm

Nice. Level design gets evil pretty quickly :)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:53pm

The game was very fun. Good Level Design!

Delca says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:59pm

A great platformer! The idea of "not all powerups are good" tickles my OCD-sense though (I gotta get them all).
I like graphics, especially for the powerups.
I did not played through it all, but it seems like you also have plenty of levels, which means plenty of fun is still waiting to be had. Good job!

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:11pm

Made it to level 19. this game is hella fun, and i'm suprised you made all these levels in such a short amount of time

Thermite says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:16pm

Thanks everyone! BTW, if anyone can finish level 19, post a screenshot please! We managed each individual section but we haven't seen anyone manage it in one go. It's designed to be a killer!

TeamAlpha says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:22pm

Amazing game, deserves 10 stars for Fun.

01010111 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:23pm

Awesome game, cool powerups, and so many levels! You did an awesome job!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:21pm

Nice level design. Some "powerups" where infuriating.... in a fun way!

alwaysinbeta says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:55pm

Really good fun. Loved level 10. Great power-ups.

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:34am

Solid mechanics and good animation!

murilo says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:52am

Best one so far!! The power up combinations is a lot of fun! The controls were good too. Congrats guys!

Jellycakes says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:05am

Was really cool, never seen so many powerups in my life. Good job on excel sheet thing too, never heard of that either. Overall really nicely done. Good job.

SnoringFrog says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:19am

http://s21.postimg.org/5a0a313mv/screen.png

Well, we got to level 20 and beat it, but we might not have got there in quite the expected way...if you catch my drift. I won't explain what we did here so that it's not ruined.

I still want to go back and beat 19 though. That sick, sick torture chamber of a level.

myberrycold says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:34am

Great mechanics, and so many levels for a short time! I had loads of fun with this! nice way of expressing the theme! Addictive!! :D

Thermite says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:30am

It's great to see so many positive comments, thanks guys!

@SnoringFrog you can blame Bob for that level, I actually had to persuade him to remove a load of fast time powerups that made it even worse!

zutang says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:30pm

the game was smooth and creative! one thing to point out is that you get smashed under platforms XD i think that's a feat in its self. you should check it out :P

nddrylliog says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:18pm

I don't know what to say that even though it has the typical tropes of a platformer it was really enjoyable. Keep going!

DeanoC says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:53am

Awesome, loved it!

ratalaika says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:34pm

good job

netmute says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:21pm

Nice platformer. Lots of levels, which is awesome. I wish it had checkpoints, though. Some of the deaths right in front of the exit where very frustrating ;)

Entity2D says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:11pm

I love the power-ups you've used for this game, and I also like the pixellated parallax backgrounds. Great game, guys!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:27pm

I had fun! Nice use of powerup combinations for interesting puzzles.

BlackBulletIV says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:44pm

That was a really nice platformer. I really like the way you intertwined the strange powerups theme with 10 seconds.

Ossi says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:45pm

Great level design and tight platforming controls! That was a pretty challenging game and using powerups as difficulty shifts is a nice mechanic. Super fun to play!

Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:15am

Nice one! Reminds me of Rayman. Haven't seen the likes of a shrinking potion for years. Great bit of nostalgia :]

Nerlin says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:28am

Well done! Great gameplay!

Zer0Kelvin says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:56am

Got to level 15. The variety of powerups and different things to do is great! This one could have worked for the "strange powerups" theme too (or whatever it was called).

Thermite says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:30am

Ah, level 15, or as we called it "The Macerator" :)

Thanks for playing!

ghRibacki says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:42am

Come on, man! Up to level 18 was OK, but 19 is just devilish!
I liked this game a lot! I like how music switches on certain levels and how some sound effects are changed when using certain power ups. =)

marccspro says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:04am

Very nice game :D good job !

mollymus says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:36pm

Great twist for a platformer! I enjoyed it!

BenWhi says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:02pm

Cute game! Very clean level design. Just please don't make someone do those jumps at the very beginning. Loved the music.

panurge says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:28pm

Lovely variety of levels and mechanics.There is scope here for a really interesting expanded version, perhaps with some more interesting hazards and enemies. Good work!

gravyhands says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:44pm

Nice controls. Lots of content!

XaiZil says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:30pm

This seemed so complete! Great ideas, works really well

Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:40pm

Level-design is awesome! Fantastic abilities! Good job!

Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:56pm

Not extremely original (though short-term power-ups are a neat idea), but a very good and substantial version of those extremely-hard puzzle platformers. The retro graphics are nice, especially the background. Cute title screen. Well coded and all around polished.

Turned out to be a bit hard for me, though: I gave up on level 19. Also, the controls seem a bit floaty (even if you haven't got the Low Gravity power-up). Nevertheless, very good work.

Brejlounek says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:49pm

Wow! Thats really fun... Great leveldesign! Got to level 19 quite into the insides, didn't finish yet, will return to it. Levels 17 and after are H.A.R.D. :D

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 3:41am

adding to my list of favorites -- great job

Colapsydo says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 8:38am

All this power up, this is great.
Good job on the level design, when you start mixing the PwUp, it becomes really fun.

Sep 6, 2013 @ 8:35pm

Nice, solid game play and really fun. Well done.

GFM says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 9:15pm

Nice level design.
Also, being able to stack power-ups felt great! :)

My only complaint is the screen size... it's way too big... but that's only my opinion. xD

Sink says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 3:10pm

This game is extremely engaging! I really enjoyed the level design and how all the power ups worked. The music was pretty good as well. The only thing is that the graphics are a bit boring, but animations are nice and smooth.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]